$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
70 reviews
Great stay

My fiancé and I stayed at the triton for a friends wedding, the location was fabulous as we're the... See full review

  • Sara E in NYC
  • May 27, 2014
Always A Good Time

Great location right at the front entrance of China Town. Best Hotel staff I've ever encountered in... See full review

  • Biscuit12
  • Feb 17, 2014
Boutique hotel captures the vibrant, eclectic spirit of San Francisco
Only in San Francisco would a hotel so seamlessly combine art, popular culture, a green sensibility and cozy guest rooms. Conceived in the 1990s by nine San Francisco artists, Triton, a Kimpton Hotel has the feel of ancient Rome as seen through the eyes of Salvador Dali. Imagine a bright blue and orange floral pattern in an expansive lobby mural; a shiny purple upholstered lounge next to a mosaic-framed fireplace. These and other one-of-a-kind spaces make Triton, a Kimpton Hotel a memorable choice.
Highlights
  • Original artwork throughout guest rooms and common areas
  • Across the street from the Chinatown Dragon Gate
  • Freshly baked cookies at 3 p.m. daily
  • Eco-friendly rooms and celebrity-designed suites
  • Valet parking with in/out privileges available (fees apply)
Rooms

Celebrity suites at Triton, a Kimpton Hotel embody the personalities of the stars who designed them. Comedian Kathy Griffin's suite combines luscious fabrics and chic neutral colors for an effect that's both classic and sexy. Ever-loyal Deadheads get blissed out in the J. Garcia Suite by Jerry Garcia, featuring many of the late, great musician's watercolor paintings and an autographed wall. Additional accommodation includes eco-premier kings, each with a special theme such as Happy Planet or The Trust for Public Land. Pets are welcome at the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel at no additional charge. Allergy-free/pet-free rooms are available as well.

Features

Exceptional services and amenities help create an unforgettable experience. Pick up a free copy of The New York Times to read with complimentary morning coffee or tea. After a day or business or sightseeing, make it back to the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel in time for the hosted evening wine hour.

Dining

Next door to the hotel, the Parisian-inspired Cafe de la Presse takes pride in offering a high-quality bistro menu and more than 500 international titles on the newsstand.

 

Recreation

The 24-hour fitness center at the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel features exercise bikes, free weights, a stair climber and treadmill. Passes to a local workout facility are also available.

Transportation
  • BART stop (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.7 mi/22 km)
Attractions
  • Chinatown (Across the street)
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • "Creative Zone" includes full production capabilities
  • Private deck patio

Hotel Map

37.7903 -122.4055
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 21.00, MI, NW; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 46.40, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Triton, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Triton, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Celebrity Suite
300 Sq Ft flat screen TV Accessible tub Communication features available
Celebrity Suite
Celebrity Suite. 300 Square Feet, ihome and flat screen TV
Double/Double Room
Double/Double Room 154 sq feet, ihome docking station
Queen Room
Queen Room 140 Square feet ihome docking station courtyard view
Full Bedded Room
Full size bedded room 120 square feet ihome- flat screen tv - Bigelow bath amenities
King Room
King Room 145 square feet - ihome docking station-flat screen TV
Premium King
1 king bed, 154 square feet
Accessible Executive King Suite
Executive King Suite, 300 square feet ihome docking station, flat screen TV

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cafe De La Presse
Cafe De La Prese is a French Cafe plus a more formal dining room providing guests of Hotel Triton with all day dining. Located right next door to the hotel Cafe De La Presse provides Hotel Tritons room service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HPC Roc
Rochester, NY
Jul 9, 2014

the gate to SF Chinatown

Excellent location, just accross the street from Chinatown gate! Plenty of dining options up close. Wine tastings every day at the hotel. The renovation of the hotel was done with very unique taste, very original.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Sushirrito (sushi, burrito size) on Kearny St.

Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Garadox
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jun 12, 2014

Wish I could have brought the bed home!

We stayed on the 4th floor of the Triton at the start of June. No view to speak of, but it was nice and quiet outside. The room came with some funky leopard pattern dressing gowns, and the comfiest bed i've ever slept on! The hotel has a character of it's own - from the cool yellow duckies in the fountain outside to the dancy music in the elevators. The hotel is right outside the entrance to Chinatown and all the designer stores are just a block away in the other direction. This would be a 5 star review if the room came with a tea maker!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a trip out to Alcatraz or to Muir woods if you can - both are spectacular!

Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sara E in NYC
New York
May 27, 2014

Great stay

My fiancé and I stayed at the triton for a friends wedding, the location was fabulous as we're the rooms and staff. We would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr.traveler
San Fransisco
May 26, 2014

Triton Hotel

The hotel was nice but had a stale smell on 6th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
It is Possible
Business
Astoria, NY
Apr 5, 2014

Great Location. Good hotel for a business trip.

The hotel was located within walking distance of the office, which was great and the reason I chose it. Very colorful which was ok with me. I only used it to sleep and work from my room when I was not at the office. Room service from the restaurant next door was good. Staff was friendly and the complementary internet was useful. I would have given a higher score had my bathtub been in better condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biscuit12
Sacramento, Ca.
Feb 17, 2014

Always A Good Time

Great location right at the front entrance of China Town. Best Hotel staff I've ever encountered in all my travels. Very helpful and go out of there way to make your visit comfortably and relaxing. Hotel is located within walking distance to shopping, food and entertainment. The hotel is an art deco gallery from the front entrance as you enter all the way to your room. I've stayed here twice and look forward to the next time I visit. Oooh and don't forget the wine hour to start off your evening before you head out on the town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food all over. Just have to keep an open eye. A block in a half a way is an alley way that has a line up of about 5or6 little resturants from Italian to seafood to steak. Very good. You can also ask the front desk for suggestions....they have not let me down yet.

Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda Rose
Business
San Bruno, CA
Nov 25, 2013

Great location/great price

This is a hotel for artists--not corporate A types. It is unique, minimalist in design, and is not a cookie-cutter version of every other hotel. Cookies at 3 pm and wine at 5 pm and coffee at 7 am in the lobby by a fireplace. The room is immaculate, hotel staff is freakishly kind and attentive, and the hotel is 50 ft. away from the gates to Chinatown and 2 blocks from Union Square. Safe neighborhood--you are in the midst of chic-chic for a Motel Six price. That's saying something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a cafe to the left and a cafe to the right of the hotel--both could be dropped in Paris and fit right in.

Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJ23
Business
Pleasanton, California
Nov 14, 2013

Awesome Fidi location

I had a major exam the next day and also had a fever, unfortunately. The front desk staff went out of their way to help me pick a restaurant for delivery and then not only did they call and place the order for me, but one of the staff ordered dinner with my order to meet the delivery requirement cost. This is just one example of the friendliness of the staff. The location is excellent - so many nearby cafes and shopping. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bwil
ventura, ca
Nov 12, 2013

cool vibe

great location, friendly helpful staff,cool vibe, wine hour is a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lungfungtoy
la.honda, ca
Sep 5, 2013

wonderful staycation

We loved the art in the rooms , bed super comfy,the location was great and.staf was wonderful. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown

Back to menu Return to top

Change search