$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kartanze
Business
New York
Jul 25, 2010

A Classic, great service

I'm a former long-time San Franciscan, transplanted to NYC, and love returning for a long drink of this world-class city. The St. Francis is always my choice when staying in a hotel there, and it always satisfies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 28, 2007

Great Location

For our first visit to San Francisco this hotel was in a perfect location we saw Jersey boys at the Curran theater 1 and a half blocks Great shopping access. Very close to china town always a taxi at the front door cable car also right in front.Very freindly hotel staff. We will definately return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

But a day muni pass and get all over the city from mourning to midnight for $11.00

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge
Nov 12, 2008

Great location for this hotel.

The Westin St. Francis is very well located on Union Square for shopping, restaurants, gallery hopping and people watching. It's a couple of blocks from public transportation and the Powell St. cable car. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly, especially the cleaning and maintenance staff, with their smiles and greetings. The room was comfortable and well-kept. The bed, while not a heavenly, was still pretty plush. The all-important bathroom, was modern, well-stocked and very clean. We didn't use the hotels fitness or spa amenities, and the restaurants seemed over-priced, especially in these times. But we enjoyed the Clock Lounge, which kicks it up for a couple of hours before dinner. One tiny complaint, which probably can't be remedied in a damp climate like San Francisco's: the hallways on the 7th floor had a musty smell. But the room did not, and there was plenty of heat to take off a November chill. In general we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

galleries,across the street.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
edmonton, *
May 23, 2008

Luxury at Great Price

Our Conceige was exceptional. Gave us tips on fabulous resturants, sites, tours, made our stay exciting and so much fun.. All the staff from the valet greeting us from our taxi, to the front desk was beyond service.. Our room in the tower was clean, designer looking iron, ironing board, the bathroom was huge two shower heads, we women loved it all. Plasma tv, chairs, desk, phones, computer jacks all available.. What a wonderful experience and we look forward to a return visit in the future. Location was supberb, trolleys outside, told us to buy the pass which saved dollars, shopping was terrific, everything was so easy and we felt safe. theatres, resturants shopping transport,, wow great .... Go and have a super time.. fabulous city...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great deals at Ross', we had macy's, tiffanys, william sonoma, shoe stores, house hold stuff oh it was fab.... enough to say we had to pay for excess baggage, and then got a deal with the person at the desk cos we were telling him about our shopping trips, Oh and Sauselito had fab shops, you need a day there...

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fmtreyna
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 22, 2009

Great hotel!

This a great hotel - the staff is superb and professional - ready to help! We forgot driving directions - the concierge had the best route mapped out with driving directions within minutes! Everyone was GREAT - from the room service to the car service (who tried their best to undo our stroller). FANTASTIC location - upgrade to the larger rooms - they are fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is just a few blocks away - for shopping, eating, and general sightseeing - very fun!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sonoma CA
May 25, 2009

Westin St. Francis

classic hotel on union sq--updated--nice bath--comfortable bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

food networks diner, dives, and drive-in's: Tommy's Joynt at Geary and Vanness; Dotty's Tip Top Diner at Jones off Geary

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 25, 2008

It was beautiful!

We were so impressed by the Westin St. Francis. We stayed during Thanksgiving and there were gorgeous Christmas trees everywhere. I loved it:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

There is a ton of shopping, restaurants, bars, and public transportation near the hotel.:)

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 3, 2007

Luxuriously comfortable

The Westin St. Francis offered one of the most comfortable rooms I have ever experienced, with luxurious double shower-massage heads, pillows, mattress and bed linens. There was a huge walk-in closet(but no dresser drawers). I enjoyed the casual lobby dining, especially at breakfast, and the entire staff was friendly and helpful. The Union Square location was not as central as I had hoped -- it was a long bus trip to the Golden Gate bridge and a very long cable car ride to Fisherman's wharf -- but it's ideal for shopping and the theatre, and a manageable walk to the Museum of Modern Art. It was very busy, with a lot of business/convention activity as well as tourists, but my room was quiet at night. It was a bit surprising to be charged $2.00 for a toll-free telephone call, but that's a quibble. It is definitely a splurge, but I'd go back if my budget could handle it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Surrounded by the city's major shopping centers, and the theatre district.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jake's bammi
Business
Mojave Desert
Jan 18, 2010

Perfect weekend in great location!

My husband and I were in San Francisco for a wedding, with the reception at this hotel. The room was amazing with the most spectacular views...we could see the Golden Gate from our room! However, the mini bar was over the top expensive....as was the parking fees..$50.oo a day...this was not noted in the info when I checked out hotels. However, we had a wonderful time and enjoyed our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take good walking shoes, you will need them...and have a great time.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 27, 2008

Nice room

The service was very good. The room was large and clean with ample closet space and a very nice view. Location was great, right in Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and restaurants all around the hotel. Public transportation quite near.

Back to menu Return to top