$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DINK's
Business
Orange County, CA
Jun 23, 2009

Stunning

This was the "perfect" location overlooking union square. If lucky enough to have a top floor your able to view the city in a glass elevator that is on the outside of the hotel. Between the view, specatular staff and a gorgeous hotel, it was also conveniently located near the Bart transportation and has the trolly right out the front door. Amazing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Because this is located in the heart of the "fashion" district, you're able to walk to any store your little heart desires. Shopping ranges from Tiffany's and Saks to Sketchers so there's something for everyone.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patty travel pants man person
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 21, 2009

Great location!

Great place for getting around SF by public transit. I imagine parking a car in the area would be a nightmare . . .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The BART is great for getting to/from the airport. Only a few blocks away!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rycky Boby The Vacationer
Business
Madera, Fresno
Jun 16, 2009

No hassle booking Great Job Orbitz :)

People were friendly and they my room was not taken nor they have any troubles finding me in their system last family trip i took. they could not find me on their system, the hotel was so full i endedup getting a handycap room. Not fun Thank you orbits for the no hassle experiense

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 15, 2009

San Fran getaway

Had a fantastic time at this hotel. My one complaint would be the fact that there is no pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are only a short walk to many great attractions and sights...or it is just a short right to the Muni Trains which are inexpensive and fast!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
San Francisco expat
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 8, 2009

Remarkable romantic retreat

A completely pleasant getaway - beautiful room with fantastic bed, wonderful shower, very nice amenities. The only real nits were a bit of a line to check in, and only one robe in the closet. The location right on Union Square can't be beat. Note that rooms can be different sizes, so if they give you a choice on check-in, look at the floor plan carefully.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The Clock Bar in the lobby serves truly excellent cocktails.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tommy Alan
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 6, 2009

Best location for a vacation in San Fran

Everyone including the maids are very helpful and provide the best service that can be had. The location was fantastic during our stay. We did not bother to even rent a car. We traveled throughout San Francisco on public transportation. Went on many guided tours. It felt that we were in the center of the hub of the city. Everything seemed so close to the hotel. We literally hopped on the cable cars right outside our door from our room in the hotel. We came to San Francisco without any plans other than to see the city and have a great time. This hotel not only made are stay comfortable, it made our whole trip fantastic because of the recommendations we recieved at the hotel from the people that work there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a public transportation pass for the days that you are going to stay. You can get all around the city very cheap that way and you don't have to walk very far at all.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, Ca
Jun 3, 2009

Nice place

Excellent location relative to sites, shopping and eating. Small, older room in the historic tower wasn't quite what we envissioned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 1, 2009

San Francisco stay

Wonderful location, beautiful building, right on Union Square. Stay here if you're going to San Francisco, and wear a flower in your hair. Dinner at Michael Mina is fantastic on the lower floor of the hotel, and the view is amazing from the tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Michael Mina

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff loves to travel
Business
South Jordan, Utah
May 31, 2009

The best of S.F.

This was our first trip to San Francisco. We picked the St.Francis because of the location as it is central to most everything. The Hotel staff was super. It was a birthday trip for my wife and the staff bent over backwards to make every little thing was special. This hotel is historic and has a regal feel to it. The Union Square location is the best. The best shopping / restaurants right outside your door. Transportation is so simple. We did not take a single cab. A first for people who travel to Chicago, New York, D.C. often. The Market street hub for cable cars, trolly cars, buses, is just three blocks away. The room was in the original wing of the St. Francis and was super. The bed was great the dual head shower was invigorating. The whole positive experience of our trip to S.F. was made by our decision to stay at the Westin St. Francis. You won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go down to Market street across from the cable car turn and get a one day or three day MUNY pass. The hassle of having to pay each time you take the MUNY anywhere is eliminated and you will get you money back in just three to five trips. Well worth it.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
May 31, 2009

GREAT LOCATION!

Check-in was fast and friendly. I was able to upgrade without hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can get to anything from this hotel.

Back to menu Return to top