$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
356 reviews
awesome

great hotel, great view, great spot, great everything!!!!! See full review

  • Dem Boyz
  • Jul 31, 2015
Great for a business trip!

I stayed here for 5 days for a business trip. The hotel was very spacious and clean. It had great... See full review

  • ch299
  • Jun 8, 2015

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

General
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Location

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Dining
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Property features

Legendary Union Square hotel a destination onto itself

Highlights

Located in Union Square in downtown San Francisco, the Westin is nearby many of the local attractions. Step out of the hotel into a San Francisco cable car, and visit the theater district, Market Street, Nob Hill or the Yerba Buena Gardens.

With North Beach just one mile from the hotel, take in the sights and sounds of San Francisco Bay, or drive just a few more miles to travel across the Golden Gate Bridge. Or take a short trip down to Fisherman's Wharf to Pier 33, board a cruise boat, and be at Alcatraz Island in minutes. For those dependent on public transport, the Muni F Line bus travels directly in front of the hotel. 

Nearby attractions
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms
Transportation
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$209
4.0 / 5 508 reviews
★★★★
$209
3.9 / 5 485 reviews
★★★★
$189
4.2 / 5 197 reviews
★★★★
$159
4.3 / 5 225 reviews
★★★★
$194
4.1 / 5 330 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.2 / 5 224 reviews
★★★★
$229
4.1 / 5 92 reviews
★★★★
$199
3.9 / 5 143 reviews
★★★
$199
3.8 / 5 81 reviews

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Car rental desk
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Dining

The Oak Room Restaurant
Enjoy a full menu of American favorites at the Oak Room Restaurant. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, the Oak Room offers tasty à la carte delights, a sumptuous buffet, Westin Kids Club items, and healthy SuperFoodsRx™ options.
BOURBON STEAK
A modern American steakhouse situated in our celebrated landmark lobby, BOURBON STEAK offers fresh, contemporary cuisine with a focus on organic, hormone-free beef, just-caught seafood, and seasonal West Coast ingredients.
Caruso's
Caruso’s offers specialty coffee drinks, homemade pastries, wines by the glass, panini sandwiches, salads and a full bar. Located in the Tower lobby, this is a great place for casual dining, an afternoon snack or quick bite with the family.
Clock Bar
Created by Michelin chef Michael Mina, Clock Bar takes the cocktail lounge concept to heady new heights. Savor handcrafted cocktails, gourmet finger foods, sumptuous entrées, and sample vintages from our 300-label wine list.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 356
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Orange County, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Poor Management

If the Westin St. Francis is "renowned for their legendary service" this must mean legendarily poor service. We booked our room at the Westin St. Francis and HAD ALREADY PAID FOR IT through Orbitz. When we arrived at the hotel they told us that Orbitz cancelled our reservation and they didn't have a room for us! We had just flown into San Francisco and didn't have a flight out for 3 more days. We were desperate as the city was full and asked if they could please find us a room. They gave us a room but said we were responsible for payment to them directly at 3 times the rate we already paid through Orbitz. I didn't worry as I thought one phone call to Orbitz would straighten out the problem and the hotel would surely not charge us a second time for the room we already paid for. NO SUCH LUCK. I called Orbitz right away and talked to a supervisor who said he would look into the matter and call me back the next day. He never did. I called back two times trying to reach him and nobody would transfer me to him and he still never called back. On the last night of our stay, the Westin St. Francis automatically charged our credit card for the stay at 3 TIMES the rate we had already paid. After FIVE phone calls to Orbitz and a combined total of 2-1/2 hours of my vacation spent on the phone with them, a supervisor told me that the hotel cancelled our room but never advised Orbitz about it and now refused to honor our original reservation that was already paid for. Orbitz told us there was nothing they could do about it. Orbitz best offer was that they would reimburse us what we already paid them for the hotel and half the difference of what the hotel rate should have been and what we actually paid, so the hotel ended up costing DOUBLE what we had orginally agreed to when we booked our trip. And Orbitz has not reimbursed us anything yet, so right now, we have paid FOUR times what we agreed to. We called the manager at the hotel that Orbitz said they talked to in order to try to sort things out on that end. The front desk said he was helping a customer and would call us back. He never did return our call. On the second day of our stay, the water in all the faucets in our room was dark brown for a few hours. We couldn't even use the facilities. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The price we ended up paying was definitely not worth it. The person at the Registration Desk was incredibly rude and unhelpful. The only good service was from the housekeeping staff who were exceptional. I will never book a trip through Orbitz again. They should have held their "partner" hotel to their agreement. It was certainly not our fault about the lack of communication between the hotel and Orbitz, but the bill fell in our lap anyway and neither the hotel nor Orbiz sees the injustice in that at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Pasadena, CA
Jan 2, 2010

