$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
379 out of 379
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
April rose
Business
San Diego
Jun 7, 2014

Elegant and classy hotel

Beautiful room and friendly staf. Let us check in early and late for no charge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yearly Charleston Visitor
Business
Knoxville, TN
May 29, 2014

Great Union Square location, lacking some "basic" amenities

Absolutely great location to hop on a cable car, Muni metro, F-line or bus to get anywhere within a block or two. Loved the space, the room was great. Our main disappointments were the lack of a free breakfast, lack of free Wifi, and the fact that the AC in the room only apparently worked while you were in the unit. Every time we came back to the room it would be hotter and immediately kick in and run for an hour. Overall, loved our stay in the preferred suite on the 22nd floor with an amazing view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DLaurel
Business
Chicago
May 28, 2014

Almost Perfect!

My husband and I really enjoyed our 4-night stay over Memorial Day. The hotel and guest room were wonderful. My only letdown was not having bottled water in the room; most hotels offer this amenity and I always use it. The location was perfect - right across from Union Square with wonderful shopping nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Y Patel
Business
Princeton, NJ
May 13, 2014

Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel itself is breathtaking- an opulent lobby, good spa services, the Clock bar and lobby bar and the restaurants are great. We stayed in the tower and the elevator system ensures safety which was great. Staff was incredibly accommodating and the rooms were perfection. The location cannot be beat. 3 blocks from the Powell Bart station and literally in the center of union square. The hotel is even on many of the tours! Definitely a highly recommended stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burger Bar on the 6th floor of Macys has some of the best burgers Ive ever tasted! And Amber Indian restaurant has a great ambience and even better food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miri Schie
Business
Mexico City
May 8, 2014

Great Location!

We love it! teh location, the rooms, beds are like sleeping with angels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonpy
Business
SF, California
May 7, 2014

Great location

We have stayed at this hotel several times. The best about this hotel is the LOCATION... besides it is also a SF landmark. The main entrance lobby is beautiful. It has the charm of an old classic European style building... but also note that that comes with the rooms being small. One thing I dislike is that the windows in the room do not open -at least that is the case in the rooms I have stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Rican
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 7, 2014

Excellent option in the city!

The stay at the Westin was amazing! Unbeatable location with a blend of old and new (we stayed in the new tower). The room was big and the bed unbelievably confy! It was very convenient to come in and out of the hotel, the staff we interacted with was very helpful and friendly. Plenty of shopping options within walking distance as well as good food. Consider La Taza for breakfast and Scala's for dinner...good stuff! My only minor dislikes (not affecting the overall score) are: (1) the gym is a little tight and gets crowded in the morning; (2) the little cafe in the lobby ran out of croissants twice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Taza for breakfast and Scala's for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
new yorker14
Business
New York, New York
Apr 25, 2014

Not worth the money you pay

Experienced better for cheaper, the rooms are not so clean, front desk cant to resolve any small issue pops up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arlene A
Business
Singapore
Apr 24, 2014

Great location. Great service.

The best hotel to experience the very best of San Francisco. It is at the heart of shopping and sight-seeing. The service is superb. Hassle-free check-in and check-out. Concierge is very knowledgeable on places to see and how to get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It is right at the heart of Union Square. No other Hotel is nearer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
April rose
Business
San Diego
Apr 21, 2014

Very nice hotel

This hotel is in a very good location next to park and shopping. Upon arrival before check in they let me check into room since it was available. The room was on the 10th floor with a nice view. Gym and steam room were great and relaxing. There were many restaurants that seemed fancy and fun to go to right in hotel. Other side of hotel had elevators to ride and see more beautiful views of sf. Staff was helping with parking and bags. Parking was 60 bucks for the 24 hours and they take a larger hold than normal but should be off my debit card in a few days. I booked through this site but went on website after and found room price for 30 dollars cheaper. Overall very happy with Westin and would stay again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top