$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 8, 2014 Check-out: Nov 11, 2014

Travelodge by Fishermans Wharf

1 star
1201 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
45 reviews
Room recently upgraded

Location, location, location. Resonably priced, and would recommend it to friends. Transportation... See full review

  • Gypsy007
  • Feb 20, 2014
Very very pleased.

The Bay Side Inn was a great place to stay. Very close to alot of tourist attractions such as pier... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 17, 2008
Conveniently located on Fishermans Wharf and walking distance from Pier 39, cable car stops, restaurants,bars and all other tourist attractions. Easily accessible by public transportation from Chinatown, Union Square and Bart Stations. Limited parking available based on a first come, first served basis, daily fees apply.

Hotel Map

37.8053 -122.4178
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge by Fishermans Wharf also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.6 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.6 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.6 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.9 mi
  • SoMa: 2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge by Fishermans Wharf

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge by Fishermans Wharf

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 20, 2009

Great location, great price

Great location, great price. I'll consider staying again the next time I'm in San Fransisco. A good value option when visiting SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge by Fishermans Wharf

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bouncy
Business
Cleveland, OH
Oct 16, 2009

Good for the price

There is NO place to hang out here. The rooms are tiny so it is only a good , cheap place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge by Fishermans Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville, NC
Oct 5, 2009

Convenient and Clean

The hotel was conveniently located and the staff was very helpful. The building is obviously an older structure, but the room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge by Fishermans Wharf

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Cruz
Oct 3, 2009

Should have looked at the pictures

I should have looked at the pictures before making the reservation, staff was nice but the place was a pit. Very noisy, tiny rooms, and fly's everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge by Fishermans Wharf

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grass Valley, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Solid 2 Star Motel

We have stayed here a few times. It is clean, well located, and a reasonable price. It's definately a 2 star motel, but they keep it clean and we have no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The hike from Fisherman's Wharf to the base of the Golden Gate Bridge is only 2.8 miles along the waterfront - great views, and it's an easy walk from the motel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge by Fishermans Wharf

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chino Hills, California
Aug 10, 2009

Mary Reyes

I loved the location, it was great. The hotel itself was so, so. It had a dirty smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Every thing was walking distrance, that's what was so great about the location of the hotel from tours, restaurant and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge by Fishermans Wharf

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
philly tom
Business
Southern Utah
Aug 5, 2009

GREAT LOCATION. CLEAN ROOMS.

We stayed there before when it was the Travelodge. Great location (2 blocks from the wharf). Small rooms, but more than adequate for the area. Only in the room to sleep and take a shower so the smallness of the room did not bother us. Would definitely stay there again. Just so everyone understands, it is an average hotel similar to a Super 8 room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lou's Blues. A small but great place to listen to local groups that are very very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge by Fishermans Wharf

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ohio
Aug 4, 2009

awful experience

the first day we thought that the hotel was in a great position ( close to the wharf), so it didn't matter that the room was very small. there is no breakfast and after the first night I got bed bugs all over my face and my body ( I got 60 bites), and my brother too. they moved us to another room and I still got more bites. When I complained they cleaned the sheets and sprayed something in the old room. They didn't do anything else because you couldn't see the bugs. well you could see it from my face and arms!! I will never go back there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

you can find a place to eat very close to the hotel, 5-10 min walk, but you need to go before 10 pm, otherwise everything is close. we got there late due to a flight delay and we didn't find anywhere to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge by Fishermans Wharf

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Cruz, Ca
Aug 4, 2009

close to everythingt

Within walking distance to many destinations. Room was small and uninviting. Traffic noise during the day but quiet at night. Worth it if you don't mind cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave your car in the lot and walk everywhere, it's easier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge by Fishermans Wharf

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brentwood, Ca
Aug 2, 2009

Looks good!, but really is a HUGE DUMP!!

To start off the shower had a used wash cloth that fell on my wife when she was taking a shower. It took all my effort to stop her from walking out right then and there. The shower curtain had brown mold all over it. The celing and doors both had holes in them with paper stuffed inside. The comforter on the bed was extremely stained. It looked like someone had rented the room by the hour numerous times and the cleaning after the fact was sub par. The walls were so thin you could hear people talking in the rooms next door. Also, the icing on the cake was all the squeaking. Early in the morning there was so much squeaking coming from the room overhead there was no way we could sleep. It sounded like a WWF match was going on up overhead and everything was squeaking. It make me resent the fact that I have working ears. Other than that the location was great to the wharf. ABout a 10 min walk. I would never stay at this place again even for half the price. My college appt was cleaner and in better condition after a 3 day weekend drinking binge. Stay at at more mainstream place and save yourself the disappointment. Last but not least. It cost 15$ a day to park there. Give me a break. You are already paying over 100$ for the room, now its extra to park. Seemed like they charged it just because its SF and they can. I was waiting for the charge for using the water or having to pay extra for watching TV or using the remote. Bottom line, stay here if its a last resort only. I saw the reviews for this place were 2.8 out of 5 before I booked. I thought "it cant be that bad, it looks decently nice". Well its a dump, AVIOD AT ALL COSTS. Dam orbitz should take this place off their list of hotels and make up a "dump" category for discount rooms. I think ive covered everything. If you read this and still choose to go, and it sucks, dont say I didnt tell you so...lol. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top