$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Y Patel
Couples
Princeton, NJ
May 13, 2014

Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel itself is breathtaking- an opulent lobby, good spa services, the Clock bar and lobby bar and the restaurants are great. We stayed in the tower and the elevator system ensures safety which was great. Staff was incredibly accommodating and the rooms were perfection. The location cannot be beat. 3 blocks from the Powell Bart station and literally in the center of union square. The hotel is even on many of the tours! Definitely a highly recommended stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burger Bar on the 6th floor of Macys has some of the best burgers Ive ever tasted! And Amber Indian restaurant has a great ambience and even better food!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melons
Family
Turlock California
Jun 26, 2012

Great location

Check in was easy and the rooms were clean and quite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chuck dog
Couples
lexington nc
Jun 22, 2012

primo hotel and location in san francisco

very convienient location for catching cable cars and trolleys. surrounded by excellant restaraunts and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

dont miss lefty odoul's pub right across the street

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tired So Cal Traveler
Couples
San Dimas, CA
Jun 11, 2012

You May Have To Insist on Waht You Paid For

We were greeted at the reception desk and immediately given keys to a fifth floor room. We had paid to upgrade to floors 16 to 21, but all of those rooms were full. the clerk offered us breakfast instead (we already had reservations elsewhere) or to waive our parking fee (we didn't have a car). It was after midnight and both my husband & I were very tired. Th desk clerk was not authorized to give us a comparable or better room, so we waited many minutes for the manager to return from parts clearly some distance away. After about five more minutes, the manager put us in a lovely room. We're not sure why the room we had paid for was not availalbe and further bewildered that the desk clerk was not authorized to make the accomodation that we ultimately received. We would have appreciated better, prompter service at the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JuneintheMoon
Family
Charlottesville, Va
Jun 10, 2012

Simply the Best...

Wonderful historic hotel refurshed in keeping with its previous splendor. Fantastic staff; we felt genuinely welcomed. If you can get a good price, stay here! Even if you stay in at night, the digs are sumptuous... If ever again I'm west, I'd want to stay at this at this great, great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Jean Paul Gaultier show at the De Young museum is an absolute mindblower and has just been extened! Just do it if you are at all near SF. A must see... with a twist! Urban Curry, near City Lights Bookstore, has great cheap food... and lots of it!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
desperate dan
Couples
dublin
Jun 5, 2012

First time visit to San Francisco

First time to visit San Francisco stayed in Westin St Francis, a beautifull hotel in a perfect location in a beautifull city, excellent staff very helpfull, lovely big room, very clean big bathroom. We did nt eat in hotel mainly because the choice of quality eating places in the vicinity of hotel was just too good to pass up. Very nice lobby bar. Over all a lovely hotel and we will be back and stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are using the street cable cars, dont wait for them at their terminus walk a few blocks and pick them up en route because its about a 50 minute wait at the terminus most of the day, every second one has to leave room to pick passengers up on the street,

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TessKeely
Friends
Santa Rosa, CA
May 29, 2012

Classic landmark piece of history

Love this hotel and it's location, and the prices are reasonable. They gave us a free upgrade to a family size, very large room, and they gave us a $50 bar credit because we had to wait an hour for the room. Only drawback is a $200 speaker was stolen from my bedside when I went out to breakfast, obviously by an employee. Definitely use the in-room safes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Scala's Bistro, right down the street. Best meal I've ever had!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fivolks
Couples
San Marino, CA, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Great Luxury Hotel!

The Westin St Francis is a great hotel overlooking Union Square! We arrived at 10 am for a one night stay and were immediately upgraded and given a West city view room on the 14th floor in the tower. The total cost including taxes of just under $200 seemed very fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just the two of us
Couples
Victoria, BC, Canada
Feb 13, 2012

Husband's conference...wife's getaway!

Great location. Friendly staff. Room had everything we needed. Typical period hotel with necessary amenity upgrades. Hotel was booked full but we rarely saw/ heard any other guests. Great workout area. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Print off the shopping map you can find online. You can walk/ shop everything within a short distance of this hotel or grab a tour or a street car!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Agrinberg
Family
Mexico City Mexico
Feb 7, 2012

AMAZING LOCATION

very good service and great location the best in all SF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smurray
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Nice, but wouldn't be in a rush back

Stayed in room 1678, which is a corner suite so you have views in two directions. The room was decent but for the price ($350/night), the bathroom could use some updating. The shower head had poor water pressure. Freinds had the adjoining suite and their bathroom appeared to be recently re-modeled. HBO and Showtime are included but many channels would lose the signal making those channels unviewable. Internet access is not included in room price. The hotel was adequate for my purposes but I wouldn't be in a rush back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like seafood, try Ferallon located directly across the street from the hotel. Pricey but very good.

Back to menu Return to top