$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Dimas
Oct 6, 2009

Had a great time

Had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 30, 2008

Great hotel Great location

Perfectly situated on Union Square. Our room was large corner room with great views of San Francisco. King bed great mattress beautiful comforters. Large marble bathroom with all amenities and bathrobes. Lobby with two large sitting areas, one with a Starbucks coffee bar and two restaurants. Top floor dinner restaurant. Very important to me was the large two floor gym with free weights machines treadmills stairsteppers elipticals in abundance. Staff very professional and friendly, checkin quick, bell desk and concierge great. Understated oldtime elegance. Have stayed all over Union Square for business and pleasure for over twenty years and this was my favorite hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Almost every upscale and midscale store and shop within 3 blocks of hotel. For upscale eating choices endless for casual try Sears famous for pancakes or Davids deli for breakfast. My wife and I like Cafe Mason for reasonable great food anytime 2 blocks away. SF play district 1block away. Movies in Weastfield mall 3 blocks away.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Aug 12, 2007

A Classic Hotel

The St. Francis is a classic hotel, with a lot of history. It is located at Union Square which is the central for shopping and dining. Although the rooms were old, they were nicely maintained and refurbished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Step out the door of St. Francis, and you have all the shopping you want. Stay at the St. Francis and you don't have to drive or park for the best shopping in the world.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 6, 2009

"Fantastic Romantic Getaway

San Francisco was awesome, sight seeing was great, food was delicious and we took a fantastic excursion to the wine country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 25, 2007

Great Location

The St. Francis is in a great central location for visiting the different neighborhoods and attractions of SanFran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cafe Mason is great for Breakfast.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 24, 2007

Excellent Location!

This hotel is located right at Union Square. We rode BART from the airport and the station is only 3 blocks away down Powell Street. Staff was helpful and the room was great. Area has lots of good restaurants and if you want to shop, there's a giant Macy's right across the square from it. It's on the Powell Street line for cable cars and Geary line for buses. We walked most places from this location because it's so great. Next time I visit, I'm staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Victoria's Secret in the same block as the hotel and Tiffany's (not that i can afford it) right across the square as well.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 27, 2010

excellence

every thing about the hotel was excellent, i had no problem and would go back again whenever i am in San Francisco, i also commend the entire staff as well. my experience with the Westin St. Francis was one of the Best in hotel stay that had. Thanks to you guys for my great stay in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All in walking distance

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 26, 2010

Perfect location, great rooms - worth it

The location doesn't get any better if you're interested in seeing the sights - we were able to walk to all of our points of interest from the hotel, including Nob Hill, Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Presidio - and more. We did take a bus to Haight-Ashbury and Golden Gate Park, but getting back was easy given Muni. And, getting to and from the airport was no problem on BART. The room was also very nice, but really, location location location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CaitlinCarbon
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Dec 21, 2010

San Fran

This hotel is in a great location for transportation options and walking to restaurants, attractions and shopping. The staff is professional and accommodating. The overall interior is clean and tastefully adorned. There is also adequate security in place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bourbon Steakhouse inside the hotel is incredible. Make your reservations when you book your room if possible, they fill up.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 29, 2009

Great Full Service Hotel

Fantastic hotel and the location does not get any better in San Francisco. The service in all respects was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel valet parking is $49.00 a day. You can find other options within walking distance for $20.00 a day.

Back to menu Return to top