$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jtm2300
Couples
San Jose, CA
Jul 11, 2010

Small room

Stayed overnight with the wife. Room was surprisingly small for the price paid, guess this is to be expected for the location at the heart of San Francisco. Still, a bit claustrophobia inducing. Otherwise, service was acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Clock Bar seems to be one of the few hotel bars in the area open seven days a week until late. 24-hour Lori's Diner located just around the corner!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New Orleans. LA
Nov 10, 2009

Westin St. Francis Review

The hotel is fine, your basic room, but they charge you for everything. They wanted $14.95 for internet that I can get free at other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LOL Law
Couples
Tulsa, OK
Jul 20, 2010

Nothing Special

Overall the stay was fine, but not what we usually get from such a highly rated hotel. There was only one towel in the room when we got there (at 2 am), and our door key stopped working prior to the end of our stay - the security guy was slow and not helpful getting us back in our room. The cleaning staff didn't do a very good job during our stay either - they left used glasses in the room every day and didn't replace them with clean ones. The concierge staff were terrific though and went way above our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kuleto's about a block away was terrific.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savtrav
Couples
San Diego
Jul 12, 2010

Not up to par

Great location on Union Square but not up to our expectations based on previous experience with Westin Hotels. The room was quite small and very noisy; doors could be heard opening and closing loudly and we could clearly hear conversations from the adjacent rooms. The room was clean but one day they did not come at all so we called for room cleaning as we were on our way to dinner and it was still not cleaned when we came back. When we called again, they said they had called us and we had never called them back which was untrue. Also a bad system re getting boarding passes printed; there is one computer for this but it was overrun by people doing banking and checking e-mails. I had to go down very late at night to get on it; the alternative was pay $10 to get online. On the plus side, the hotel lobby is beautiful and the concierge was very helpful in getting us restaurant reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For very fine dining, try Fleur de Lys which is a short walk away. It is an extremely beautiful and romantic restaurant and the food was just delicious. Also try Cafe Mason, also a short walk away, for breakfast; it is much better than the much touted Sears and features pumpkin crepes and pancakes.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
seattle, wa
Oct 4, 2010

Good Location

The location is great - right in Union Square, with a lot of shopping in the area. Also it's not a bad walk down to the Ferry Building if you are so inclined. The hotel room is nice in the new towers, and just OK if you get into the older towers. I'd stay here again if I could guarantee to stay in the new towers, I was not a fan of the older rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 9, 2009

Disappointing for a luxury hotel

For a luxury hotel in Union Square, I was pretty disappointed. The hotel is currently going under renovations and my room happened to be next to a suite that was being worked on. At 6am during the week, I woke up to two men talking in the hallway. I eventually got up and politely asked them to be quieter. Secondly, I was surprised to see the lack of technology upgrades- no ipod docking station. Also, there were no shower caps or qtips in the bathrooms. While the location was great, my overall experience was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Jan 10, 2010

Should Consider

Overall, we had a pleasant stay and would consider the Westin St. Francis when returning to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ
Oct 4, 2010

Sunny San Francisco

It was adequate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Eureka, CA
Dec 31, 2010

Westin St. Francis disappointment

We asked for (and paid for) a deluxe room with a "city view". Our room was very nice but our room on the 17th floor (in the tower) did not have a "city view" unless you just like looking at the tops of other tall buildings like the Hyatt. Instead, from the 17th floor you get to look at the back side of the old hotel section(St. Francis)because it is the same height. We could have saved money be selecting a room with "no view" because that is what we ended up with anyway. In Summary, nice rooms but poor management. Next time, I will book a room at the Hyatt or Hilton because their rooms actually have "city views".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SendMeAnywhere
Single
New York
Jul 3, 2010

Small room; worn furnishings

The location is the best part of the hotel, but the room itself was disappointing. Maybe higher paying business travellers get nicer rooms, but they should really do something to address their smaller accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top