$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momma A and Pappa A
Cool, CA
Feb 20, 2013

Dad and Mom get a day without the kids!

it was close to everything and everybody was really nice. customer service was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

itialian South Beach very good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Maria
Jun 21, 2008

Great elevator ride and view from room (after having to move twice)

Great exterior elevator ride and view from room (after having to move twice. Due to the extremely high price of the room I was disappointed it took some effort to get a room with a good view. Kids were very disappointed there wasn't a pool. Parking costs are outrageous at $49/day. Location great for our needs. Recommend highly for those willing to spend lots of money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth
Jun 9, 2008

Great vacation location

The Westin St. Francis was very comfortable, the room had a desk area and a table and two chairs. The bed was very comfortable and gave you a great night sleep so as to tackle the walking adventures of the day. The amenities were superb and the coffee good. I liked the fact that room was in a vintage renovated building. THe bathroom was expecting small, but never felt cramped. The location was very good -- it was Union Square, with the tram running by the steps of the hotel. The major boutique and brnad name stores were all off the square and every major restaurant was within walking distance. I would most definitely reccommend this hotel to vacationers and business people alike.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Macys was within steps of the building

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsbluff
May 27, 2008

Great Value

Superlative value for a four star hotel. Hotel staff was professional and attentive. Facility was clean and well maintained. My only complaints were the size of the room and the slow elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 27, 2008

Nice room

The service was very good. The room was large and clean with ample closet space and a very nice view. Location was great, right in Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and restaurants all around the hotel. Public transportation quite near.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Garland
May 25, 2008

mini vacation

This hotel is located on Union Square. We were given the old section and our bathroom was very cramped and inconvenient. The rooms did not have a place for the coffee maker which was placed in the closet on top of the safe when we checked in. Our only option was to place it on a luggage rack or the desk as the bathroom was too small. My other experiences with Westin locations have been positive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is close by. However the surroundng neighborhood is trashy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
edmonton, *
May 23, 2008

Luxury at Great Price

Our Conceige was exceptional. Gave us tips on fabulous resturants, sites, tours, made our stay exciting and so much fun.. All the staff from the valet greeting us from our taxi, to the front desk was beyond service.. Our room in the tower was clean, designer looking iron, ironing board, the bathroom was huge two shower heads, we women loved it all. Plasma tv, chairs, desk, phones, computer jacks all available.. What a wonderful experience and we look forward to a return visit in the future. Location was supberb, trolleys outside, told us to buy the pass which saved dollars, shopping was terrific, everything was so easy and we felt safe. theatres, resturants shopping transport,, wow great .... Go and have a super time.. fabulous city...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great deals at Ross', we had macy's, tiffanys, william sonoma, shoe stores, house hold stuff oh it was fab.... enough to say we had to pay for excess baggage, and then got a deal with the person at the desk cos we were telling him about our shopping trips, Oh and Sauselito had fab shops, you need a day there...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 12, 2008

Excellent location

The Westin St Francis could not have been in a better location. We were able to catch the trolly right outside the front door. Also we were in walking of many great restaurants and shopping. The hotels beds and views were also outstanding. It was a restful fun vacation I would recommend to any one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The cafe, Sears, up a block had a excellent breadfast and Macy's was right accross the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
May 3, 2008

very elegent hotel

the st francis was one of the nicest experiences i've ever had. the staff were extremely helpful with any of my questions or concerns. the location was great, in the middle of everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 9, 2008

Small and old

The Westin St. Francis was right in the heart of the Union Station area. Ideal for all the things we wanted to do. Our room was in the original part of the hotel (not the tower). The room was sub-standard when it came to cleanliness. Paint was peeling on the bathroom ceiling. One staffer was not at all accomodating to changing our room. Another person was quite helpful. The city was grand but the hotel was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Apr 2, 2008

Great Location

The Westin St Francis was a nice hotel. The location was good. It was easy access to the cable cars right in front of the hotel. The only thing I didn't like was the bed was not big enough I am used to sleeping in King bed and this was only a queen bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ton of shopping all around the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top