$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
633 reviews
Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel... See full review

  • Y Patel
  • May 13, 2014
Great Location!

We love it! teh location, the rooms, beds are like sleeping with angels! See full review

  • Miri Schie
  • May 8, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (633)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
633 out of 633
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miguel from LA
Los Angeles, California
Feb 19, 2013

Amazing, Great Stay! I would do it again!

Easy access to a lot of great places. Walking distance to public transportation and there are always taxis service outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of near by shopping

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Poor Management

If the Westin St. Francis is "renowned for their legendary service" this must mean legendarily poor service. We booked our room at the Westin St. Francis and HAD ALREADY PAID FOR IT through Orbitz. When we arrived at the hotel they told us that Orbitz cancelled our reservation and they didn't have a room for us! We had just flown into San Francisco and didn't have a flight out for 3 more days. We were desperate as the city was full and asked if they could please find us a room. They gave us a room but said we were responsible for payment to them directly at 3 times the rate we already paid through Orbitz. I didn't worry as I thought one phone call to Orbitz would straighten out the problem and the hotel would surely not charge us a second time for the room we already paid for. NO SUCH LUCK. I called Orbitz right away and talked to a supervisor who said he would look into the matter and call me back the next day. He never did. I called back two times trying to reach him and nobody would transfer me to him and he still never called back. On the last night of our stay, the Westin St. Francis automatically charged our credit card for the stay at 3 TIMES the rate we had already paid. After FIVE phone calls to Orbitz and a combined total of 2-1/2 hours of my vacation spent on the phone with them, a supervisor told me that the hotel cancelled our room but never advised Orbitz about it and now refused to honor our original reservation that was already paid for. Orbitz told us there was nothing they could do about it. Orbitz best offer was that they would reimburse us what we already paid them for the hotel and half the difference of what the hotel rate should have been and what we actually paid, so the hotel ended up costing DOUBLE what we had orginally agreed to when we booked our trip. And Orbitz has not reimbursed us anything yet, so right now, we have paid FOUR times what we agreed to. We called the manager at the hotel that Orbitz said they talked to in order to try to sort things out on that end. The front desk said he was helping a customer and would call us back. He never did return our call. On the second day of our stay, the water in all the faucets in our room was dark brown for a few hours. We couldn't even use the facilities. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The price we ended up paying was definitely not worth it. The person at the Registration Desk was incredibly rude and unhelpful. The only good service was from the housekeeping staff who were exceptional. I will never book a trip through Orbitz again. They should have held their "partner" hotel to their agreement. It was certainly not our fault about the lack of communication between the hotel and Orbitz, but the bill fell in our lap anyway and neither the hotel nor Orbiz sees the injustice in that at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
BOSTON, MA
Aug 2, 2009

OTHER THAN LOCATION, NOT SO GOOD

I WAS EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED AT THE GYM'S COSTING $12/DAY. RIDICULOUS. INTERNET CONNECTION WAS ALSO $14/DAY. UNACCEPTABLE. DO NOT RECOMMEND. GREAT LOCATION, AWEFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE. WILL NOT GO BACK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2010

Not worth it at all!

Considering the price and the fact that the Westin St. Francis is supposed to be a 4 star hotel, I was sorely disappointed. This place was probably great about 40 years ago, but if you aren't one of their "platinum members" they are going to treat you like one of San Francisco's homeless people. The room was small and had a large water stain and peeling paint on the ceiling. The staff seemed unsympathetic and unfriendly. Things that many hotels offer for free were very overpriced there. At least the location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

One block south is the Golden Dust lounge. This place is a great, charming place to get a relatively inexpensive drink, enjoy a great low-volume house band, and unwind after a day of sightseeing.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2010

Not worth it at all!

Considering the price and the fact that the Westin St. Francis is supposed to be a 4 star hotel, I was sorely disappointed. This place was probably great about 40 years ago, but if you aren't one of their "platinum members" they are going to treat you like one of San Francisco's homeless people. The room was small and had a large water stain and peeling paint on the ceiling. The staff seemed unsympathetic and unfriendly. Things that many hotels offer for free were very overpriced there. At least the location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

One block south is the Golden Dust lounge. This place is a great, charming place to get a relatively inexpensive drink, enjoy a great low-volume house band, and unwind after a day of sightseeing.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Poor Management

