$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
633 reviews
Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel... See full review

  • Y Patel
  • May 13, 2014
Great Location!

We love it! teh location, the rooms, beds are like sleeping with angels! See full review

  • Miri Schie
  • May 8, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (633)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
633 out of 633
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miguel from LA
Los Angeles, California
Feb 19, 2013

Amazing, Great Stay! I would do it again!

Easy access to a lot of great places. Walking distance to public transportation and there are always taxis service outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of near by shopping

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cunuck
Calgary, Alberta Canada
Jul 20, 2009

SF Weekend

The Westin St. Francis is in a great location, right across the street from Union Square and the cable car stop. The room was large with a very comfortable bed. [...] at the from desk was great to deal with. We arrived early and he was able to accommodate us and even recommended a restaurant where we enjoyed a wonderful meal. We will definitely stay at the Westin on our next SF trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJhop
Carmel, CA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION

Other than the fact that the choice of food in the one bar that was open and the prices for a drink were very high it was o.k. Would go back again but not to the bar. The reservation clerk was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Don't go in for a drink unless you have lot's of extra money to spend just for the fun of it!!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The one 1286
San francisco
Mar 17, 2013

Weekend getaway

Everything was great! Nice and clean room. Great staff, very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NC
Jan 2, 2010

The Westin, one of the best in.

My family and I vacationed in San Francisco after Christmas and stayed at the Westin St. Francis. We were very pleased with our experience there. The location is superb for easy access to public transportation and easy transfer to points of interest. The staff was super friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to transportation was short for good restaurants, shopping and access to major attractions in San Francisco.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smwadams
Thornton, CO
Mar 7, 2010

Great location! Pleasant stay.

The hotel is beautiful and in a prime location for enjoying the city. We had booked a room with an upgrade, thinking we would be in the tower (newer part of the hotel) with "limited views". When we arrived, our room was in the older part with a view of a building wall. We felt like we were in a closet! I immediately called the front desk and they were able to put us in another room with a wonderful view, so we were pleased! The concierge desk was very helpful - every person we spoke with was very friendly and offered great suggestions! The only problem we had with the hotel is that you get nickel and dimed for everything!! The fitness center is nothing to brag about and they charge you to use it. They don't have Wi Fi, but you can hook up to the Internet, but again, it's for a fee. Our thought was that these things should be perks when you're paying what we paid to stay there! The beds and showers were great - very comfortable and relaxing! We used the BART and the cable cars to make our way around town. Both are fairly easy to use. You can buy multiple day passes for the cable cars (highly recommended if you're going to be around a few days). You don't have to wait in the long lines at the beginning of the routes - just walk up a block or two and catch it at the stops (they're clearly marked along the streets). The hotel was only about three blocks away from the transit area where you get off of BART from the airport and you can buy the multiple day passes for the cable cars. It's very expensive to park your car at the hotel (about $50/night) so we opted to not get a rental car. I hope this was helpful. We really enjoyed our stay in San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

We really enjoyed E & O Trading Co. (green onion flat bread), Crustacean (roasted crab and garlic noodles), Max's (great sandwiches) and the Slanted Door (all the food) for lunch and dinner places. Good breakfast was a little harder to find, but we enjoyed Sears and Max's probably serves a good breakfast (we didn't eat there until our last day). All of these places are either within walking distance from the hotel or a cable car ride. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants because they were pricey - but then again, we spent quite a bit of money outside the hotel on food, so it might have been comparable.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 19, 2010

A Special Place

My wife and I spent a week exploring San Francisco and the surrounding bay area. We found the Westin St. Francis to be an ideally situated home base from which to explore. Union square is a short walk/MUNI/cab ride from almost every major attraction in the city which is a real plus. The hotel itself is historic and beautiful with the excellent signature and trendy Michael Mina restaurant and clock cocktail lounge. We had bruch at the signature and it was excellent with great service. The rooms are smaller but clean with HD tvs, complimentary Starbucks coffee and a mini fridge for purchasing overpriced beverages of all kinds! The only major problem we had was a neighbor who smoked intermittently for a couple days straight. The smaller rooms have a connecting door and the smoke went right under the door and into our room. We called security our first night and they stopped it but our neighbors continued to disrespect us so I went down and complained in person. The concierge handled the situation professionally and appropriately and immediately offered us an upgrade to the top floor with a nice view of union square. The concierge also helped us with renting a car and suggested some nice places/shows to see. He was really top notch. The only other minor hiccups we had were that they didn't answer the phone when we dialed zero one night and there is no microwave minifridge which would have helped save some cash (but I suppose they aren't in the business of saving me cash!). It was an excellent stay overall and I would give 4.5 stars if I could!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

get a MUNI pass! This will save you money on cab fare.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Year's Eve Travelers
Boston, MA
Aug 27, 2009

Luxury Hotel at a good cost

It was a great room at a very good price, right in the middle of Union Square. Right in the middle of everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Been to the Best
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Jul 20, 2009

A Long-time Favorite

I have stayed at this hotel before and it consistently offers an exquisite level of quality and service. Staff are courteous and responsive and follow through promptly on every request. This is one hotel that I would not hesitate to recommend. If you want the whole package - beautiful architecture, well-appointed rooms, and an unfailing commitment to service - this is the place to stay. I particularly love the "workout rooms" which offer a stationary bike, weights, core ball, yoga mat, and DVD player as well as a Yoga/Pilates DVD, a yoga handbook, and other healthy living resources. It was great to continue my workout routine without having to leave my room yet still have access if desired to the first-class fitness facilities on premises. My only negative feedback is: - the hallways on our floor were quite chilly. IF the hotel is doing this as part of a "green" campaign, that's OK as long as they disclose it up front and suggest that guests be prepared for a brisk walk from elevator to room;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss breakfast at Sear's Fine Food - another legend in San Francisco, one block away from the hotel. Arrive before 8 am to avoid the inevitable lines that form in front of the restaurant. Also try Kuleto's Italian Restaurant - their bread basket and olive oil are stand outs, the chef is very adept and the menu items we sampled were delicious. We were so delighted with our first lunch there that we made it a point to return the night before our departure! Don't forget to make reservations - they fill up quickly!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TessKeely
Santa Rosa, CA
May 29, 2012

Classic landmark piece of history

Love this hotel and it's location, and the prices are reasonable. They gave us a free upgrade to a family size, very large room, and they gave us a $50 bar credit because we had to wait an hour for the room. Only drawback is a $200 speaker was stolen from my bedside when I went out to breakfast, obviously by an employee. Definitely use the in-room safes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Scala's Bistro, right down the street. Best meal I've ever had!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
IL
Feb 20, 2011

nice hotel

pleasant environment, historic hotel, nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top