$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
633 reviews
Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel... See full review

  • Y Patel
  • May 13, 2014
Great Location!

We love it! teh location, the rooms, beds are like sleeping with angels! See full review

  • Miri Schie
  • May 8, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (633)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
633 out of 633
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Whisperer
San Francisco Bay Area
Jul 2, 2012

Always a favorite!

A trip to SF always starts with a reservation being made at the beautiful Westin St Francis, Union Square. Smack dab in the middle of the action, this hotel is exactly where I want to be... located within a stone's throw of amazing shopping, and with Michael Mina's Bourbon Steak downstairs, life is good indeed. The staff is stellar, the hotel top notch and the experience consistently memorable. Definitely worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melons
Turlock California
Jun 26, 2012

Great location

Check in was easy and the rooms were clean and quite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chuck dog
lexington nc
Jun 22, 2012

primo hotel and location in san francisco

very convienient location for catching cable cars and trolleys. surrounded by excellant restaraunts and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

dont miss lefty odoul's pub right across the street

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tired So Cal Traveler
San Dimas, CA
Jun 11, 2012

You May Have To Insist on Waht You Paid For

We were greeted at the reception desk and immediately given keys to a fifth floor room. We had paid to upgrade to floors 16 to 21, but all of those rooms were full. the clerk offered us breakfast instead (we already had reservations elsewhere) or to waive our parking fee (we didn't have a car). It was after midnight and both my husband & I were very tired. Th desk clerk was not authorized to give us a comparable or better room, so we waited many minutes for the manager to return from parts clearly some distance away. After about five more minutes, the manager put us in a lovely room. We're not sure why the room we had paid for was not availalbe and further bewildered that the desk clerk was not authorized to make the accomodation that we ultimately received. We would have appreciated better, prompter service at the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JuneintheMoon
Charlottesville, Va
Jun 10, 2012

Simply the Best...

Wonderful historic hotel refurshed in keeping with its previous splendor. Fantastic staff; we felt genuinely welcomed. If you can get a good price, stay here! Even if you stay in at night, the digs are sumptuous... If ever again I'm west, I'd want to stay at this at this great, great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Jean Paul Gaultier show at the De Young museum is an absolute mindblower and has just been extened! Just do it if you are at all near SF. A must see... with a twist! Urban Curry, near City Lights Bookstore, has great cheap food... and lots of it!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
desperate dan
dublin
Jun 5, 2012

First time visit to San Francisco

First time to visit San Francisco stayed in Westin St Francis, a beautifull hotel in a perfect location in a beautifull city, excellent staff very helpfull, lovely big room, very clean big bathroom. We did nt eat in hotel mainly because the choice of quality eating places in the vicinity of hotel was just too good to pass up. Very nice lobby bar. Over all a lovely hotel and we will be back and stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are using the street cable cars, dont wait for them at their terminus walk a few blocks and pick them up en route because its about a 50 minute wait at the terminus most of the day, every second one has to leave room to pick passengers up on the street,

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TessKeely
Santa Rosa, CA
May 29, 2012

Classic landmark piece of history

Love this hotel and it's location, and the prices are reasonable. They gave us a free upgrade to a family size, very large room, and they gave us a $50 bar credit because we had to wait an hour for the room. Only drawback is a $200 speaker was stolen from my bedside when I went out to breakfast, obviously by an employee. Definitely use the in-room safes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Scala's Bistro, right down the street. Best meal I've ever had!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SFlove
los angeles
May 7, 2012

Great SF Visit!

This hotel was in the middle of tons of shopping and public transportation. The service was great and my room was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fivolks
San Marino, CA, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Great Luxury Hotel!

The Westin St Francis is a great hotel overlooking Union Square! We arrived at 10 am for a one night stay and were immediately upgraded and given a West city view room on the 14th floor in the tower. The total cost including taxes of just under $200 seemed very fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TFM1
Business
Charleston, SC, USA
Feb 24, 2012

Great. lcoation for downtown business

Easy access to Moscone Conference Center. Pulbic transportation at the front dorr.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a wonderful restaurant, Annabells, within a short walk of the hotel,

Back to menu Return to top