$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charlie Chillz
Business
San Francisco California
Sep 10, 2013

Very clean.

Probably the cleanest hotel I have ever been at. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington
Oct 13, 2008

Wonderful hotel with a lot of history

I stayed at the St. Francis from Thursday through Monday during Fleet Week. The room, view, location, and class of the hotel were second to none. I'll definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square has a lot of great retailers and are all within a block or two of the front door of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 12, 2008

Very elegant hotel

The Westin was a very elegant and historic hotel. The room was clean and had a wonderful view of Union Square. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great restaurants and shopping right outside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis
Sep 15, 2008

My review of The Westin St. Francis

The hotel is large and a little bit confusing - ie. they have 3 entrances and one must be specific if you arrange to meet someone at either and entrance or a lobby, but overall quite charming. The rooms were comfortable with plenty of closet space, nice shelves in the bathrooms - etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of great stores right on the square & even more within the surrounding blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Fayette
Aug 24, 2008

Awesome and Perfect!

My daughter sent my husband and I to San Francisco - it was perfect! The location of the Hotel was great! Close to shopping, food, and entertainment!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 23, 2008

Great Value

Perfect location for San Francisco. Hotel is fine and comfortable but bathrooms can probably use some update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Van Nuys
Aug 21, 2008

great location!

This was my first time in San Francisco and we had a great time! everything was in walking distance or a short cab ride away, the hotel is located right in the heart of union square, shopping headquarters, and a couple of blocks from Chinatown. The hotel is beautiful and very historical. I would recommend it to anyone and would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lomita
Aug 11, 2008

Great location

The St. Francis Westin was in a great location and worth the price. The room was comfortable and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are stores everywhere. Fishermans wharf, china town, museums and so much more was very local. The hotel is quite central.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 11, 2008

Great for truly experiencing downtown San Francisco

It was one of the most fun trips I have ever been on! My fiance and I truly got the feel of downtown San Francisco. It was great because you could take a $5 cab to any district or hop on the trolley to anywhere! We had such an amazing time and will be back for sure! Also, the service was amazing! Everyone took such great care of us. We loved the feel of the hotel and that it was more historic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every where you turn when you walk of the hotel is shopping. Right across the street is Macy's and every street has amazing shopping. Sort walk or long walk San Francisco is the place for shopping!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Antioch, CA
Aug 3, 2008

Yelling Front Desk Personnel

As I was standing in line to inquire about a late check out - due to running the SF Marathon the next day - I experienced a front desk employee, who actually appeared to be some kind of manager. I felt uncomfortable and intimidated to ask my accommodation request, but did anyway, and before I could say that I would be willing to pay whatever I had to for a late check out and explain that I was running the marathon next day, she was shaking her head, asking me my room number, and rudely saying she could give me until 1 o'clock without a charge but anything more there'd be a fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal
Jul 2, 2008

Great overall!

We loved it. Very comfortable, fantastci location and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Best shopping area for designer wear as well as affordable shoping malls. Best fast food at the Westfield shopping mall just 2 walking blocks away. You can also take a cable car ride to the famous Fisherman's Warf just outside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top