$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miguel from LA
Business
Los Angeles, California
Feb 19, 2013

Amazing, Great Stay! I would do it again!

Easy access to a lot of great places. Walking distance to public transportation and there are always taxis service outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of near by shopping

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BLPV
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 14, 2013

Union Square

Great location. Room was a little old. Some mold in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
angela pepper
Business
brentwood,ca
Jan 28, 2013

holiday shopping spree

the staff need to be educated on online reservations. they need more help in lobby bar and when there is a problem that involves the entire hotel the guests should be notified

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Golf
Business
San Ramon, CA
Dec 30, 2012

The Perfect Getaway

We stayed as a Starwood Preferred Guest and could not have had a nicer room or view. Overlooked Union Square with the beautiful Christmas Tree and Skating Rink. Fabulous views of the Bay and San Francisco including COIT Tower and the TransAmerica building. The staff is always a pleasure and always so helpful. The in hotel dining is always excellent; as is room service. This is our favorite getaway spot in the City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great breakfast try Sears Fine Food just up the street from the hotel. A Union Square and San Francisco landmark.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indigovic
Business
south carolina
Dec 14, 2012

san francisco

every thing u need in a great hotel EXCEPT, as a swimmer i would have loved to have an indoor pool. The hotel has so much history and interesting artifacts to keep you busy. Food great and the service exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Marin peninsula and Sausalito are a must.Take the drive off of RT 1 as soon as you cross over the Golden gate bridge heading North. Winding road high over the pacific

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler124
Business
CA
Nov 5, 2012

Stay at St. Francis

Happy overall, room was great. On the downside: staff wasn't overly friendly, and the parking was EXPENSIVE ($60 per night!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BusinessBob
Business
Seattle
Oct 19, 2012

Beautiful historic hotel with paper thin walls

The hotel is right in the heart of downtown SF. Really convenient to everything. Just ignore all the pot smoking vagrants begging in front of hotel. They are harmless. The uninsulated walls made for a sleepless night. We could hear the person next door coughing all night and the noise from the hallway was just as bad. Hotel is nice but doesn't provide a restful environment. Also, if you go for the "green" option, be aware this means your room will not be touched during your stay and that includes emptying out the trash and refilling the coffee service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MartinAarestad
Business
Oslo
Oct 10, 2012

In the Heart of San Fran

Just came back from Oracle Openworld in San Fran. Had a great stay and would be happy to reccomend this Hotel. Great Location, but make sure you get a rom with a View of the street and not the back allys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Sky or the lounge in the W hotel

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mary Plunkett
Business
Calgary, Alberta
Sep 20, 2012

Not a great experience for the what you pay.

The fan in the bathroom didn't work. We use two wine glasses on your first night and they two glasses remained unwashed on the desk until we checked out. When we checked in, the front desk accepted my wife's ID even though the resevation was in my name - however on the second day of our stay when my wife needed her room key activiated the front desk wouldn't do it because her name wasn't listed (yet it was her ID they took on check-in)???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jmjw1
Business
Bay area
Sep 12, 2012

Medical

It was great. Prices are a little high. Bed was very comfortable. Room was very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat out of hotel. Room service is very expensive.

Back to menu Return to top