$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
402 reviews
WONDERFUL!

A first class operation all around. Great location. Great service. Great hotel. Best value. Thank... See full review

  • EDWARD K.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Amazing!

Love it! Near everything and the hotel is beautiful. See full review

  • Rowi22
  • Nov 29, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Car rental desk
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Dining

The Oak Room Restaurant
Enjoy a full menu of American favorites at the Oak Room Restaurant. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, the Oak Room offers tasty à la carte delights, a sumptuous buffet, Westin Kids Club items, and healthy SuperFoodsRx™ options.
BOURBON STEAK
A modern American steakhouse situated in our celebrated landmark lobby, BOURBON STEAK offers fresh, contemporary cuisine with a focus on organic, hormone-free beef, just-caught seafood, and seasonal West Coast ingredients.
Caruso's
Caruso’s offers specialty coffee drinks, homemade pastries, wines by the glass, panini sandwiches, salads and a full bar. Located in the Tower lobby, this is a great place for casual dining, an afternoon snack or quick bite with the family.
Clock Bar
Created by Michelin chef Michael Mina, Clock Bar takes the cocktail lounge concept to heady new heights. Savor handcrafted cocktails, gourmet finger foods, sumptuous entrées, and sample vintages from our 300-label wine list.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 402
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2010

Not worth it at all!

Considering the price and the fact that the Westin St. Francis is supposed to be a 4 star hotel, I was sorely disappointed. This place was probably great about 40 years ago, but if you aren't one of their "platinum members" they are going to treat you like one of San Francisco's homeless people. The room was small and had a large water stain and peeling paint on the ceiling. The staff seemed unsympathetic and unfriendly. Things that many hotels offer for free were very overpriced there. At least the location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

One block south is the Golden Dust lounge. This place is a great, charming place to get a relatively inexpensive drink, enjoy a great low-volume house band, and unwind after a day of sightseeing.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mary Plunkett
Business
Calgary, Alberta
Sep 20, 2012

Not a great experience for the what you pay.

The fan in the bathroom didn't work. We use two wine glasses on your first night and they two glasses remained unwashed on the desk until we checked out. When we checked in, the front desk accepted my wife's ID even though the resevation was in my name - however on the second day of our stay when my wife needed her room key activiated the front desk wouldn't do it because her name wasn't listed (yet it was her ID they took on check-in)???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 21, 2010

Not that impressed

Hated the room. It looked out into an narrow opening surrounded on all sides by the hotel. The room did not have a view and lacked natural light. It felt very dungeon like. I booked the room because we wanted the option of room service. The room was so dark, we didn't want to spend too much time in it. The location was great, but with so many hotels to choose from, next time we will choose another one. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A wide variety of good restaurants a short walk away. Food at the hotel was expensive and the decor was dated.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr Dick
Business
Huntsville, ALabama
Aug 3, 2010

Room near the elevator

Great location, beautiful lobby. The 1st room was very small, but clean. The 2nd room was in the towers and much larger, but, RIGHT NEXT TO the bank of 5 elevators. Horrible noise all nite long and when we complained, no other rooms were available. Never again !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kuleto's excellent Italian food.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 9, 2008

Small and old

The Westin St. Francis was right in the heart of the Union Station area. Ideal for all the things we wanted to do. Our room was in the original part of the hotel (not the tower). The room was sub-standard when it came to cleanliness. Paint was peeling on the bathroom ceiling. One staffer was not at all accomodating to changing our room. Another person was quite helpful. The city was grand but the hotel was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jul 23, 2010

The good, the bad, the really ugly...

Admittedly, I am v. fussy about the room I am assigned. It can make or ruin my stay in a hotel. I told the woman signing us in that we were expecting a tower room floors 17-20, and that I would like a front view over Union Square of the bay and bridge. She gave us room 2095 which was roof level with another building and looked north with no good view. I went back to the desk and the staff had changed, so I had to deal with another woman and explained the view I wanted. She managed that but put us three floors lower in room 1783 which was blocked by the old part of the hotel. Room 2083 would have been perfect, but by moving us down three floor she screwed me. Intentional, or not, we will never know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you go to SF in the summer, be preparted to dress warmly. It was overcast, foggy and windy for our three day stay. Mark Twain said, "The coldest winter I ever spent was a summer in SF", and it can be v. true!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smurray
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Nice, but wouldn't be in a rush back

Stayed in room 1678, which is a corner suite so you have views in two directions. The room was decent but for the price ($350/night), the bathroom could use some updating. The shower head had poor water pressure. Freinds had the adjoining suite and their bathroom appeared to be recently re-modeled. HBO and Showtime are included but many channels would lose the signal making those channels unviewable. Internet access is not included in room price. The hotel was adequate for my purposes but I wouldn't be in a rush back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like seafood, try Ferallon located directly across the street from the hotel. Pricey but very good.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tired So Cal Traveler
Business
San Dimas, CA
Jun 11, 2012

You May Have To Insist on Waht You Paid For

We were greeted at the reception desk and immediately given keys to a fifth floor room. We had paid to upgrade to floors 16 to 21, but all of those rooms were full. the clerk offered us breakfast instead (we already had reservations elsewhere) or to waive our parking fee (we didn't have a car). It was after midnight and both my husband & I were very tired. Th desk clerk was not authorized to give us a comparable or better room, so we waited many minutes for the manager to return from parts clearly some distance away. After about five more minutes, the manager put us in a lovely room. We're not sure why the room we had paid for was not availalbe and further bewildered that the desk clerk was not authorized to make the accomodation that we ultimately received. We would have appreciated better, prompter service at the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Overstreet
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 3, 2012

Overnight stay

Rooms were small. There wasa protest at the hotel next door wakening us up betwwen 5-6 a.m

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 WALKING FOOLS
Business
CORONA CA
Sep 10, 2012

STREETS THAT ROCK

THE HOTEL ITSELF IS BEAUTIFUL RIGHT ACROSS FROM UNION SQUARE AND DOWN A FEW BLOCKS FROM THE BART STATION. THE ROOM WE HAD WAS SMALL WITH OLD CHARM. I MEAN THIS IS A GOOD WAY. WE WERE ON THE 9TH FLOOR AND I GUESS WE EXPECTED IT WOULD BE QUIET! THE 1ST STREET BAND THAT PLAYED WAS GR8! THEY STARTED LATE AFTERNOON (WISH THEY WERE THE ONES THAT PLAYED THRU THE NIGHT) THE 2ND BAND WASN'T SO HOT AND THEY PLAYED ALL NIGHT LONG! THEY STOPPED ONCE WE GOT OUT OF BED N THE MORNING AND THEN THE STREET WAS QUIET! GO FIGURE! WOULD I STAY THERE AGAIN, SURE! BUT I'D MAKE SURE I REQESTED A QUIET ROOM OR FIND OUT WHO THE 1ST BAND WAS AND MAKE A REQUEST. OVERALL WE HAD A GR8 TIME WITH LOTS OF GOOD WALKING, A GIANTS GAME vs DODGERS AND REALLY GREAT FOOD! IT TAKES MORE THAN A WEEKEND TO DO SAN FRANCISCO BUT IF YOU HAVE THE CHANCE DO THE WEEKEND GO 4 IT! GO BACK FOR THE THINGS YOU MISSED, ITS A GR8 CITY WITH SO MUCH GOING ON!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top