$238 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jmjw1
Bay area
Sep 12, 2012

Medical

It was great. Prices are a little high. Bed was very comfortable. Room was very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat out of hotel. Room service is very expensive.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris from Sac
Business
Sacramento
Dec 9, 2013

Christmas Shopping in SF

We picked this hotel due to the location. It is close to Macys and other shops . The price is expensive but comparable to the other hotels in the area. The rooms are extremely small but it was only 2 of us so we managed. We did not use the valet service since we decided to use the parking structure under Union Square. Valet is $50+ with in/out privileges but the Union Square parking garage charges $34 a day with no in/out privileges. Since we stayed local we used this instead. Our room did not have a view but it didn't really matter. Other than that I would stay here again since all of the hotels are basically the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Local bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Union Square Traveler
Business
Union Square - San Francisco
Dec 6, 2013

Pretty Good

The hotel is very nice, rooms are large and the location is great. Heat is an issue but overall l was happy with the hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MEWS
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 29, 2013

Great Location, Great staff.

Expensive! Friendly and helpful staff. Nice rooms with high ceilings and chandelier. Not much of a view from our room. They have a stocked bar in the room but no refrigerator so have to order one to be brought to the room. It was tacky. No swimming pool or sauna but a beautiful work out area. Dining/breakfast room was good but need to be cleaned more thoroughly. Need better maintenance on their common area ex.. ice machine room. In our bathroom the shower handle fell off and the stopper in the sink did not work properly. Maintenance did come and resolve the issues in the room but the door to the ice machine room was still in disrepair when we left. Would like to compare other hotels in the area. The location was unbeatable and I felt safe. Maybe we just got a bum room. I recommend this hotel with limitations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheesecake Factory atop the Macy's Department was a fun evening and the view was great. Food reasonably priced.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lena D
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Oct 10, 2013

Great business trip

Friendly and capable staff, good restaurants, solid room service, and comfortable rooms with reasonable Internet access. My caveat is that the walls are pretty thin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pungi24
Business
Montreal
Oct 10, 2013

Good Hotel

The hotel was good and the staff was friendly. The furniture in the room was quite old though and the carpeting also looked quite old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DGmn
Business
MN
Oct 3, 2013

Nice people but...

Unfortunately we arrived at rush hour and it took forever to get to the hotel. The garage entrance is not on Powell so we did a lot of extra driving to figure out how to park. Front desk person was excellent. Rooms were expensive for a very small space with a view of a cement roof and the corner of other rooms. The vent in the bathroom was literally caked with dust. When we were leaving the garage attendant said he would put our bags in the car. We were in Sausalito before we noticed that one of the bags had not made it into the car and had to drive all the way back to get it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJESQ
Business
Pasadena, CA
Sep 22, 2013

Nice 3 day trip to SF.

We often stay at Westins all over the US. This one is unusal since Westin took over a historic hotel in the prime location SF location. So--- the rooms are small, but comfortable. The best things about Westins are: staff & location. As usual we enjoyed our stay, & we will surely stay at other Westins in the coming year. Judith & Larry Johnson of PasadenaCA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Petepeach
Business
Encinitas, Ca
Sep 18, 2013

Do you like to shop?

Every store was in walking distance. The views from the outside elevators are spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

There are 2 Westins close to each other- it's easy to check in to the wrong one. This one is much better.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charlie Chillz
Business
San Francisco California
Sep 10, 2013

Very clean.

Probably the cleanest hotel I have ever been at. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wego onawhim
Business
San Diego
Sep 4, 2013

Nice enough for the price- on short notice

The central location really helps the value of the hotel (directly across from Union Square) if you like the downtown feel, and easy access to public transportation. If you drive in, the value goes down a bit since parking is expensive, $53+ per day/on site or $34+ per day, nearby. Our room was not very big but the bed was clean and comfortable. A UV light revealed a good size (blood or urine) stain near the window, under a table. Most likely someones pet. No UV hits around the bed, or anywhere else. Bathroom was ok, but not vented except for a window that had no screen, so there was some wallpaper peeling. The main room window also had no screen. The area is busy and noises transmit well into the night. Bring ear plugs if you don't plan to stay up late and/or drink yourself to sleep. The mini-bar seemed over stuffed and snacks spilled out when we opened the door. A sign threatened to charge you if anything moves but we put the stuff back and didn't get charged. Never saw a cleaning person but the room was nicely serviced. Staff at the counter were courteous enough although the prepaid check-in seemed to take way too long. All in all a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

park across the street in the Union Square underground parking structure to save money, instead of using the hotel parking. It's very easy access and seemed secure enough.

Back to menu Return to top