$238 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miri Schie
Mexico City
May 8, 2014

Great Location!

We love it! teh location, the rooms, beds are like sleeping with angels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 1, 2008

Amazing in every way!

The Westin St. Francis is an amazing historic hotel right next to San Francisco's Union Square. I had a huge room with a view of the Square. The staff was wonderful and very accomodating. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and I will be staying here again next time I'm in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of shopping and restaurants. A LOT of tourists so be ready for crowds.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 30, 2008

Great hotel Great location

Perfectly situated on Union Square. Our room was large corner room with great views of San Francisco. King bed great mattress beautiful comforters. Large marble bathroom with all amenities and bathrobes. Lobby with two large sitting areas, one with a Starbucks coffee bar and two restaurants. Top floor dinner restaurant. Very important to me was the large two floor gym with free weights machines treadmills stairsteppers elipticals in abundance. Staff very professional and friendly, checkin quick, bell desk and concierge great. Understated oldtime elegance. Have stayed all over Union Square for business and pleasure for over twenty years and this was my favorite hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Almost every upscale and midscale store and shop within 3 blocks of hotel. For upscale eating choices endless for casual try Sears famous for pancakes or Davids deli for breakfast. My wife and I like Cafe Mason for reasonable great food anytime 2 blocks away. SF play district 1block away. Movies in Weastfield mall 3 blocks away.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 30, 2008

Great Hotel

The Westin St. Francis was great. Location was amazing (right in Union Square), staff and concierge were helpful, and rooms were a good size. Stayed in the new tower - deluxe upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 19, 2008

Great Location

The Westin St. Francis was great! You cant beat the location perfect for staying in Union Square!! The only complaint is that overnight parking was $50!!!! That's insane! Great trip otherwise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is everything you could want!!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 16, 2008

Nice Location - Kinda Aged Hotel

I was very disappointed to receive a tiny room next to the elevator shaft. When I mean tiny, I mean, smaller than a dorm room or hospital room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Its all there, right at Union Square.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Mar 14, 2008

Nice-great location!

The Westin Saint Francis is a beautiful hotel! The room was very comfortable. The location was perfect and close to everything. The only downside is that the hotel staff was not very friendly. Otherwise, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the great shopping is only one block away like Prada, Tiffany's and Crate and Barrell.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, QC
Feb 4, 2008

Perfect for a short business stay

Great location, Union Square across the street, close to everything. I could walk to go almost anywhere, and San Francisco is a great city to walk. Or you can just hop on the cable car right in front of the hotel. Alternatively, there was always a line of taxis waiting on the corner. The room was, I believe, their lowest priced, and it had everything I needed. It featured a large desk, HD TV, ultra comfy soft bed. Overall everything seemed clean. The safe was a bit small (not big enough to fit my 15 laptop)... The architecture is beautiful in this historic hotel. The lobby is opulent, with a nice ambiance when filled with guests enjoying a drink at night. Overall, staff were very helpful and friendly. Wireless internet was important for me, it worked A-1, but was offered for a fee. I believe internet access should be included in a price room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cable cars, the trendiest boutiques, and Union Square (providing free wireless internet access) right at the door.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Dec 16, 2007

very nice

very nice hotel,I would stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

sears breakfast has wonderful swedish pancakes

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Sep 9, 2007

Great Location

St. Francis was a great location on Union Square. We walked right out the front door to great shopping and near by resturants. Rooms were a little larger than the average San Francisco room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 17, 2007

very friendly

upon check in we were greeted and treated in a warm & friendly manor. the professionalism shown was a rare treat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the location couldn't be better. a short walk to entertainment or dining of your choosing.

Back to menu Return to top