$245 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
372 reviews
Perfect Location!!

Great Stay in the heart of San Francisco. Hotel staff were friendly and rooms were very modern in... See full review

  • Christopher Travel Extrod
  • Sep 10, 2014
Outstanding!!

Great hotel, amazing location, good staff, everything was great!! Would without any doubts... See full review

  • Federico11
  • Jul 30, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (372)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
372 out of 372
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zoie
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 22, 2011

business

Hotel was very busy and the fitness center was under construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sammy G Keeps It Real
San Jose, CA
Aug 11, 2014

Nice, but you might get a small room.

We booked with a third party website (starts with an O and ends with a bits) and paid around $400 for a room that was nice, but VERY small. It had a crystal chandelier which was nice and HBO for free, so we were happy overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
California Dreamin' PCH-1 Traveler
New York, NY
Aug 10, 2009

Driving up PCH-1 Vacation

The hotel was generally good, but it was completely a business-professional hub. I would not recommend it to anyone vacationing who is looking for quaint boutique hotel. It was too big, too busy, and not enough for the price that we paid for our one night stay. The hotel (though historical) is very big and the room finishes, although upscale, were bland and almost depressing, especially since we were in a room with a view of a brick wall (there are a lot of rooms with such views, so beware). It's in a good location if you want to do a lot of shopping but a bit far from the Fisherman's Wharf, and the diniing/lounges. Their parking is horrendously expensive -- $50 per night! However, the parking manager was very nice when he saw my New Yorker eyes fall out of face due to the price and gave me a discount at their sister garage up the street for $30 a night rate. Even in New York you don't get such ridiculously high rates. We had just come off of a stint of cozy Inns that we stayed at through our drive on PCH-1, so we were disappointed at the "commercial" aspect of the hotel, but the staff was very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 WALKING FOOLS
CORONA CA
Sep 10, 2012

STREETS THAT ROCK

THE HOTEL ITSELF IS BEAUTIFUL RIGHT ACROSS FROM UNION SQUARE AND DOWN A FEW BLOCKS FROM THE BART STATION. THE ROOM WE HAD WAS SMALL WITH OLD CHARM. I MEAN THIS IS A GOOD WAY. WE WERE ON THE 9TH FLOOR AND I GUESS WE EXPECTED IT WOULD BE QUIET! THE 1ST STREET BAND THAT PLAYED WAS GR8! THEY STARTED LATE AFTERNOON (WISH THEY WERE THE ONES THAT PLAYED THRU THE NIGHT) THE 2ND BAND WASN'T SO HOT AND THEY PLAYED ALL NIGHT LONG! THEY STOPPED ONCE WE GOT OUT OF BED N THE MORNING AND THEN THE STREET WAS QUIET! GO FIGURE! WOULD I STAY THERE AGAIN, SURE! BUT I'D MAKE SURE I REQESTED A QUIET ROOM OR FIND OUT WHO THE 1ST BAND WAS AND MAKE A REQUEST. OVERALL WE HAD A GR8 TIME WITH LOTS OF GOOD WALKING, A GIANTS GAME vs DODGERS AND REALLY GREAT FOOD! IT TAKES MORE THAN A WEEKEND TO DO SAN FRANCISCO BUT IF YOU HAVE THE CHANCE DO THE WEEKEND GO 4 IT! GO BACK FOR THE THINGS YOU MISSED, ITS A GR8 CITY WITH SO MUCH GOING ON!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Coto De Caza, CA
Aug 20, 2009

Great hotel - terrible staff

Staff was rude at check in. Valet staff was rude when leaving. Too bad, it's a great hotel, a world class place to stay but the people just aren't friendly. You would think they would be with the state of our economy. For the $200 and $50 per night in parking, I'll stay at the Hyatt, Fisherman's Wharf next time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco CA
Dec 8, 2009

Good

It's nice Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tired So Cal Traveler
San Dimas, CA
Jun 11, 2012

You May Have To Insist on Waht You Paid For

We were greeted at the reception desk and immediately given keys to a fifth floor room. We had paid to upgrade to floors 16 to 21, but all of those rooms were full. the clerk offered us breakfast instead (we already had reservations elsewhere) or to waive our parking fee (we didn't have a car). It was after midnight and both my husband & I were very tired. Th desk clerk was not authorized to give us a comparable or better room, so we waited many minutes for the manager to return from parts clearly some distance away. After about five more minutes, the manager put us in a lovely room. We're not sure why the room we had paid for was not availalbe and further bewildered that the desk clerk was not authorized to make the accomodation that we ultimately received. We would have appreciated better, prompter service at the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans. LA
Nov 10, 2009

Westin St. Francis Review

The hotel is fine, your basic room, but they charge you for everything. They wanted $14.95 for internet that I can get free at other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jtm2300
San Jose, CA
Jul 11, 2010

Small room

Stayed overnight with the wife. Room was surprisingly small for the price paid, guess this is to be expected for the location at the heart of San Francisco. Still, a bit claustrophobia inducing. Otherwise, service was acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Clock Bar seems to be one of the few hotel bars in the area open seven days a week until late. 24-hour Lori's Diner located just around the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BusinessBob
Business
Seattle
Oct 19, 2012

Beautiful historic hotel with paper thin walls

The hotel is right in the heart of downtown SF. Really convenient to everything. Just ignore all the pot smoking vagrants begging in front of hotel. They are harmless. The uninsulated walls made for a sleepless night. We could hear the person next door coughing all night and the noise from the hallway was just as bad. Hotel is nice but doesn't provide a restful environment. Also, if you go for the "green" option, be aware this means your room will not be touched during your stay and that includes emptying out the trash and refilling the coffee service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search