$235 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
633 reviews
Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel... See full review

  • Y Patel
  • May 13, 2014
Great Location!

We love it! teh location, the rooms, beds are like sleeping with angels! See full review

  • Miri Schie
  • May 8, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (633)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 633
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
BOSTON, MA
Aug 2, 2009

OTHER THAN LOCATION, NOT SO GOOD

I WAS EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED AT THE GYM'S COSTING $12/DAY. RIDICULOUS. INTERNET CONNECTION WAS ALSO $14/DAY. UNACCEPTABLE. DO NOT RECOMMEND. GREAT LOCATION, AWEFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE. WILL NOT GO BACK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
BOSTON, MA
Aug 2, 2009

OTHER THAN LOCATION, NOT SO GOOD

I WAS EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED AT THE GYM'S COSTING $12/DAY. RIDICULOUS. INTERNET CONNECTION WAS ALSO $14/DAY. UNACCEPTABLE. DO NOT RECOMMEND. GREAT LOCATION, AWEFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE. WILL NOT GO BACK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Mar 16, 2008

Nice Location - Kinda Aged Hotel

I was very disappointed to receive a tiny room next to the elevator shaft. When I mean tiny, I mean, smaller than a dorm room or hospital room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Its all there, right at Union Square.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Mar 16, 2008

Nice Location - Kinda Aged Hotel

I was very disappointed to receive a tiny room next to the elevator shaft. When I mean tiny, I mean, smaller than a dorm room or hospital room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Its all there, right at Union Square.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SendMeAnywhere
New York
Jul 3, 2010

Small room; worn furnishings

The location is the best part of the hotel, but the room itself was disappointing. Maybe higher paying business travellers get nicer rooms, but they should really do something to address their smaller accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SendMeAnywhere
New York
Jul 3, 2010

Small room; worn furnishings

The location is the best part of the hotel, but the room itself was disappointing. Maybe higher paying business travellers get nicer rooms, but they should really do something to address their smaller accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF Frequent Traveler
Chicago IL
Aug 22, 2009

Great location, small room, okay service

This is a great location and most of people I interacted with were quite nice. However, my experience was not the best. When I arrived, the room was incredibly small, but it had a small wing chair & coffee maker. There was garbage in both trash cans, the soap dish was dirty with used soap and toilet paper roll was not folded (ie used). I was concerned whether the sheets had been changed so I called. They first stated that the previous visitor must have returned to the room after they had cleaned the room. But when I told them I my concern was whether the sheets had been changed they stated they had other rooms if I wanted a new room and to come down. At the reception desk there was no apology, the person was quite curt and I didn't think it was possible, but they actually gave me a smaller room. It was so small that the coffee maker was in the closet and no wing chair. I was incredibly insulted! I went to dinner and tried to cool off but after a few hours I was still really angry and asked to speak to the reception Manager. He was very nice, but, He did tell me the room was actually within the same class as the 1st room. I went away even more angry. About 20 minutes later the Manager had written a very nice card and sent up some wine, water, with a fruit & Cheese plate. It is a beautiful hotel and a great location for restaurants, shopping and park. Parking costs about $56 with taxes per night and internet connection starts at 14.95 per 24 hours, but is 19.95 for the faster connection. My understanding is there is also a charge for the workout room as well. However, the literature did state it would deliver workout equipment to your room - not sure how much that would cost. Lastly, you will not get any Starwood points for any expense items if you book your room on Orbits. This is a very nice hotel, quite beautiful, but there are a lot of hotels in the area and I like hotels that offer some services that don't cost extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF Frequent Traveler
Chicago IL
Aug 22, 2009

Great location, small room, okay service

This is a great location and most of people I interacted with were quite nice. However, my experience was not the best. When I arrived, the room was incredibly small, but it had a small wing chair & coffee maker. There was garbage in both trash cans, the soap dish was dirty with used soap and toilet paper roll was not folded (ie used). I was concerned whether the sheets had been changed so I called. They first stated that the previous visitor must have returned to the room after they had cleaned the room. But when I told them I my concern was whether the sheets had been changed they stated they had other rooms if I wanted a new room and to come down. At the reception desk there was no apology, the person was quite curt and I didn't think it was possible, but they actually gave me a smaller room. It was so small that the coffee maker was in the closet and no wing chair. I was incredibly insulted! I went to dinner and tried to cool off but after a few hours I was still really angry and asked to speak to the reception Manager. He was very nice, but, He did tell me the room was actually within the same class as the 1st room. I went away even more angry. About 20 minutes later the Manager had written a very nice card and sent up some wine, water, with a fruit & Cheese plate. It is a beautiful hotel and a great location for restaurants, shopping and park. Parking costs about $56 with taxes per night and internet connection starts at 14.95 per 24 hours, but is 19.95 for the faster connection. My understanding is there is also a charge for the workout room as well. However, the literature did state it would deliver workout equipment to your room - not sure how much that would cost. Lastly, you will not get any Starwood points for any expense items if you book your room on Orbits. This is a very nice hotel, quite beautiful, but there are a lot of hotels in the area and I like hotels that offer some services that don't cost extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
robaire
california
Jun 17, 2010

As expected

Staff was friendly and helpful. The location is very good and the room was comfortablel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
robaire
california
Jun 17, 2010

As expected

Staff was friendly and helpful. The location is very good and the room was comfortablel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top