$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
372 reviews
Perfect Location!!

Great Stay in the heart of San Francisco. Hotel staff were friendly and rooms were very modern in... See full review

  • Christopher Travel Extrod
  • Sep 10, 2014
Outstanding!!

Great hotel, amazing location, good staff, everything was great!! Would without any doubts... See full review

  • Federico11
  • Jul 30, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (372)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
372 out of 372
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
G G
Business
Bay Area, Ca
Feb 13, 2011

Not worth it...

I was expecting a lot from the Westin St. Francis in SF, and I'm afraid they really didn't come close meeting those expectations. We had a room on the 21st floor and were in town for Valentine's day weekend. I'll start with the good things: the staff is very friendly, the hotel is very central and close to shopping/restaurants/theaters/etc. The view from the room was great as well. However, the amenities were not up to par. First of all, you have to pay $20 for REALLY SLOW wireless internet, and there is no wired internet in the room to connect to. The cable selection and quality of analog channels was really pathetic for such a nice hotel, most of the channels were blurry. There is ONLY valet parking at $50/night. We had a room with a 'heavenly' bed and bath (which costs an extra $30/night). The bed was okay, but I've seen better bathrooms in $80/night Holiday Express Inn. There was no vent in the bathroom so good luck putting makeup on after your shower. The mini-fridge is stocked with the usual expensive food/drink but if you move it aside to, say, store your own water bottle they charge you within 10 seconds for the item you moved. Also, the walls are paper thin. We could not only hear every sound from the neighboring room, we were also woken up by housekeeping's vacuum in the room next door early in the morning. It wasn't as classy as advertised, and we won't be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Il
Nov 16, 2009

Nice but...

The hotel was nice for the most part. The weekend that I stayed there was a convention of young college kids, so they were very loud and over crowded. The hotel and staff was very nice and accomidating, except the conceiere was very rude and unhelpful, the lobby was under construction and the rooms were tiny. The location in also in the center of a tourist trap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bummed in San Francisco
Business
Vacaville
May 9, 2011

Okay..not great

Booked this room for my brother and I for a send-off before he heads back east. Friendly service, the room was unimpressive. I've stayed at the Westin in Denver and Calgary and was looking forward to this stay. I have to admit I was a little disappointed. The room was slightly better appointed than a best western/comfort inn, and probably worst than some of the nicer ones. Hopefully this was an aberration. Again, the service was very professional/accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Garland
May 25, 2008

mini vacation

This hotel is located on Union Square. We were given the old section and our bathroom was very cramped and inconvenient. The rooms did not have a place for the coffee maker which was placed in the closet on top of the safe when we checked in. Our only option was to place it on a luggage rack or the desk as the bathroom was too small. My other experiences with Westin locations have been positive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is close by. However the surroundng neighborhood is trashy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barb Matheson
Business
Phoenix
Apr 15, 2010

good and bad -

it was our fisrt time to San Franscico and we had no idea where we going and the hotel staff spoke to us in a hurried manner and almost as if they were too busy to answer our questions - for as much money as we paid a night - the night time door man acted as if he couldn't be bothered with us when we asked for directions and the concerige wasn't clear when he told us how to get places so we ended up having to ask again- very fustrating - had to call for a room robe - had to ask for coffee stirers - it was as if they hoped we wouldn't ask and just go with it - over all - it wasn't the hotel experience i had hoped and paid for. there was no pampering going on at this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

get the muni pass in San Fran - but no-one at the hotel told me about it -

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF Frequent Traveler
Business
Chicago IL
Aug 22, 2009

Great location, small room, okay service

This is a great location and most of people I interacted with were quite nice. However, my experience was not the best. When I arrived, the room was incredibly small, but it had a small wing chair & coffee maker. There was garbage in both trash cans, the soap dish was dirty with used soap and toilet paper roll was not folded (ie used). I was concerned whether the sheets had been changed so I called. They first stated that the previous visitor must have returned to the room after they had cleaned the room. But when I told them I my concern was whether the sheets had been changed they stated they had other rooms if I wanted a new room and to come down. At the reception desk there was no apology, the person was quite curt and I didn't think it was possible, but they actually gave me a smaller room. It was so small that the coffee maker was in the closet and no wing chair. I was incredibly insulted! I went to dinner and tried to cool off but after a few hours I was still really angry and asked to speak to the reception Manager. He was very nice, but, He did tell me the room was actually within the same class as the 1st room. I went away even more angry. About 20 minutes later the Manager had written a very nice card and sent up some wine, water, with a fruit & Cheese plate. It is a beautiful hotel and a great location for restaurants, shopping and park. Parking costs about $56 with taxes per night and internet connection starts at 14.95 per 24 hours, but is 19.95 for the faster connection. My understanding is there is also a charge for the workout room as well. However, the literature did state it would deliver workout equipment to your room - not sure how much that would cost. Lastly, you will not get any Starwood points for any expense items if you book your room on Orbits. This is a very nice hotel, quite beautiful, but there are a lot of hotels in the area and I like hotels that offer some services that don't cost extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
offal
Business
Chicago
Aug 12, 2009

Nice Lobby -- Not So Nice Room

The lobby was quite lovely, but the room was small, kind of dingy, loud, and claustrophobic. Also, the hotel nickels and dimes you for everything -- internet, computer use, printing, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Union Square is a mass of people and tourist traps -- it is worth walking, in just about any direction, a few blocks to find a more SF-esque experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 6, 2009

Well ubicated but...

The hotel is in the center of San Francisco [close to almost everything], the staff is professional and the rooms are clean. BUT the building is really old [really noisy rooms] and the regulars rooms are really, really too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Agua is a wonderful restaurant, a little expensive but really nice!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 14, 2009

Sign of the times

I have stayed and enjoyed Westins from Melbourne, Australia to San Francisco; Victoria, Canada to Palm Springs. This was the first time I felt "slippage" in the chain. Is it a sign of the times or unique to the Westin St. Francis? A lovely hotel but light on in-room amenities - the little things I've become accustomed to. No paper and pen, no q-tips, cotton balls or shower cap to name a few. Over a 4 night stay, housekeeping replinished coffee and coffee supplies twice and only left the two of us with one bath towel. All-in-all it just wasn't the Westin experience I expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy All the galleries on Geary Street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Djkirtski
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Fine hotel

Great hotel location, but it was expensive. I was upset that they would not provide free wireless even though we had already upgraded rooms. When I called the front desk the staff was not willing to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top