$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
384 reviews
Outstanding!!

Great hotel, amazing location, good staff, everything was great!! Would without any doubts... See full review

  • Federico11
  • Jul 30, 2014
Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel... See full review

  • Y Patel
  • May 13, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (384)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Islaygirl
Desert Southwest
May 28, 2009

My favorite hotel

I love the St. Francis. When i was a student in San Francisco, i would always duck into the lobby restroom on my way home, so I'm predisposed to think of it as a place of refuge. We had a great rate thanks to an air/hotel package from Orbitz, made even better by a coupon code (thanks, Orbitz!). The hotel was obviously nowhere near capacity, and we were able to check in at 11 a.m. on our day of arrival, and were upgraded to a huge corner room in the modern building. (Thanks [...] at the front desk!)An aside -- I've stayed in both the original building and the modern tower, and there are pluses and minuses to both - the 'charm' of the original building can fade when the room seems small and dark, and the newer building can be rather anonymous. Anyway, any impersonal elements in the modern building were far offset by the amazing view from the room. Large flat-screen tv (maybe 40"? Not sure), clean, a bit worn in the finishings, but the Westin Heavenly Bath and Bed were much in evidence. Mini bar (pricey, of course) and small fridge was available, perfect for a family saving some money on snacks). Room service was fast and tasty, never waited more than 15 seconds for an elevator, and there's nothing like blowing through the revolving door and having friendly faces greet you. Can't beat the location, literally everything you need is steps away. Love, love, love this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food court at San Francisco Center is perfect for families where everyone wants something different. Also, a Bristol Farms grocery is there -- pricey, but cheaper than restaurants and lots of to-go items.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff loves to travel
South Jordan, Utah
May 31, 2009

The best of S.F.

This was our first trip to San Francisco. We picked the St.Francis because of the location as it is central to most everything. The Hotel staff was super. It was a birthday trip for my wife and the staff bent over backwards to make every little thing was special. This hotel is historic and has a regal feel to it. The Union Square location is the best. The best shopping / restaurants right outside your door. Transportation is so simple. We did not take a single cab. A first for people who travel to Chicago, New York, D.C. often. The Market street hub for cable cars, trolly cars, buses, is just three blocks away. The room was in the original wing of the St. Francis and was super. The bed was great the dual head shower was invigorating. The whole positive experience of our trip to S.F. was made by our decision to stay at the Westin St. Francis. You won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go down to Market street across from the cable car turn and get a one day or three day MUNY pass. The hassle of having to pay each time you take the MUNY anywhere is eliminated and you will get you money back in just three to five trips. Well worth it.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bloomfield, *
Nov 3, 2008

Would stay again.

Good for couples. Not so good for children. Beautiful building in good location. Expensive restaurants and bar downstairs and extra for gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Dimas
Oct 6, 2009

Had a great time

Had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 30, 2008

Great hotel Great location

Perfectly situated on Union Square. Our room was large corner room with great views of San Francisco. King bed great mattress beautiful comforters. Large marble bathroom with all amenities and bathrobes. Lobby with two large sitting areas, one with a Starbucks coffee bar and two restaurants. Top floor dinner restaurant. Very important to me was the large two floor gym with free weights machines treadmills stairsteppers elipticals in abundance. Staff very professional and friendly, checkin quick, bell desk and concierge great. Understated oldtime elegance. Have stayed all over Union Square for business and pleasure for over twenty years and this was my favorite hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Almost every upscale and midscale store and shop within 3 blocks of hotel. For upscale eating choices endless for casual try Sears famous for pancakes or Davids deli for breakfast. My wife and I like Cafe Mason for reasonable great food anytime 2 blocks away. SF play district 1block away. Movies in Weastfield mall 3 blocks away.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Aug 12, 2007

A Classic Hotel

The St. Francis is a classic hotel, with a lot of history. It is located at Union Square which is the central for shopping and dining. Although the rooms were old, they were nicely maintained and refurbished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Step out the door of St. Francis, and you have all the shopping you want. Stay at the St. Francis and you don't have to drive or park for the best shopping in the world.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Jul 6, 2009

"Fantastic Romantic Getaway

San Francisco was awesome, sight seeing was great, food was delicious and we took a fantastic excursion to the wine country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 25, 2007

Great Location

The St. Francis is in a great central location for visiting the different neighborhoods and attractions of SanFran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cafe Mason is great for Breakfast.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 24, 2007

Excellent Location!

This hotel is located right at Union Square. We rode BART from the airport and the station is only 3 blocks away down Powell Street. Staff was helpful and the room was great. Area has lots of good restaurants and if you want to shop, there's a giant Macy's right across the square from it. It's on the Powell Street line for cable cars and Geary line for buses. We walked most places from this location because it's so great. Next time I visit, I'm staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Victoria's Secret in the same block as the hotel and Tiffany's (not that i can afford it) right across the square as well.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Jul 27, 2010

excellence

every thing about the hotel was excellent, i had no problem and would go back again whenever i am in San Francisco, i also commend the entire staff as well. my experience with the Westin St. Francis was one of the Best in hotel stay that had. Thanks to you guys for my great stay in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All in walking distance

Back to menu Return to top

Change search