$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Y Patel
Princeton, NJ
May 13, 2014

Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel itself is breathtaking- an opulent lobby, good spa services, the Clock bar and lobby bar and the restaurants are great. We stayed in the tower and the elevator system ensures safety which was great. Staff was incredibly accommodating and the rooms were perfection. The location cannot be beat. 3 blocks from the Powell Bart station and literally in the center of union square. The hotel is even on many of the tours! Definitely a highly recommended stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burger Bar on the 6th floor of Macys has some of the best burgers Ive ever tasted! And Amber Indian restaurant has a great ambience and even better food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Fayette
Aug 24, 2008

Awesome and Perfect!

My daughter sent my husband and I to San Francisco - it was perfect! The location of the Hotel was great! Close to shopping, food, and entertainment!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
southern colorado
Dec 17, 2009

very nice location

if you like shopping or just walking and seeing the sights this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jun 19, 2007

Friendly and helpful staff

This was our first visit to the Westin St. Francis and it was great. The check-in clerk upgraded us to a room with a king-size bed which was fantastic! All the staff were eager to answer questions and make arrangements. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's, Sak's, Nordstom's, Niketown are just a few of the places to shop within easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moussa
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 5, 2007

Great Location

At Check-In, we were offered an upgrade for an additional amount and I'm so glad we did because the room was perfect. It overlooked Union Square. The location of the hotel couldn't have been any better. The room was large, and the the bed heavenly. I mean it was so comfortable. We were very pleased and will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a shopper's dream. Every store you can imagine is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shawn&Alison
Business
Toronto, ON
Jul 22, 2009

My San Francisco Vacation

The Hotel offered everything that we needed and more during our stay. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, which is nice when you're so far away from home. What a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you take a while away from the "tourist activities" just to walk around town... be it around the block from the hotel or all around the Bay area, you'll find some really great places to eat. We found some restaurants along the fishermans wharf to be very nice in the evening, and only a half hour walk or 15 minute cable car ride up the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Saxxerouen
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 10, 2011

Great Evening Out!!!

Great Hotel, Great Dining (Bourbon Steak), Great Night out. I've become famous for my one day vactions, and this one did not disappoint! The room was comfortable and came with all the trimmings expected in a fine hotel. Bourbon Steak lived up to the anticipation...everything my other half and I had was top notch. This will more than likely be a regular occurance for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon & Branch Bar... It's a reservation only speakeasy style of place that you need a password to get in. Very cool 20's decor and beverages. Highly Recommend!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
just plain - Dave
Business
cleveland, ohio
Oct 7, 2009

first rate, great price and location

Everything that we needed or questions that we had were attended to almost immediately. the conceirge staff was knowledgeable and highly professional. i would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the location of the transportation system at the foot of powell street was beneficial as was the ticket kiosk across the street from the hotel at union square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Dec 16, 2007

very nice

very nice hotel,I would stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

sears breakfast has wonderful swedish pancakes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, LA
Jul 21, 2009

My Birthday away from Home

After reading the hotel reviews first, I selected the St. Francis, I was not disappointed the view was excellent, the staff was great, except for the conceigers. I do think that Orbitz should not allow them to book out of town travellers with a room without a view and then pay extra for a room with a view, but other than that, I will always stay at the Western, St. Francis, when visiting San Fransico,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Always ask the doormen, about places to eat, and what methods are available for travel cheaply to the sites that you want to see. If you are there more than one day, get the three day pass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 30, 2008

Great Hotel

The Westin St. Francis was great. Location was amazing (right in Union Square), staff and concierge were helpful, and rooms were a good size. Stayed in the new tower - deluxe upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top