If the Westin St. Francis is "renowned for their legendary service" this must mean legendarily poor service. We booked our room at the Westin St. Francis and HAD ALREADY PAID FOR IT through Orbitz. When we arrived at the hotel they told us that Orbitz cancelled our reservation and they didn't have a room for us! We had just flown into San Francisco and didn't have a flight out for 3 more days. We were desperate as the city was full and asked if they could please find us a room. They gave us a room but said we were responsible for payment to them directly at 3 times the rate we already paid through Orbitz. I didn't worry as I thought one phone call to Orbitz would straighten out the problem and the hotel would surely not charge us a second time for the room we already paid for. NO SUCH LUCK. I called Orbitz right away and talked to a supervisor who said he would look into the matter and call me back the next day. He never did. I called back two times trying to reach him and nobody would transfer me to him and he still never called back. On the last night of our stay, the Westin St. Francis automatically charged our credit card for the stay at 3 TIMES the rate we had already paid. After FIVE phone calls to Orbitz and a combined total of 2-1/2 hours of my vacation spent on the phone with them, a supervisor told me that the hotel cancelled our room but never advised Orbitz about it and now refused to honor our original reservation that was already paid for. Orbitz told us there was nothing they could do about it. Orbitz best offer was that they would reimburse us what we already paid them for the hotel and half the difference of what the hotel rate should have been and what we actually paid, so the hotel ended up costing DOUBLE what we had orginally agreed to when we booked our trip. And Orbitz has not reimbursed us anything yet, so right now, we have paid FOUR times what we agreed to. We called the manager at the hotel that Orbitz said they talked to in order to try to sort things out on that end. The front desk said he was helping a customer and would call us back. He never did return our call. On the second day of our stay, the water in all the faucets in our room was dark brown for a few hours. We couldn't even use the facilities. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The price we ended up paying was definitely not worth it. The person at the Registration Desk was incredibly rude and unhelpful. The only good service was from the housekeeping staff who were exceptional. I will never book a trip through Orbitz again. They should have held their "partner" hotel to their agreement. It was certainly not our fault about the lack of communication between the hotel and Orbitz, but the bill fell in our lap anyway and neither the hotel nor Orbiz sees the injustice in that at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lbsd
san diego
Jan 16, 2012

seen much better days

I have stayed at this hotel on and off for the last thirty five years - I used to live in the area and would meet in the lobby every time I was in the city before I started staying there. This used to be a grand hotel. Everyone met in the lobby, which was beautiful. There was seating, a lively bar above and beautiful flower arrangement in the center. Now is it dead and boring. The rooms need repair, the service is slow (waited 30 minutes twice, once for changing rooms, another for coffee). The pillows were not heavenly bed pillows, the heavenly bed was not, and the staff was just ok. Won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Remember that if you take a car to the hotel it is a $50.00 * charge per day in the city.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
BOSTON, MA
Aug 2, 2009

OTHER THAN LOCATION, NOT SO GOOD

I WAS EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED AT THE GYM'S COSTING $12/DAY. RIDICULOUS. INTERNET CONNECTION WAS ALSO $14/DAY. UNACCEPTABLE. DO NOT RECOMMEND. GREAT LOCATION, AWEFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE. WILL NOT GO BACK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Antioch, CA
Aug 3, 2008

Yelling Front Desk Personnel

As I was standing in line to inquire about a late check out - due to running the SF Marathon the next day - I experienced a front desk employee, who actually appeared to be some kind of manager. I felt uncomfortable and intimidated to ask my accommodation request, but did anyway, and before I could say that I would be willing to pay whatever I had to for a late check out and explain that I was running the marathon next day, she was shaking her head, asking me my room number, and rudely saying she could give me until 1 o'clock without a charge but anything more there'd be a fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 21, 2009

Known property - bad accomodations!

Very small room, it felt like we were stack in the closet. The first room had an elevator shaft behind us and then after we complained they gave us the street view. Also with the view and sound of the major band. It did not stop playing until 10pm. It is very difficult to get a hold of someone at the front desk, they are just too busy to answer or to listen to the complains. Generally, we were told that we've got what we paid for, in the words of the front desk manager. We will not stay at that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr Dick
Huntsville, ALabama
Aug 3, 2010

Room near the elevator

Great location, beautiful lobby. The 1st room was very small, but clean. The 2nd room was in the towers and much larger, but, RIGHT NEXT TO the bank of 5 elevators. Horrible noise all nite long and when we complained, no other rooms were available. Never again !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kuleto's excellent Italian food.

Back to menu Return to top