Travelodge Golden Gate

2 stars
View map of 2230 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
27 reviews
Hidden gem in the Marina District

SF is a wonderful city, but expensive, and it's hard to find a dependable place to stay that's... See full review

  • David S.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Vacations

Fantastic!! It's a wonderful place and good located. See full review

  • JasonMoRo
  • Jan 18, 2014
We offer complimentary In-room coffee and a copy of a USA TODAY newspaper and Free Limited Parking facility on premises. Travelodge - Golden Gate is Completely Renovated 2004-2005 The Travelodge - Golden Gate offers guestrooms designed with your utmost comfort and convenience in mind. Whether traveling on business or leisure you are sure to enjoy your Travelodge experience from the moment you arrive. You can unwind after a long day with extended cable TV, HBO, ESPN and CNN or surf on the internet using our FREE HI SPEED WIRELESS INTERNET access. All our rooms are recently renovated and equipped with state of the art furniture. The Travelodge - Golden Gate is ideally located in San Franciscos trendy Marina district and just 15 miles north to the San Francisco International Airport. Ask our hotels representative to arrange a sightseeing tour of San Francisco, Alcatraz, Muir Woods - Sausalito, Wine Country, Monterey - Carmel and Yosemite The Travelodge - Golden Gate offers easy access to shopping, sightseeing and recreational activities on the Marina Green. Enjoy a short stroll to the yacht harbor on the Marina Green or explore the nearby fishermans wharf, Ghirardelli square, cable cars, Exploratorium And place of fine arts, presidio, Crissy field, fort mason and the golden gate bridge. World class shopping, dining and entertainment venues are only blocks away on Union Street and Chestnut Street Our brand new Sleepy Bears Den Room for families with young children features two queen beds and fun Sleepy Bear decor to make the kids feel right at home Public transportation is easily accessible from the Travelodge - Golden Gate, which are only 2 blocks from the MUNI Bus 22, 28, 30 And 43 routes There are at least 25 fabulous restaurants, bars and coffee shops within a three block radius of the hotel. 24 hour Iiop and Gels Drive In restaurants within one block The Travelodge - Golden Gate staff is proud to offer the guest highest in quality service coupled with nic

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Golden Gate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Express checkout
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Palace of Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Exploratorium: 0.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Exploratorium: 0.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.8 mi
  • Union Square: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 2 mi
  • Presidio: 2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 2 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 2.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 2.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 2.2 mi
  • SoMa: 2.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Fort Point National Historic Site: 2.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 2.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Golden Gate

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Golden Gate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jan 30, 2011

Convenient

We were only in the hotel to sleep and shower. Was very clean, friendly and convenient location. Would definitely book there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Golden Gate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fuzzy_Navel
Business
MN
Jan 17, 2011

Cheap place to stay

This hotel is a nice walk from the Marina, and a bit of a long walk from Fisherman's Wharf. There are buses that run on the street behind the hotel that can help get you closer to the action if you're not up for a long walk. The staff gave us a free upgrade to a room with 2 queen beds instead of the room with 2 doubles. The beds were comfortable, the room was spacious enough to bring in a twin air mattress, and the coffee was better than I had at other hotels on my trip. Free wifi was also handy. The two biggest downfalls to the hotel were the lack of parking space and the road noise. Lombard is a busy street, so there was constant background noise of cars and occasional honking. Parking is limited to maybe 20 spaces, and delivery drivers from a nearby pizzeria often took up a few of those. If you plan on driving here, make sure you're attentive to the address- there are two other Travelodges along Lombard!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive one way on Lombard, and the Golden Gate bridge and recreation areas are fairly close. Drive the other way and you can go down the crookedest street and follow the road down to the Embarcadero.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Golden Gate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Galt , CA
Nov 29, 2010

Great stay at reasonable cost

Free parking, Quiet room facing the courtyard. Ask for a courtyard room away from Lombard street if you like quiet. Also close to many good local resturants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Golden Gate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chino Hills,CA
Nov 9, 2010

Great Location

Room was average.A bit noisy from traffic. Excellent location to shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Golden Gate

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Oct 6, 2010

Close To Exciting Places

I was In San Francisco for business and enjoyed the location because there are many things to do in the Marina. Parking is a little tight & they should clean the exterior area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of great food open late and friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Golden Gate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gainesville, Georgia
Aug 28, 2010

Easy access to city sights

We went to San Francisco to see the sights. We only wanted a hotel in which to sleep and the Travelodge met that need just fine. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom worked great and the room was small but clean. It was close to the streetcar line and we became great urban commuters, which was so much less expensive than parking lot prices. I would recommend it to anyone that didn't want to pay the high prices for the extras. Also the neighborhood was very safe - we felt at ease walking up the street even late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Three, good, affordable, dining places were just yards away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Golden Gate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jul 13, 2010

Close to main bus route

The gal at the desk was very informative. Suggested we park the car and take transit which is a block away otherwise we will be paying high parking prices everywhere we go (which we noticed). Transit is very inexpensive and from the hotel you can connect to downtown San Francisco easily. We managed to get all over town in one day but you have to be prepared to do a bit of walking. Cable car is a must, for the experience and also the sights. We even managed to get in a baseball game at AT&T Stadium for a decent price and has a great view of the harbor. The hotel room was a good size, clean, and recently updated. Parking was approx. 20 sites so you may not have a site if you pull in after 9 pm at night. Neighborhood looked very safe and has lots of restaurants all around it. We arrived on a Sunday evening and all the restaurants/upscale small bars were busy. The area seemed to be the "upscale in place" to be and the ages appeared primarily mid 20's to 30's at the establishments. For the price and convenience of parking a vehicle, I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Union Square is a must if not for shopping, at least sit down for a coffee or wine at one of the tables in the Square. Seems to be the hub of the downtown core and has many people sitting on the steps enjoying a break in the middle of the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Golden Gate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kitty Hogan
Business
Seattle
Oct 20, 2009

Wonderful location, can walk everywhere

Have stayed in this hotel many times. The location is amazing. We've never had a problem with noise even tho it's on a busy street. Can walk everywhere in The Marina, good restaurants and shops. It's not a fancy place, but we're never in our room except to sleep. Too much to see and do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Dragonwell. the best Chinese restaurant in San Fran and it's one block from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Golden Gate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Twinkelydots
Business
Reno, NV
Apr 23, 2009

Comfortable but frustrating parking.

The room was very comfortable, quiet and nice. We were on the 3rd floor so we were able to get our exercise in. The only frustrating thing was parking. They share their parking lot with the pizza place next door so delivery cars took up most of the parking spaces. Plus the parking spaces are very very tight. But it was free parking so can't complain too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Golden Gate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 25, 2008

decent value in an expensive city

not bad for the money:a decent room located near many decent restaurants.hotel does not have a lobby but has a small office which is staffed from early morning to late evening. everyone we dealt with there was courteous, knowledgeable and very helpful in helping us plan where to go and how to best get there.parking looked like it would not be a problem there but we opted to return the rented car early as we didn't need it, would have been a pain to park wherever we took it, and riding the buses, trollies, BART and the cable cars is part of the san francisco experience.you get what you pay for and you get your money's worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top