$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jmjw1
Bay area
Sep 12, 2012

Medical

It was great. Prices are a little high. Bed was very comfortable. Room was very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat out of hotel. Room service is very expensive.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charlie Chillz
Business
San Francisco California
Sep 10, 2013

Very clean.

Probably the cleanest hotel I have ever been at. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wego onawhim
Business
San Diego
Sep 4, 2013

Nice enough for the price- on short notice

The central location really helps the value of the hotel (directly across from Union Square) if you like the downtown feel, and easy access to public transportation. If you drive in, the value goes down a bit since parking is expensive, $53+ per day/on site or $34+ per day, nearby. Our room was not very big but the bed was clean and comfortable. A UV light revealed a good size (blood or urine) stain near the window, under a table. Most likely someones pet. No UV hits around the bed, or anywhere else. Bathroom was ok, but not vented except for a window that had no screen, so there was some wallpaper peeling. The main room window also had no screen. The area is busy and noises transmit well into the night. Bring ear plugs if you don't plan to stay up late and/or drink yourself to sleep. The mini-bar seemed over stuffed and snacks spilled out when we opened the door. A sign threatened to charge you if anything moves but we put the stuff back and didn't get charged. Never saw a cleaning person but the room was nicely serviced. Staff at the counter were courteous enough although the prepaid check-in seemed to take way too long. All in all a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

park across the street in the Union Square underground parking structure to save money, instead of using the hotel parking. It's very easy access and seemed secure enough.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kpd traveller
Business
New York
Sep 2, 2013

Great vacation

This is the first time I have stayed in this section of San Francisco and was totally pleased. Everyone was lovely and the hotel has so much history

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to MAMA's for breakfast. Get there early. Long lines. In North Beach area.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MomAidanben
Business
Lodi,ca
Jul 31, 2013

Good business hotel

I liked the room. It was a good size for my friends and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bourbon steakhouse

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oxford girl
Business
Oxford
Jul 9, 2013

Overpriced needs to work on service

For a top priced hotel in San Francisco the Westin needs to do a lot more to function as a 4 star hotel. The lobby when we arrived was dirty with nobody clearing the tables. A table with old cups etc was not cleared while we were waiting to check in. Our room wasn't ready and they were supposed to call us when it was, no call and had to go back and ask again at later. A very tired hotel which needs to up date it's facilities and improve it's customer service. I rang down for a couple of bowls so we could have a snack as by daughter has food allergies I was told that they usually charge for sending this to your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evor C
Business
Danville, CA
May 30, 2013

Great alternative to the higher prices

I stayed at the St. Francis because I didn't want to pay $280 a night for another, similar hotel 2 blocks away with smaller rooms. Bathroom was a bit on the "older" side, but perfectly adequate. The location, service, cleanliness, and room service was impressive. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patsyann
Business
Orlando Fl
May 30, 2013

Romantic Escape

What a wonderful jumping off point for a fantastic visit !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Expect Good Service
Business
San Gabriel, CA, USA
Apr 6, 2013

Great location

The location is ideal - across the street from Union Square, near cable cars, tour buses, etc., TV reception was poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a 3-day cable car pass - pays for itself.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelus
Business
Pasadena, California
Mar 26, 2013

a 4-star hotel

beautiful hotel, great view from 32nd floor, nice rooms, but be prepared to pay extra for internet in room (15 $ / day), parking (58$ / day) and breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The one 1286
Business
San francisco
Mar 17, 2013

Weekend getaway

Everything was great! Nice and clean room. Great staff, very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top