$211 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kpd traveller
New York
Sep 2, 2013

Great vacation

This is the first time I have stayed in this section of San Francisco and was totally pleased. Everyone was lovely and the hotel has so much history

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to MAMA's for breakfast. Get there early. Long lines. In North Beach area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF Lovers
Business
Boise, Idaho
May 27, 2009

Can't beat the location

We reserved a room in the old part of the hotel specifically because we like the old world feel. When we arrived we were informed we were "upgraded" to a room in the tower (new) part of the hotel. Our room had two full beds which we didn't need or want and there were dirty socks from the previous guest under the bed. The room was very noisy and the concierge was abrupt and unhelpful. The location is great as it is near all the shopping, this is the only reason to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Orpheum Theater and see Wicked, it is awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sonoma CA
May 25, 2009

Westin St. Francis

classic hotel on union sq--updated--nice bath--comfortable bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

food networks diner, dives, and drive-in's: Tommy's Joynt at Geary and Vanness; Dotty's Tip Top Diner at Jones off Geary

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JanetMarie
Business
Asheville, NC
May 15, 2009

Fantastic Location

Our trip included attending our son's graduation from CCA. We also included some tourist activities that were of easy access from our location. You are really right in the heart of SF. The service was wonderful and rooms were adequate. We actually got to get an upgrade since our AC was not working in our really small room. The staff was more than happy to upgrade our accommodations with a free breakfast as well. I would hope to stay there again if the price is right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. Majeski
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Apr 22, 2009

Beautiful accommodations, lovely hotel.

This was a beautiful hotel and the service was great however, we arrived late and food service was not available. Even room service did not deliver after 10:30 p.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fmtreyna
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 22, 2009

Great hotel!

This a great hotel - the staff is superb and professional - ready to help! We forgot driving directions - the concierge had the best route mapped out with driving directions within minutes! Everyone was GREAT - from the room service to the car service (who tried their best to undo our stroller). FANTASTIC location - upgrade to the larger rooms - they are fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is just a few blocks away - for shopping, eating, and general sightseeing - very fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Great Staff and Hotel

Great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 29, 2008

Nice stay for the holiday

We loved the Westin St. Francis. We enjoyed taking in the history of the place while also taking in some good scotch and creme brulee at Caruso's in the lobby area. The holiday decorations were great, and the staff were very friendly. We loved the convenience of the taxis right outside the door, and the location was good for walks to and from Union Square, Chinatown and North Beach. The room had a view, a nice flat-panel TV and a great bed and bath. We took advantage of the room service and minibar also. We could have just stayed in the hotel and been happy for days. Luckily San Francisco lured us outdoors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Consider taxis for your uphill trips, and walking for your downhill return trips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cypress
Dec 28, 2008

This was an awesome hotel. Great location, great service, very clean.

The Westin St. Francis is one of the most beautiful hotels we've ever stayed in. The service was great, it was close to everything in san francisco and the staff was fantastic. We ate Christmas dinner in the Oak Room dining room in the hotel which was an experience fit for a king. The Heavenly Bathroom and Heavenly Bed were great. Very comfortable and plenty of room for clothes. We had a great view of the city from our corner room on the 20th floor. I highly reccommend this hotel when staying in San Francisco on pleaseure or business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to walk to Chinatown. Feast at the Empress of China and you'll go back again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Joe
Dec 19, 2008

Beautiful Hotel

the St. Francis speaks for itself. Situated in Union Square makes it the best location to be in San Francisco. The staff is friendly, professional. everything is top shelf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

the Union Square shops and restaurants are wonderful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 25, 2008

It was beautiful!

We were so impressed by the Westin St. Francis. We stayed during Thanksgiving and there were gorgeous Christmas trees everywhere. I loved it:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

There is a ton of shopping, restaurants, bars, and public transportation near the hotel.:)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top