$234 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Black Rob
Business
Louisville, KY
Mar 8, 2014

Family vacation

The staff was very courteous and professional. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the Trolly round trip. It's worth it. Stunning views.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anica M
Business
Vegas
Apr 3, 2014

Perfect location!!

Updated room was great! Stayed on 19th floor and still had a great city view! Some rooms have views of Union Square... The location of the hotel was perfectly nestled in walking distance to several high end shopping stores like Neiman Marcus, BCBG, Hermes, Chanel and Macys! There are also several restaurants right there, so it is in the heart of the city. The staff was nice and accommodating. Updated rooms have pillow top mattresses and rainfall showers, with marble bathroom tubs. Will definitely stay here the next time I am in San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Herve Leger is literally next door to hotel entrance!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sega707
Business
Santa Rosa ca
Apr 3, 2014

Night out

Great location. Room a bit small but has everything you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonpy
Business
SF, California
May 7, 2014

Great location

We have stayed at this hotel several times. The best about this hotel is the LOCATION... besides it is also a SF landmark. The main entrance lobby is beautiful. It has the charm of an old classic European style building... but also note that that comes with the rooms being small. One thing I dislike is that the windows in the room do not open -at least that is the case in the rooms I have stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 21, 2007

BEAUTIFUL HISTORY

I STAYED IN THE ODL PART OF THE HOTEL, THE ROOM IS BIG AND COMFORTABLE, BUT OLD. I WANTED TO STAY THER FOR THE NEIGHBORHOOD AND BECAUSE OF THE TRADITION OF THIS HOTEL. THE ONLY THING I DIDN?T LIKE IS THAT WE RENTED A CAR AND THE PARKING IN THE HOTEL WAS ALLMOST $50.OO DLLS PER DAY. WE COULDN?T DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nins
Business
Linden, NJ
Jul 17, 2009

The Westin St. Francis-7/13-7/16_NBaynos

The Westin St. Francis's staff were extremely friendly, helpful, respectful, and hospitable. In addition, the hotel was centrally located in Downtown San Francisco, and this made reaching tourist sites relatively easy. My room was spacious and clean. I would recommend this particular hotel to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss H
Business
Los Angelels, CA
Jul 20, 2009

Location, location, location

We had a great experience. The staff was extremely pleasant, courteous, and helpful. We did a lot of sightseeing. You couldn't ask for a better location that was close to everything. This ranks high on my list of trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can find all sorts of moderately priced restaurants within a short walking distance from the hotel.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cristobal414
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 26, 2009

Relaxing

It was a mini vacation to get away from reality. It was nice to be in the city. The hotel was in a great location, near everything and everywhere I needed to go. The hotel disappointed me in its cleanliness and size. The walls had noticeable stains. Our morning was interrupted by our neighbors' loud conversations. The bathroom needed more toiletry such as lotion. Overall I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fond du Lac, WI
Aug 15, 2009

Great hotel for San Francisco vacation!

We had a great time in San Francisco. The hotel location was great for getting around-close to public transportation and great shopping. The hotel staff was very nice. We never had to take a cab. The bus system is amazing and BART is just 3 blocks away. My only complaint was having to pay for extras like internet use, the fitness center, and even the in-room coffee (second cup).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like to shop designer styles this is the place to be. Lots of individual stores and a mall is 3 blocks away. Don't walk alone at night...it's a bit scary.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJK
Business
Scottsdale AZ.
Feb 15, 2010

Westin St. Francis

The hotel was very nice and in a great location. Room was small which is typical for an old hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was very professional and helpful at all times. I would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top