$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
384 reviews
Outstanding!!

Great hotel, amazing location, good staff, everything was great!! Would without any doubts... See full review

  • Federico11
  • Jul 30, 2014
Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel... See full review

  • Y Patel
  • May 13, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (384)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kpd traveller
New York
Sep 2, 2013

Great vacation

This is the first time I have stayed in this section of San Francisco and was totally pleased. Everyone was lovely and the hotel has so much history

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to MAMA's for breakfast. Get there early. Long lines. In North Beach area.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal
Jul 2, 2008

Great overall!

We loved it. Very comfortable, fantastci location and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Best shopping area for designer wear as well as affordable shoping malls. Best fast food at the Westfield shopping mall just 2 walking blocks away. You can also take a cable car ride to the famous Fisherman's Warf just outside the hotel.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Maria
Jun 21, 2008

Great elevator ride and view from room (after having to move twice)

Great exterior elevator ride and view from room (after having to move twice. Due to the extremely high price of the room I was disappointed it took some effort to get a room with a good view. Kids were very disappointed there wasn't a pool. Parking costs are outrageous at $49/day. Location great for our needs. Recommend highly for those willing to spend lots of money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Worth
Jun 9, 2008

Great vacation location

The Westin St. Francis was very comfortable, the room had a desk area and a table and two chairs. The bed was very comfortable and gave you a great night sleep so as to tackle the walking adventures of the day. The amenities were superb and the coffee good. I liked the fact that room was in a vintage renovated building. THe bathroom was expecting small, but never felt cramped. The location was very good -- it was Union Square, with the tram running by the steps of the hotel. The major boutique and brnad name stores were all off the square and every major restaurant was within walking distance. I would most definitely reccommend this hotel to vacationers and business people alike.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Macys was within steps of the building

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsbluff
May 27, 2008

Great Value

Superlative value for a four star hotel. Hotel staff was professional and attentive. Facility was clean and well maintained. My only complaints were the size of the room and the slow elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown shopping

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 27, 2008

Nice room

The service was very good. The room was large and clean with ample closet space and a very nice view. Location was great, right in Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and restaurants all around the hotel. Public transportation quite near.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Garland
May 25, 2008

mini vacation

This hotel is located on Union Square. We were given the old section and our bathroom was very cramped and inconvenient. The rooms did not have a place for the coffee maker which was placed in the closet on top of the safe when we checked in. Our only option was to place it on a luggage rack or the desk as the bathroom was too small. My other experiences with Westin locations have been positive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is close by. However the surroundng neighborhood is trashy.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
edmonton, *
May 23, 2008

Luxury at Great Price

Our Conceige was exceptional. Gave us tips on fabulous resturants, sites, tours, made our stay exciting and so much fun.. All the staff from the valet greeting us from our taxi, to the front desk was beyond service.. Our room in the tower was clean, designer looking iron, ironing board, the bathroom was huge two shower heads, we women loved it all. Plasma tv, chairs, desk, phones, computer jacks all available.. What a wonderful experience and we look forward to a return visit in the future. Location was supberb, trolleys outside, told us to buy the pass which saved dollars, shopping was terrific, everything was so easy and we felt safe. theatres, resturants shopping transport,, wow great .... Go and have a super time.. fabulous city...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great deals at Ross', we had macy's, tiffanys, william sonoma, shoe stores, house hold stuff oh it was fab.... enough to say we had to pay for excess baggage, and then got a deal with the person at the desk cos we were telling him about our shopping trips, Oh and Sauselito had fab shops, you need a day there...

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 12, 2008

Excellent location

The Westin St Francis could not have been in a better location. We were able to catch the trolly right outside the front door. Also we were in walking of many great restaurants and shopping. The hotels beds and views were also outstanding. It was a restful fun vacation I would recommend to any one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The cafe, Sears, up a block had a excellent breadfast and Macy's was right accross the street.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
May 3, 2008

very elegent hotel

the st francis was one of the nicest experiences i've ever had. the staff were extremely helpful with any of my questions or concerns. the location was great, in the middle of everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 9, 2008

Small and old

The Westin St. Francis was right in the heart of the Union Station area. Ideal for all the things we wanted to do. Our room was in the original part of the hotel (not the tower). The room was sub-standard when it came to cleanliness. Paint was peeling on the bathroom ceiling. One staffer was not at all accomodating to changing our room. Another person was quite helpful. The city was grand but the hotel was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search