$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 12, 2008

Excellent location

The Westin St Francis could not have been in a better location. We were able to catch the trolly right outside the front door. Also we were in walking of many great restaurants and shopping. The hotels beds and views were also outstanding. It was a restful fun vacation I would recommend to any one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The cafe, Sears, up a block had a excellent breadfast and Macy's was right accross the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corona, CA
Aug 30, 2010

The Westin, St. Francis

The Westin's great location in the center of Union Square was worth the price. The service was excellent and the Concierge desk was valuable help in finding things we needed to get to. I highly recommend the hotel and will stay there again. We had a 30th floor room, which provided the most magnificent view of the city...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right in the heart of the greatest shopping areas and a short walk from Chinatown and Little Italy...perfect

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 17, 2007

very friendly

upon check in we were greeted and treated in a warm & friendly manor. the professionalism shown was a rare treat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the location couldn't be better. a short walk to entertainment or dining of your choosing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 29, 2008

Nice stay for the holiday

We loved the Westin St. Francis. We enjoyed taking in the history of the place while also taking in some good scotch and creme brulee at Caruso's in the lobby area. The holiday decorations were great, and the staff were very friendly. We loved the convenience of the taxis right outside the door, and the location was good for walks to and from Union Square, Chinatown and North Beach. The room had a view, a nice flat-panel TV and a great bed and bath. We took advantage of the room service and minibar also. We could have just stayed in the hotel and been happy for days. Luckily San Francisco lured us outdoors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Consider taxis for your uphill trips, and walking for your downhill return trips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Sep 9, 2007

Great Location

St. Francis was a great location on Union Square. We walked right out the front door to great shopping and near by resturants. Rooms were a little larger than the average San Francisco room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Y Patel
Business
Princeton, NJ
May 13, 2014

Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel itself is breathtaking- an opulent lobby, good spa services, the Clock bar and lobby bar and the restaurants are great. We stayed in the tower and the elevator system ensures safety which was great. Staff was incredibly accommodating and the rooms were perfection. The location cannot be beat. 3 blocks from the Powell Bart station and literally in the center of union square. The hotel is even on many of the tours! Definitely a highly recommended stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burger Bar on the 6th floor of Macys has some of the best burgers Ive ever tasted! And Amber Indian restaurant has a great ambience and even better food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Aug 9, 2011

Fantastic getaway

A four star hotel, so beautiful and right at the shopping center with so many restaurants, close to everything & all the attraction

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John and Karen
Business
Grover Beach, CA, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Always enjoyable!

Great central location with easy access to cable cars, shopping, restaurants, and theaters. The St. Francis is always our first choice when staying in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cypress
Dec 28, 2008

This was an awesome hotel. Great location, great service, very clean.

The Westin St. Francis is one of the most beautiful hotels we've ever stayed in. The service was great, it was close to everything in san francisco and the staff was fantastic. We ate Christmas dinner in the Oak Room dining room in the hotel which was an experience fit for a king. The Heavenly Bathroom and Heavenly Bed were great. Very comfortable and plenty of room for clothes. We had a great view of the city from our corner room on the 20th floor. I highly reccommend this hotel when staying in San Francisco on pleaseure or business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to walk to Chinatown. Feast at the Empress of China and you'll go back again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 23, 2007

Great Location

The hotel was located very near many attractions. It was just a 2 mile walk to the Warf. The hotel was very helpful when planning day tour trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Almost any store you could think of was in walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top