$211 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DINK's
Business
Orange County, CA
Jun 23, 2009

Stunning

This was the "perfect" location overlooking union square. If lucky enough to have a top floor your able to view the city in a glass elevator that is on the outside of the hotel. Between the view, specatular staff and a gorgeous hotel, it was also conveniently located near the Bart transportation and has the trolly right out the front door. Amazing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Because this is located in the heart of the "fashion" district, you're able to walk to any store your little heart desires. Shopping ranges from Tiffany's and Saks to Sketchers so there's something for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Aug 17, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
usajane
Business
Pasadena, CA
Feb 13, 2011

San Francisco Weekend

nice hotel in THE BEST location. It's close to everything: shops, restaurants, San Francisco MOMA. We would definitely stay here again. The view was fantastic from our LARGE room on the 16th floor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many great Chinese restaurants and we had one of the best meals that we had in a long time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NH
Nov 24, 2010

A wonderful stay!

The Westin St Francis is absolutely beautiful, and an excellent choice for the price. It's a tiny bit more than others in the area, but well worth it. I picked a room on a higher floor (I had read reviews that the music from the jazz club is loud at night on lower floors, not a problem for me though - I did it for the view), and was very impressed. The bathroom was very nicely done and the shower/bath was huge with an extra deep tub for soaking in after climbing hills all day. I did not have the chance to eat at either of the restaurants on the property, but they looked good. The only complaint I had was that the ice buckets provided by the hotel are ridiculously tiny. Definitely not big enough to chill a decent bottle of champagne. The location was easy to find and not on *so* sharp a hill as others. It is within walking distance of Chinatown, and close to many great restaurants and a lot of shopping. There is a cable car half a block away from the hotel that goes straight through Chinatown to Ghiradelli square. I highly recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The cable car stops within sight of the hotel - buy a day or a 3 day pass. Otherwise it's expensive transportation at $5 a ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hock Family
Business
Calabasas, CA
Dec 21, 2009

Enjoyed Our Stay

Overall, our stay was great. The only problem we encountered was the lack of taxis available on a Friday night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Plan on eating anywhere else but at the hotel. Too expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 12, 2008

Very elegant hotel

The Westin was a very elegant and historic hotel. The room was clean and had a wonderful view of Union Square. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great restaurants and shopping right outside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
San Francisco expat
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 8, 2009

Remarkable romantic retreat

A completely pleasant getaway - beautiful room with fantastic bed, wonderful shower, very nice amenities. The only real nits were a bit of a line to check in, and only one robe in the closet. The location right on Union Square can't be beat. Note that rooms can be different sizes, so if they give you a choice on check-in, look at the floor plan carefully.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The Clock Bar in the lobby serves truly excellent cocktails.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kartanze
Business
New York
Jul 25, 2010

A Classic, great service

I'm a former long-time San Franciscan, transplanted to NYC, and love returning for a long drink of this world-class city. The St. Francis is always my choice when staying in a hotel there, and it always satisfies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 28, 2007

Great Location

For our first visit to San Francisco this hotel was in a perfect location we saw Jersey boys at the Curran theater 1 and a half blocks Great shopping access. Very close to china town always a taxi at the front door cable car also right in front.Very freindly hotel staff. We will definately return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

But a day muni pass and get all over the city from mourning to midnight for $11.00

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge
Nov 12, 2008

Great location for this hotel.

The Westin St. Francis is very well located on Union Square for shopping, restaurants, gallery hopping and people watching. It's a couple of blocks from public transportation and the Powell St. cable car. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly, especially the cleaning and maintenance staff, with their smiles and greetings. The room was comfortable and well-kept. The bed, while not a heavenly, was still pretty plush. The all-important bathroom, was modern, well-stocked and very clean. We didn't use the hotels fitness or spa amenities, and the restaurants seemed over-priced, especially in these times. But we enjoyed the Clock Lounge, which kicks it up for a couple of hours before dinner. One tiny complaint, which probably can't be remedied in a damp climate like San Francisco's: the hallways on the 7th floor had a musty smell. But the room did not, and there was plenty of heat to take off a November chill. In general we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

galleries,across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top