$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
633 reviews
Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel... See full review

  • Y Patel
  • May 13, 2014
Great Location!

We love it! teh location, the rooms, beds are like sleeping with angels! See full review

  • Miri Schie
  • May 8, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (633)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
633 out of 633
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma City, OK
Jun 19, 2007

Friendly and helpful staff

This was our first visit to the Westin St. Francis and it was great. The check-in clerk upgraded us to a room with a king-size bed which was fantastic! All the staff were eager to answer questions and make arrangements. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's, Sak's, Nordstom's, Niketown are just a few of the places to shop within easy walking distance.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BandK
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Received room upgrade

We were there celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. Our kids surprised us by arranging for a fruit and cheese plate on our arrival and the hotel went a step further and upgraded our room at no additional charge. Staff are all very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moussa
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 5, 2007

Great Location

At Check-In, we were offered an upgrade for an additional amount and I'm so glad we did because the room was perfect. It overlooked Union Square. The location of the hotel couldn't have been any better. The room was large, and the the bed heavenly. I mean it was so comfortable. We were very pleased and will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a shopper's dream. Every store you can imagine is within walking distance.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DaVinci74
Wilmington, Delaware
Oct 12, 2010

Excellent upscale hotel! Great location!

The Westin is located in a great location convenient to downtown San Francisco. The hotel is located facing Union Square and there are many restaurants in this historic area. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CaitlinCarbon
Ann Arbor, MI
Dec 21, 2010

San Fran

This hotel is in a great location for transportation options and walking to restaurants, attractions and shopping. The staff is professional and accommodating. The overall interior is clean and tastefully adorned. There is also adequate security in place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bourbon Steakhouse inside the hotel is incredible. Make your reservations when you book your room if possible, they fill up.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Islaygirl
Desert Southwest
May 28, 2009

My favorite hotel

I love the St. Francis. When i was a student in San Francisco, i would always duck into the lobby restroom on my way home, so I'm predisposed to think of it as a place of refuge. We had a great rate thanks to an air/hotel package from Orbitz, made even better by a coupon code (thanks, Orbitz!). The hotel was obviously nowhere near capacity, and we were able to check in at 11 a.m. on our day of arrival, and were upgraded to a huge corner room in the modern building. (Thanks [...] at the front desk!)An aside -- I've stayed in both the original building and the modern tower, and there are pluses and minuses to both - the 'charm' of the original building can fade when the room seems small and dark, and the newer building can be rather anonymous. Anyway, any impersonal elements in the modern building were far offset by the amazing view from the room. Large flat-screen tv (maybe 40"? Not sure), clean, a bit worn in the finishings, but the Westin Heavenly Bath and Bed were much in evidence. Mini bar (pricey, of course) and small fridge was available, perfect for a family saving some money on snacks). Room service was fast and tasty, never waited more than 15 seconds for an elevator, and there's nothing like blowing through the revolving door and having friendly faces greet you. Can't beat the location, literally everything you need is steps away. Love, love, love this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food court at San Francisco Center is perfect for families where everyone wants something different. Also, a Bristol Farms grocery is there -- pricey, but cheaper than restaurants and lots of to-go items.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff loves to travel
South Jordan, Utah
May 31, 2009

The best of S.F.

This was our first trip to San Francisco. We picked the St.Francis because of the location as it is central to most everything. The Hotel staff was super. It was a birthday trip for my wife and the staff bent over backwards to make every little thing was special. This hotel is historic and has a regal feel to it. The Union Square location is the best. The best shopping / restaurants right outside your door. Transportation is so simple. We did not take a single cab. A first for people who travel to Chicago, New York, D.C. often. The Market street hub for cable cars, trolly cars, buses, is just three blocks away. The room was in the original wing of the St. Francis and was super. The bed was great the dual head shower was invigorating. The whole positive experience of our trip to S.F. was made by our decision to stay at the Westin St. Francis. You won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go down to Market street across from the cable car turn and get a one day or three day MUNY pass. The hassle of having to pay each time you take the MUNY anywhere is eliminated and you will get you money back in just three to five trips. Well worth it.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Jul 6, 2009

"Fantastic Romantic Getaway

San Francisco was awesome, sight seeing was great, food was delicious and we took a fantastic excursion to the wine country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DINK's
Orange County, CA
Jun 23, 2009

Stunning

This was the "perfect" location overlooking union square. If lucky enough to have a top floor your able to view the city in a glass elevator that is on the outside of the hotel. Between the view, specatular staff and a gorgeous hotel, it was also conveniently located near the Bart transportation and has the trolly right out the front door. Amazing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Because this is located in the heart of the "fashion" district, you're able to walk to any store your little heart desires. Shopping ranges from Tiffany's and Saks to Sketchers so there's something for everyone.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge
Nov 12, 2008

Great location for this hotel.

The Westin St. Francis is very well located on Union Square for shopping, restaurants, gallery hopping and people watching. It's a couple of blocks from public transportation and the Powell St. cable car. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly, especially the cleaning and maintenance staff, with their smiles and greetings. The room was comfortable and well-kept. The bed, while not a heavenly, was still pretty plush. The all-important bathroom, was modern, well-stocked and very clean. We didn't use the hotels fitness or spa amenities, and the restaurants seemed over-priced, especially in these times. But we enjoyed the Clock Lounge, which kicks it up for a couple of hours before dinner. One tiny complaint, which probably can't be remedied in a damp climate like San Francisco's: the hallways on the 7th floor had a musty smell. But the room did not, and there was plenty of heat to take off a November chill. In general we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

galleries,across the street.

Back to menu Return to top