The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charlie Chillz
Business
San Francisco California
Sep 10, 2013

Very clean.

Probably the cleanest hotel I have ever been at. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 17, 2007

very friendly

upon check in we were greeted and treated in a warm & friendly manor. the professionalism shown was a rare treat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the location couldn't be better. a short walk to entertainment or dining of your choosing.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Aug 12, 2007

A Classic Hotel

The St. Francis is a classic hotel, with a lot of history. It is located at Union Square which is the central for shopping and dining. Although the rooms were old, they were nicely maintained and refurbished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Step out the door of St. Francis, and you have all the shopping you want. Stay at the St. Francis and you don't have to drive or park for the best shopping in the world.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 9, 2007

Great Location

Excellent central location, clean room, pleasant staff, but would not pay the expensive full price for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bus pass pays off well for tourists.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 7, 2007

Great place to stay at Union Square.

The St. Francis Hotel is a nice old historic place that has been kept up. It is close to many restaurants and shopping plazas. If you don't like the homeless people, pan handling bums, and mental cases, don't stay in this part of town. Other than that, I enjoyed my visit. On second thought, I might have trimmed a day off and gone home early to wonderful San Diego

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a car when you go downtown. Purchase the public transportation pass at the Visitors Center. Parking is expensive and hard to find if you are downtown.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 6, 2007

SF Gem

Westin St. Francis was perfect. Great Location, friendly staff, and very clean. The hotel has a lot of history and character.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Street cars located in front of hotel. Bus routes are also close.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moussa
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 5, 2007

Great Location

At Check-In, we were offered an upgrade for an additional amount and I'm so glad we did because the room was perfect. It overlooked Union Square. The location of the hotel couldn't have been any better. The room was large, and the the bed heavenly. I mean it was so comfortable. We were very pleased and will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a shopper's dream. Every store you can imagine is within walking distance.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 5, 2007

Lovely Visit

The Westin St. Francis is a lovely hotel...clean, friendly, efficiently run and plenty of towels. The desk staff and the housekeepers were all very pleasant and accomodating. The bed and linens were very comfortable, as were the room furnishings. I would have enjoyed having a coffee/tea making appliance in the room. I also would have enjoyed complimentary morning coffee, in the lobby and complimentary wine in the late afternoon, as I enjoyed in the hotel I stayed last, up the street. Had the restaurant's menu been less expensive, I would have eaten there, but rather, went out each day for all meals elsewhere. Despite this, I really enjoyed this hotel and it is on my stay again list. The location, across from Union Square and shopping, was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There was great coffee a half block down the street at Sega Fredo's. Also, all types of restaurants are within walking distance. Access to the cable car was closeby, as well as a activity booth for tours, etc., in Union Square.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 3, 2007

Luxuriously comfortable

The Westin St. Francis offered one of the most comfortable rooms I have ever experienced, with luxurious double shower-massage heads, pillows, mattress and bed linens. There was a huge walk-in closet(but no dresser drawers). I enjoyed the casual lobby dining, especially at breakfast, and the entire staff was friendly and helpful. The Union Square location was not as central as I had hoped -- it was a long bus trip to the Golden Gate bridge and a very long cable car ride to Fisherman's wharf -- but it's ideal for shopping and the theatre, and a manageable walk to the Museum of Modern Art. It was very busy, with a lot of business/convention activity as well as tourists, but my room was quiet at night. It was a bit surprising to be charged $2.00 for a toll-free telephone call, but that's a quibble. It is definitely a splurge, but I'd go back if my budget could handle it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Surrounded by the city's major shopping centers, and the theatre district.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 28, 2007

Great location

The Westin St Francis was a wonderful hotel. This was my first time in San Francisco and the location was perfect. The hotel lobby was breathtaking. The service was prompt and very helpful. I stayed in a standard room which was small but cute. I had a huge walk-in closet with a queen sized bed. I will be going back very soon. I would highly recommend this hotel for service and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears Fine is a cute diner to have breakfast. Try the pancakes.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 25, 2007

Great Location

The St. Francis is in a great central location for visiting the different neighborhoods and attractions of SanFran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cafe Mason is great for Breakfast.

Back to menu Return to top