$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
401 out of 401
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 9, 2009

Disappointing for a luxury hotel

For a luxury hotel in Union Square, I was pretty disappointed. The hotel is currently going under renovations and my room happened to be next to a suite that was being worked on. At 6am during the week, I woke up to two men talking in the hallway. I eventually got up and politely asked them to be quieter. Secondly, I was surprised to see the lack of technology upgrades- no ipod docking station. Also, there were no shower caps or qtips in the bathrooms. While the location was great, my overall experience was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Jan 10, 2010

Should Consider

Overall, we had a pleasant stay and would consider the Westin St. Francis when returning to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ
Oct 4, 2010

Sunny San Francisco

It was adequate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eureka, CA
Dec 31, 2010

Westin St. Francis disappointment

We asked for (and paid for) a deluxe room with a "city view". Our room was very nice but our room on the 17th floor (in the tower) did not have a "city view" unless you just like looking at the tops of other tall buildings like the Hyatt. Instead, from the 17th floor you get to look at the back side of the old hotel section(St. Francis)because it is the same height. We could have saved money be selecting a room with "no view" because that is what we ended up with anyway. In Summary, nice rooms but poor management. Next time, I will book a room at the Hyatt or Hilton because their rooms actually have "city views".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SendMeAnywhere
Business
New York
Jul 3, 2010

Small room; worn furnishings

The location is the best part of the hotel, but the room itself was disappointing. Maybe higher paying business travellers get nicer rooms, but they should really do something to address their smaller accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
California Dreamin' PCH-1 Traveler
Business
New York, NY
Aug 10, 2009

Driving up PCH-1 Vacation

The hotel was generally good, but it was completely a business-professional hub. I would not recommend it to anyone vacationing who is looking for quaint boutique hotel. It was too big, too busy, and not enough for the price that we paid for our one night stay. The hotel (though historical) is very big and the room finishes, although upscale, were bland and almost depressing, especially since we were in a room with a view of a brick wall (there are a lot of rooms with such views, so beware). It's in a good location if you want to do a lot of shopping but a bit far from the Fisherman's Wharf, and the diniing/lounges. Their parking is horrendously expensive -- $50 per night! However, the parking manager was very nice when he saw my New Yorker eyes fall out of face due to the price and gave me a discount at their sister garage up the street for $30 a night rate. Even in New York you don't get such ridiculously high rates. We had just come off of a stint of cozy Inns that we stayed at through our drive on PCH-1, so we were disappointed at the "commercial" aspect of the hotel, but the staff was very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zoie
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 22, 2011

business

Hotel was very busy and the fitness center was under construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norcal
Jan 11, 2011

Ok

Expensive parking rates they do not tell you about. $50.00 for every day you stay. Room was nice, but housekeeping/maintenance was talking loudly at 04:15 am waking my family. Bell service was outstanding. there ws a conference for JP Morgan during our stay so there were hundreds of people standing in the lobby and blocking access to the bell desk, restaurant, cafe and elevators. Made it very difficult use any of the hotels services and elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sohrob76
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 29, 2011

Great location, that's about it.

I spent one night here and I loved the fact that it is very near Union Square and the heart of the downtown area. The room seemed pretty clean and the bathroom was great. What bugged me about this place is that they charged me $57 for parking overnight and they had the nerve to ask for $15 for WiFi access when I paid $331 to stay there. Pretty weak if you ask me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AA local
Business
Mill Valley, CA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Decent last minute deal

good value for the location (except valet parking is $50! So best to park in union square garage overnight to save $20). Semi-modern room. Clean bathroom. Biggest issue was how hot/stuffy the room was - even with air conditioning turned on! Bellman offered to get us a bucket of ice (unprompted) which was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in union square garage to save $20

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top