$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego, CA
Aug 21, 2010

Not that impressed

Hated the room. It looked out into an narrow opening surrounded on all sides by the hotel. The room did not have a view and lacked natural light. It felt very dungeon like. I booked the room because we wanted the option of room service. The room was so dark, we didn't want to spend too much time in it. The location was great, but with so many hotels to choose from, next time we will choose another one. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A wide variety of good restaurants a short walk away. Food at the hotel was expensive and the decor was dated.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr Dick
Couples
Huntsville, ALabama
Aug 3, 2010

Room near the elevator

Great location, beautiful lobby. The 1st room was very small, but clean. The 2nd room was in the towers and much larger, but, RIGHT NEXT TO the bank of 5 elevators. Horrible noise all nite long and when we complained, no other rooms were available. Never again !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kuleto's excellent Italian food.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr. ROR
Business
VA
May 13, 2011

Not quite as expected

The great: my room was lovely, clean, and had a fabulous view (Coit tower on one side and Golden Gate bridge on the other). The bad: I ordered room service three times. The first time, the food was un-exciting (though still edible). The second time, the food was still unimpressive (though still crazily expensive). The third time, both my silverware and the stemware was dirty. After that, I gave up and found other SF places to eat. Also, although the staff was very friendly, they were not particularly competent or attentive. Long stories (too long for this review) but just not what you would expect from a Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't stand in the typical tourist line for the cable car and instead walk one block (either up or down the street) and catch it there.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Apr 9, 2008

Small and old

The Westin St. Francis was right in the heart of the Union Station area. Ideal for all the things we wanted to do. Our room was in the original part of the hotel (not the tower). The room was sub-standard when it came to cleanliness. Paint was peeling on the bathroom ceiling. One staffer was not at all accomodating to changing our room. Another person was quite helpful. The city was grand but the hotel was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Santa Rosa, CA
Jul 23, 2010

The good, the bad, the really ugly...

Admittedly, I am v. fussy about the room I am assigned. It can make or ruin my stay in a hotel. I told the woman signing us in that we were expecting a tower room floors 17-20, and that I would like a front view over Union Square of the bay and bridge. She gave us room 2095 which was roof level with another building and looked north with no good view. I went back to the desk and the staff had changed, so I had to deal with another woman and explained the view I wanted. She managed that but put us three floors lower in room 1783 which was blocked by the old part of the hotel. Room 2083 would have been perfect, but by moving us down three floor she screwed me. Intentional, or not, we will never know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you go to SF in the summer, be preparted to dress warmly. It was overcast, foggy and windy for our three day stay. Mark Twain said, "The coldest winter I ever spent was a summer in SF", and it can be v. true!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
minneapolis, mn.
Dec 16, 2009

westin St.

We would never stay at this hotel again. The morning following our first nite, we discovered the bedding was very bloody all over the sheets. we were horrified as we pulled back the covers. Check bedding in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Antioch, CA
Aug 3, 2008

Yelling Front Desk Personnel

As I was standing in line to inquire about a late check out - due to running the SF Marathon the next day - I experienced a front desk employee, who actually appeared to be some kind of manager. I felt uncomfortable and intimidated to ask my accommodation request, but did anyway, and before I could say that I would be willing to pay whatever I had to for a late check out and explain that I was running the marathon next day, she was shaking her head, asking me my room number, and rudely saying she could give me until 1 o'clock without a charge but anything more there'd be a fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Pasadena, CA
Jan 2, 2010

Trip to SF

I reserved and paid for two adjacent or adjoining rooms but they didn't have any. So they gave me one room with two beds - which was fine for us.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Max's for breakfast.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ml123
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Way too pricey!

This hotel was a huge disappointment. I waited 12 minutes to check in and 18 minutes to check out. The room was the size of a Manhattan hotel. You could not run a bath without the shower running the entire time. The air conditioner came on with a loud bang so that I was awakened every half hour. There was nothing special about this Westin and the price was way to high for the value received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
new yorker14
Business
New York, New York
Apr 25, 2014

Not worth the money you pay

Experienced better for cheaper, the rooms are not so clean, front desk cant to resolve any small issue pops up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top