$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
379 out of 379
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane
Aug 31, 2009

Elegant surroundings, tasteful, great

Very respectful and helpful staff; quiet elegant surroundings; room clean and comfortable; excellent location;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Oak Room has excellent menu and well prepared food; tends to be overshadowed by Micheal Mina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Aug 17, 2009

Great location!!

This was my first time to California. This was a great hotel--the perfect location. Cable car stop right outside the door and in the middle of everything. Great restaurants and shops in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a Cable car passport that allows unlimited use of cable cars, buses and other public transportation options. Too congested to drive, as well as expensive. Parking fees for hotel close to 50 dollars a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meg n Paris
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 27, 2009

Amazing Beautiful Hotel-Excellent

This is the perfect hotel to stay in San Francisco. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I was traveling with my dog and it was no problem at the hotel. I didn't have to pay a pet fee like most places. The rooms were neat and spotless. Room service was prompt and always correct. This hotel is in the best location for getting to everything. Great choice. Lots of interesting history too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ale in San Francisco
Business
Mexico City
Jul 26, 2009

Great hotel!

This was my first trip to San Francisco and I was happy to see that the Hotel is perfectly located for tourist services, shops,restaurants. The room was super clean. The reservation service through Orbitz was easy to do and I found everything ready when I arrived. It is a great destination for the summer but mind the cold weather!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kuleto's is a perfect restaurant to eat breakfast and dinner and is few steps away from the Hotel. Also to take the touristic bus is a great way to know the city and there are several companies that offer their services just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange, Ca
Sep 14, 2009

the perfect hotel

Very friendly staff. the room was clean and had a beautiful view of the city and union square. The location was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie & Jason B.
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jan 15, 2010

fantastic, would stay again

A 5 minute walk from the BART station from the airport, getting there was a breeze. It is right on the trolley car ride, and near good shopping. A few minutes walk from Sushi Rika where we got great sushi, a new Thai place off of Geary St. just north of Jack in the Box that was really good, and Peary's; a 24 hour diner with great omlets. Recommend this hotel, they upgraded our room to a king bed with a corner view from a queen with no view, and they had noon check out time which you almost never see. The concierge can arrange any sight seeing for you free of service except the alcatraz trip because the gov't won't let them. They do give you detailed information how to do so though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chestnut ridge, ny
May 25, 2010

great experience

it was great. i enjoyed staying there. i would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe NYC
Business
New York
Jun 27, 2010

It is the people that make it the BEST!

Most hotels have a Concierge The St. Francis has people that want to help you have the best possible experence in their city. The front desk has people walking around looking for issues and are extremly helpful. The location is perfect for businees or pleasure and the romms are comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tolley Cars stops right in front of the hotel and union square has every store you could want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Aug 18, 2009

Old World Class, lots of updates !!!

They are still remodeling, but not a problem, central to everything, Union Square, lots to do, Sears, a super great restaurant just up the street. This was one of my best vacations, first trip to San Francisco ! A must visit for breakfast, Lorrie's Diner, near by ! Even the cab drivers were friendly !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to see the different structures of San Francisco walk to the Wharf. It is a hike, but you can see so much when you walk, also Chinatown is real close!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wasington, DC
Nov 3, 2010

Great hotel

A VERY nice hotel in a great location. I like it better than the Fairmont. Checking in and out was a breeze. My room was quiet and comfortable. I will stay here on my next trip to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take BART to and from the airport and get off at the Powell Street station -- you are just a short stroll from Union Square. From Union Square you also can easily walk to the Ferry Building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top