$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
401 out of 401
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miguel from LA
Los Angeles, California
Feb 19, 2013

Amazing, Great Stay! I would do it again!

Easy access to a lot of great places. Walking distance to public transportation and there are always taxis service outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of near by shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Union Square Traveler
Business
Union Square - San Francisco
Dec 6, 2013

Pretty Good

The hotel is very nice, rooms are large and the location is great. Heat is an issue but overall l was happy with the hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AMKCanadian
Business
Niagara on the lake, ON
Dec 1, 2013

In the heart of it all

The hotel was in a great location for walking, public transit and ferries. Shopping abounded as did restaurants. The king size bed was a little "slanty" on one side. The room toiletries were mediocre and there was no bathrobe. It was a little too close to the ice machine. One had to pay for wi-fi in the room although it was free in the lobby...they also charged for local calls which I found to be unnecessary and cheapened the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the ferry to Larkspur, it's worth the ride on a sunny day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
H from CA
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Nov 7, 2013

Perfect spot to explore SF

Perfect spot to explore SF Right next to Union Square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MEWS
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 29, 2013

Great Location, Great staff.

Expensive! Friendly and helpful staff. Nice rooms with high ceilings and chandelier. Not much of a view from our room. They have a stocked bar in the room but no refrigerator so have to order one to be brought to the room. It was tacky. No swimming pool or sauna but a beautiful work out area. Dining/breakfast room was good but need to be cleaned more thoroughly. Need better maintenance on their common area ex.. ice machine room. In our bathroom the shower handle fell off and the stopper in the sink did not work properly. Maintenance did come and resolve the issues in the room but the door to the ice machine room was still in disrepair when we left. Would like to compare other hotels in the area. The location was unbeatable and I felt safe. Maybe we just got a bum room. I recommend this hotel with limitations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheesecake Factory atop the Macy's Department was a fun evening and the view was great. Food reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lena D
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Oct 10, 2013

Great business trip

Friendly and capable staff, good restaurants, solid room service, and comfortable rooms with reasonable Internet access. My caveat is that the walls are pretty thin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pungi24
Business
Montreal
Oct 10, 2013

Good Hotel

The hotel was good and the staff was friendly. The furniture in the room was quite old though and the carpeting also looked quite old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DGmn
Business
MN
Oct 3, 2013

Nice people but...

Unfortunately we arrived at rush hour and it took forever to get to the hotel. The garage entrance is not on Powell so we did a lot of extra driving to figure out how to park. Front desk person was excellent. Rooms were expensive for a very small space with a view of a cement roof and the corner of other rooms. The vent in the bathroom was literally caked with dust. When we were leaving the garage attendant said he would put our bags in the car. We were in Sausalito before we noticed that one of the bags had not made it into the car and had to drive all the way back to get it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJESQ
Business
Pasadena, CA
Sep 22, 2013

Nice 3 day trip to SF.

We often stay at Westins all over the US. This one is unusal since Westin took over a historic hotel in the prime location SF location. So--- the rooms are small, but comfortable. The best things about Westins are: staff & location. As usual we enjoyed our stay, & we will surely stay at other Westins in the coming year. Judith & Larry Johnson of PasadenaCA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Petepeach
Business
Encinitas, Ca
Sep 18, 2013

Do you like to shop?

Every store was in walking distance. The views from the outside elevators are spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

There are 2 Westins close to each other- it's easy to check in to the wrong one. This one is much better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charlie Chillz
Business
San Francisco California
Sep 10, 2013

Very clean.

Probably the cleanest hotel I have ever been at. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top