The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
633 reviews
Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel... See full review

  • Y Patel
  • May 13, 2014
Great Location!

We love it! teh location, the rooms, beds are like sleeping with angels! See full review

  • Miri Schie
  • May 8, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (633)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
633 out of 633
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 9, 2009

Disappointing for a luxury hotel

For a luxury hotel in Union Square, I was pretty disappointed. The hotel is currently going under renovations and my room happened to be next to a suite that was being worked on. At 6am during the week, I woke up to two men talking in the hallway. I eventually got up and politely asked them to be quieter. Secondly, I was surprised to see the lack of technology upgrades- no ipod docking station. Also, there were no shower caps or qtips in the bathrooms. While the location was great, my overall experience was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zoie
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 22, 2011

business

Hotel was very busy and the fitness center was under construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New jersey
Mar 23, 2010

suitable hotel for business

charge for internet and exercise room was a minus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SendMeAnywhere
New York
Jul 3, 2010

Small room; worn furnishings

The location is the best part of the hotel, but the room itself was disappointing. Maybe higher paying business travellers get nicer rooms, but they should really do something to address their smaller accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, Il
Nov 16, 2009

Nice but...

The hotel was nice for the most part. The weekend that I stayed there was a convention of young college kids, so they were very loud and over crowded. The hotel and staff was very nice and accomidating, except the conceiere was very rude and unhelpful, the lobby was under construction and the rooms were tiny. The location in also in the center of a tourist trap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF Frequent Traveler
Chicago IL
Aug 22, 2009

Great location, small room, okay service

This is a great location and most of people I interacted with were quite nice. However, my experience was not the best. When I arrived, the room was incredibly small, but it had a small wing chair & coffee maker. There was garbage in both trash cans, the soap dish was dirty with used soap and toilet paper roll was not folded (ie used). I was concerned whether the sheets had been changed so I called. They first stated that the previous visitor must have returned to the room after they had cleaned the room. But when I told them I my concern was whether the sheets had been changed they stated they had other rooms if I wanted a new room and to come down. At the reception desk there was no apology, the person was quite curt and I didn't think it was possible, but they actually gave me a smaller room. It was so small that the coffee maker was in the closet and no wing chair. I was incredibly insulted! I went to dinner and tried to cool off but after a few hours I was still really angry and asked to speak to the reception Manager. He was very nice, but, He did tell me the room was actually within the same class as the 1st room. I went away even more angry. About 20 minutes later the Manager had written a very nice card and sent up some wine, water, with a fruit & Cheese plate. It is a beautiful hotel and a great location for restaurants, shopping and park. Parking costs about $56 with taxes per night and internet connection starts at 14.95 per 24 hours, but is 19.95 for the faster connection. My understanding is there is also a charge for the workout room as well. However, the literature did state it would deliver workout equipment to your room - not sure how much that would cost. Lastly, you will not get any Starwood points for any expense items if you book your room on Orbits. This is a very nice hotel, quite beautiful, but there are a lot of hotels in the area and I like hotels that offer some services that don't cost extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bummed in San Francisco
Vacaville
May 9, 2011

Okay..not great

Booked this room for my brother and I for a send-off before he heads back east. Friendly service, the room was unimpressive. I've stayed at the Westin in Denver and Calgary and was looking forward to this stay. I have to admit I was a little disappointed. The room was slightly better appointed than a best western/comfort inn, and probably worst than some of the nicer ones. Hopefully this was an aberration. Again, the service was very professional/accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AA local
Mill Valley, CA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Decent last minute deal

good value for the location (except valet parking is $50! So best to park in union square garage overnight to save $20). Semi-modern room. Clean bathroom. Biggest issue was how hot/stuffy the room was - even with air conditioning turned on! Bellman offered to get us a bucket of ice (unprompted) which was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in union square garage to save $20

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
California Dreamin' PCH-1 Traveler
New York, NY
Aug 10, 2009

Driving up PCH-1 Vacation

The hotel was generally good, but it was completely a business-professional hub. I would not recommend it to anyone vacationing who is looking for quaint boutique hotel. It was too big, too busy, and not enough for the price that we paid for our one night stay. The hotel (though historical) is very big and the room finishes, although upscale, were bland and almost depressing, especially since we were in a room with a view of a brick wall (there are a lot of rooms with such views, so beware). It's in a good location if you want to do a lot of shopping but a bit far from the Fisherman's Wharf, and the diniing/lounges. Their parking is horrendously expensive -- $50 per night! However, the parking manager was very nice when he saw my New Yorker eyes fall out of face due to the price and gave me a discount at their sister garage up the street for $30 a night rate. Even in New York you don't get such ridiculously high rates. We had just come off of a stint of cozy Inns that we stayed at through our drive on PCH-1, so we were disappointed at the "commercial" aspect of the hotel, but the staff was very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sohrob76
San Diego, CA
Aug 29, 2011

Great location, that's about it.

I spent one night here and I loved the fact that it is very near Union Square and the heart of the downtown area. The room seemed pretty clean and the bathroom was great. What bugged me about this place is that they charged me $57 for parking overnight and they had the nerve to ask for $15 for WiFi access when I paid $331 to stay there. Pretty weak if you ask me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top