$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
384 reviews
Outstanding!!

Great hotel, amazing location, good staff, everything was great!! Would without any doubts... See full review

  • Federico11
  • Jul 30, 2014
Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel... See full review

  • Y Patel
  • May 13, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (384)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miguel from LA
Los Angeles, California
Feb 19, 2013

Amazing, Great Stay! I would do it again!

Easy access to a lot of great places. Walking distance to public transportation and there are always taxis service outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of near by shopping

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bloomfield, *
Nov 3, 2008

Would stay again.

Good for couples. Not so good for children. Beautiful building in good location. Expensive restaurants and bar downstairs and extra for gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arlington
Oct 13, 2008

Wonderful hotel with a lot of history

I stayed at the St. Francis from Thursday through Monday during Fleet Week. The room, view, location, and class of the hotel were second to none. I'll definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square has a lot of great retailers and are all within a block or two of the front door of the hotel.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 12, 2008

Very elegant hotel

The Westin was a very elegant and historic hotel. The room was clean and had a wonderful view of Union Square. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great restaurants and shopping right outside the hotel.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Louis
Sep 15, 2008

My review of The Westin St. Francis

The hotel is large and a little bit confusing - ie. they have 3 entrances and one must be specific if you arrange to meet someone at either and entrance or a lobby, but overall quite charming. The rooms were comfortable with plenty of closet space, nice shelves in the bathrooms - etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of great stores right on the square & even more within the surrounding blocks.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Fayette
Aug 24, 2008

Awesome and Perfect!

My daughter sent my husband and I to San Francisco - it was perfect! The location of the Hotel was great! Close to shopping, food, and entertainment!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Aug 23, 2008

Great Value

Perfect location for San Francisco. Hotel is fine and comfortable but bathrooms can probably use some update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Van Nuys
Aug 21, 2008

great location!

This was my first time in San Francisco and we had a great time! everything was in walking distance or a short cab ride away, the hotel is located right in the heart of union square, shopping headquarters, and a couple of blocks from Chinatown. The hotel is beautiful and very historical. I would recommend it to anyone and would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lomita
Aug 11, 2008

Great location

The St. Francis Westin was in a great location and worth the price. The room was comfortable and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are stores everywhere. Fishermans wharf, china town, museums and so much more was very local. The hotel is quite central.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 11, 2008

Great for truly experiencing downtown San Francisco

It was one of the most fun trips I have ever been on! My fiance and I truly got the feel of downtown San Francisco. It was great because you could take a $5 cab to any district or hop on the trolley to anywhere! We had such an amazing time and will be back for sure! Also, the service was amazing! Everyone took such great care of us. We loved the feel of the hotel and that it was more historic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every where you turn when you walk of the hotel is shopping. Right across the street is Macy's and every street has amazing shopping. Sort walk or long walk San Francisco is the place for shopping!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Antioch, CA
Aug 3, 2008

Yelling Front Desk Personnel

As I was standing in line to inquire about a late check out - due to running the SF Marathon the next day - I experienced a front desk employee, who actually appeared to be some kind of manager. I felt uncomfortable and intimidated to ask my accommodation request, but did anyway, and before I could say that I would be willing to pay whatever I had to for a late check out and explain that I was running the marathon next day, she was shaking her head, asking me my room number, and rudely saying she could give me until 1 o'clock without a charge but anything more there'd be a fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search