$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fran Cisco
Palmdale, CA
Dec 10, 2013

Romantic getaway

The location and atmosphere of this hotel was amazing. We really enjoyed our time there. All the staff treated us as if we were important to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall on market street and powell

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patty travel pants man person
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 21, 2009

Great location!

Great place for getting around SF by public transit. I imagine parking a car in the area would be a nightmare . . .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The BART is great for getting to/from the airport. Only a few blocks away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rycky Boby The Vacationer
Business
Madera, Fresno
Jun 16, 2009

No hassle booking Great Job Orbitz :)

People were friendly and they my room was not taken nor they have any troubles finding me in their system last family trip i took. they could not find me on their system, the hotel was so full i endedup getting a handycap room. Not fun Thank you orbits for the no hassle experiense

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 15, 2009

San Fran getaway

Had a fantastic time at this hotel. My one complaint would be the fact that there is no pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are only a short walk to many great attractions and sights...or it is just a short right to the Muni Trains which are inexpensive and fast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
San Francisco expat
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 8, 2009

Remarkable romantic retreat

A completely pleasant getaway - beautiful room with fantastic bed, wonderful shower, very nice amenities. The only real nits were a bit of a line to check in, and only one robe in the closet. The location right on Union Square can't be beat. Note that rooms can be different sizes, so if they give you a choice on check-in, look at the floor plan carefully.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The Clock Bar in the lobby serves truly excellent cocktails.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tommy Alan
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 6, 2009

Best location for a vacation in San Fran

Everyone including the maids are very helpful and provide the best service that can be had. The location was fantastic during our stay. We did not bother to even rent a car. We traveled throughout San Francisco on public transportation. Went on many guided tours. It felt that we were in the center of the hub of the city. Everything seemed so close to the hotel. We literally hopped on the cable cars right outside our door from our room in the hotel. We came to San Francisco without any plans other than to see the city and have a great time. This hotel not only made are stay comfortable, it made our whole trip fantastic because of the recommendations we recieved at the hotel from the people that work there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a public transportation pass for the days that you are going to stay. You can get all around the city very cheap that way and you don't have to walk very far at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, Ca
Jun 3, 2009

Nice place

Excellent location relative to sites, shopping and eating. Small, older room in the historic tower wasn't quite what we envissioned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 1, 2009

San Francisco stay

Wonderful location, beautiful building, right on Union Square. Stay here if you're going to San Francisco, and wear a flower in your hair. Dinner at Michael Mina is fantastic on the lower floor of the hotel, and the view is amazing from the tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Michael Mina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff loves to travel
Business
South Jordan, Utah
May 31, 2009

The best of S.F.

This was our first trip to San Francisco. We picked the St.Francis because of the location as it is central to most everything. The Hotel staff was super. It was a birthday trip for my wife and the staff bent over backwards to make every little thing was special. This hotel is historic and has a regal feel to it. The Union Square location is the best. The best shopping / restaurants right outside your door. Transportation is so simple. We did not take a single cab. A first for people who travel to Chicago, New York, D.C. often. The Market street hub for cable cars, trolly cars, buses, is just three blocks away. The room was in the original wing of the St. Francis and was super. The bed was great the dual head shower was invigorating. The whole positive experience of our trip to S.F. was made by our decision to stay at the Westin St. Francis. You won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go down to Market street across from the cable car turn and get a one day or three day MUNY pass. The hassle of having to pay each time you take the MUNY anywhere is eliminated and you will get you money back in just three to five trips. Well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
May 31, 2009

GREAT LOCATION!

Check-in was fast and friendly. I was able to upgrade without hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can get to anything from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Islaygirl
Business
Desert Southwest
May 28, 2009

My favorite hotel

I love the St. Francis. When i was a student in San Francisco, i would always duck into the lobby restroom on my way home, so I'm predisposed to think of it as a place of refuge. We had a great rate thanks to an air/hotel package from Orbitz, made even better by a coupon code (thanks, Orbitz!). The hotel was obviously nowhere near capacity, and we were able to check in at 11 a.m. on our day of arrival, and were upgraded to a huge corner room in the modern building. (Thanks [...] at the front desk!)An aside -- I've stayed in both the original building and the modern tower, and there are pluses and minuses to both - the 'charm' of the original building can fade when the room seems small and dark, and the newer building can be rather anonymous. Anyway, any impersonal elements in the modern building were far offset by the amazing view from the room. Large flat-screen tv (maybe 40"? Not sure), clean, a bit worn in the finishings, but the Westin Heavenly Bath and Bed were much in evidence. Mini bar (pricey, of course) and small fridge was available, perfect for a family saving some money on snacks). Room service was fast and tasty, never waited more than 15 seconds for an elevator, and there's nothing like blowing through the revolving door and having friendly faces greet you. Can't beat the location, literally everything you need is steps away. Love, love, love this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food court at San Francisco Center is perfect for families where everyone wants something different. Also, a Bristol Farms grocery is there -- pricey, but cheaper than restaurants and lots of to-go items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top