Trip to SF

I reserved and paid for two adjacent or adjoining rooms but they didn't have any. So they gave me one room with two beds - which was fine for us.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Max's for breakfast.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shasta22
Family
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Overrated

great location but overpriced / $50 to park your car for the night! I parked around the corner for $20 / not a great expereince to have to deal with

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Park at an alternate garage

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oxford girl
Family
Oxford
Jul 9, 2013

Overpriced needs to work on service

For a top priced hotel in San Francisco the Westin needs to do a lot more to function as a 4 star hotel. The lobby when we arrived was dirty with nobody clearing the tables. A table with old cups etc was not cleared while we were waiting to check in. Our room wasn't ready and they were supposed to call us when it was, no call and had to go back and ask again at later. A very tired hotel which needs to up date it's facilities and improve it's customer service. I rang down for a couple of bowls so we could have a snack as by daughter has food allergies I was told that they usually charge for sending this to your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DGmn
Family
MN
Oct 3, 2013

Nice people but...

Unfortunately we arrived at rush hour and it took forever to get to the hotel. The garage entrance is not on Powell so we did a lot of extra driving to figure out how to park. Front desk person was excellent. Rooms were expensive for a very small space with a view of a cement roof and the corner of other rooms. The vent in the bathroom was literally caked with dust. When we were leaving the garage attendant said he would put our bags in the car. We were in Sausalito before we noticed that one of the bags had not made it into the car and had to drive all the way back to get it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Norcal
Jan 11, 2011

Ok

Expensive parking rates they do not tell you about. $50.00 for every day you stay. Room was nice, but housekeeping/maintenance was talking loudly at 04:15 am waking my family. Bell service was outstanding. there ws a conference for JP Morgan during our stay so there were hundreds of people standing in the lobby and blocking access to the bell desk, restaurant, cafe and elevators. Made it very difficult use any of the hotels services and elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Garland
May 25, 2008

mini vacation

This hotel is located on Union Square. We were given the old section and our bathroom was very cramped and inconvenient. The rooms did not have a place for the coffee maker which was placed in the closet on top of the safe when we checked in. Our only option was to place it on a luggage rack or the desk as the bathroom was too small. My other experiences with Westin locations have been positive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is close by. However the surroundng neighborhood is trashy.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 14, 2009

Sign of the times

I have stayed and enjoyed Westins from Melbourne, Australia to San Francisco; Victoria, Canada to Palm Springs. This was the first time I felt "slippage" in the chain. Is it a sign of the times or unique to the Westin St. Francis? A lovely hotel but light on in-room amenities - the little things I've become accustomed to. No paper and pen, no q-tips, cotton balls or shower cap to name a few. Over a 4 night stay, housekeeping replinished coffee and coffee supplies twice and only left the two of us with one bath towel. All-in-all it just wasn't the Westin experience I expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy All the galleries on Geary Street!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
NY
Apr 14, 2010

Good hotel nearby Union square

I stayed for four days in the hotel. It locates very close to Union Square in San Francisco. The hotel is an average rate hotel among 4 star hotels. It is neither impressive nor bad. If you want to stay near Union Square, it could be a good option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveling fool to SF
Family
San Diego
Feb 1, 2014

amazing location

The room was beautiful and the location could not have been better. What I dont like about the old hotels is the old carpet. They need to rip that stuff out and reveal the hard wood floors that are probably below it. Otherwise an amazing hotel with five star staff. Great historical pictures of all of the famous people and presidents that have stayed there. Really fun place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotels provides a great list of places nearby that are all great places. 7 story Macy's right next door. So much fun.

Back to menu Return to top