$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
376 reviews
WONDERFUL!

A first class operation all around. Great location. Great service. Great hotel. Best value. Thank... See full review

  • EDWARD K.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Amazing!

Love it! Near everything and the hotel is beautiful. See full review

  • Rowi22
  • Nov 29, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Car rental desk
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Dining

The Oak Room Restaurant
Enjoy a full menu of American favorites at the Oak Room Restaurant. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, the Oak Room offers tasty à la carte delights, a sumptuous buffet, Westin Kids Club items, and healthy SuperFoodsRx™ options.
BOURBON STEAK
A modern American steakhouse situated in our celebrated landmark lobby, BOURBON STEAK offers fresh, contemporary cuisine with a focus on organic, hormone-free beef, just-caught seafood, and seasonal West Coast ingredients.
Caruso's
Caruso’s offers specialty coffee drinks, homemade pastries, wines by the glass, panini sandwiches, salads and a full bar. Located in the Tower lobby, this is a great place for casual dining, an afternoon snack or quick bite with the family.
Clock Bar
Created by Michelin chef Michael Mina, Clock Bar takes the cocktail lounge concept to heady new heights. Savor handcrafted cocktails, gourmet finger foods, sumptuous entrées, and sample vintages from our 300-label wine list.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (376)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle, wa
Oct 4, 2010

Good Location

The location is great - right in Union Square, with a lot of shopping in the area. Also it's not a bad walk down to the Ferry Building if you are so inclined. The hotel room is nice in the new towers, and just OK if you get into the older towers. I'd stay here again if I could guarantee to stay in the new towers, I was not a fan of the older rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 9, 2009

Disappointing for a luxury hotel

For a luxury hotel in Union Square, I was pretty disappointed. The hotel is currently going under renovations and my room happened to be next to a suite that was being worked on. At 6am during the week, I woke up to two men talking in the hallway. I eventually got up and politely asked them to be quieter. Secondly, I was surprised to see the lack of technology upgrades- no ipod docking station. Also, there were no shower caps or qtips in the bathrooms. While the location was great, my overall experience was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Jan 10, 2010

Should Consider

Overall, we had a pleasant stay and would consider the Westin St. Francis when returning to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ
Oct 4, 2010

Sunny San Francisco

It was adequate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eureka, CA
Dec 31, 2010

Westin St. Francis disappointment

We asked for (and paid for) a deluxe room with a "city view". Our room was very nice but our room on the 17th floor (in the tower) did not have a "city view" unless you just like looking at the tops of other tall buildings like the Hyatt. Instead, from the 17th floor you get to look at the back side of the old hotel section(St. Francis)because it is the same height. We could have saved money be selecting a room with "no view" because that is what we ended up with anyway. In Summary, nice rooms but poor management. Next time, I will book a room at the Hyatt or Hilton because their rooms actually have "city views".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SendMeAnywhere
Business
New York
Jul 3, 2010

Small room; worn furnishings

The location is the best part of the hotel, but the room itself was disappointing. Maybe higher paying business travellers get nicer rooms, but they should really do something to address their smaller accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
California Dreamin' PCH-1 Traveler
Business
New York, NY
Aug 10, 2009

Driving up PCH-1 Vacation

The hotel was generally good, but it was completely a business-professional hub. I would not recommend it to anyone vacationing who is looking for quaint boutique hotel. It was too big, too busy, and not enough for the price that we paid for our one night stay. The hotel (though historical) is very big and the room finishes, although upscale, were bland and almost depressing, especially since we were in a room with a view of a brick wall (there are a lot of rooms with such views, so beware). It's in a good location if you want to do a lot of shopping but a bit far from the Fisherman's Wharf, and the diniing/lounges. Their parking is horrendously expensive -- $50 per night! However, the parking manager was very nice when he saw my New Yorker eyes fall out of face due to the price and gave me a discount at their sister garage up the street for $30 a night rate. Even in New York you don't get such ridiculously high rates. We had just come off of a stint of cozy Inns that we stayed at through our drive on PCH-1, so we were disappointed at the "commercial" aspect of the hotel, but the staff was very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zoie
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 22, 2011

business

Hotel was very busy and the fitness center was under construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norcal
Jan 11, 2011

Ok

Expensive parking rates they do not tell you about. $50.00 for every day you stay. Room was nice, but housekeeping/maintenance was talking loudly at 04:15 am waking my family. Bell service was outstanding. there ws a conference for JP Morgan during our stay so there were hundreds of people standing in the lobby and blocking access to the bell desk, restaurant, cafe and elevators. Made it very difficult use any of the hotels services and elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sohrob76
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 29, 2011

Great location, that's about it.

I spent one night here and I loved the fact that it is very near Union Square and the heart of the downtown area. The room seemed pretty clean and the bathroom was great. What bugged me about this place is that they charged me $57 for parking overnight and they had the nerve to ask for $15 for WiFi access when I paid $331 to stay there. Pretty weak if you ask me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top