$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jmjw1
Bay area
Sep 12, 2012

Medical

It was great. Prices are a little high. Bed was very comfortable. Room was very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat out of hotel. Room service is very expensive.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nins
Business
Linden, NJ
Jul 17, 2009

The Westin St. Francis-7/13-7/16_NBaynos

The Westin St. Francis's staff were extremely friendly, helpful, respectful, and hospitable. In addition, the hotel was centrally located in Downtown San Francisco, and this made reaching tourist sites relatively easy. My room was spacious and clean. I would recommend this particular hotel to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lory M
Business
Spokane, WA
Jul 16, 2009

Great location, service and beauty!

This beautiful landmark hotel offered everything my husband and I could have imagined. One of the buildings left standing after the 1906 earthquake it is gorgeous! Queen Elizabeth, President Ronald Reagan, Eleanor Roosevelt, and many other famous people have stayed at this beautiful hotel and we felt among them. Friendly, courteous staff provided great service from providing us with a map and directions to locations we wanted to visit, the doorman taking our picture, or holding our bags after checkout until we left for the airport ~ service was great! The Union Square location was awesome - live music, plenty of sitting area for "people watching", public transportation right outside the door, and close to many great restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lory M
Business
Spokane, WA
Jul 16, 2009

Great location, service and beauty!

This beautiful landmark hotel offered everything my husband and I could have imagined. One of the buildings left standing after the 1906 earthquake it is gorgeous! Queen Elizabeth, President Ronald Reagan, Eleanor Roosevelt, and many other famous people have stayed at this beautiful hotel and we felt among them. Friendly, courteous staff provided great service from providing us with a map and directions to locations we wanted to visit, the doorman taking our picture, or holding our bags after checkout until we left for the airport ~ service was great! The Union Square location was awesome - live music, plenty of sitting area for "people watching", public transportation right outside the door, and close to many great restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Jul 14, 2009

Very Nice!

The weather was perfect so we were glad to be able to have a window open. We had a great view of Union Square, and the bed was very comfortable. The room wasn't huge but had a high ceiling and felt very spacious. The decor in the lobby, bar, and restaurant had contemporary touches that didn't detract from the old school classiness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unless you have a lot of luggage, taking the BART train to and from the airport is definitely the way to go.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF Vacation Trip
Business
Orange, CA
Jul 13, 2009

SF Extended Weekend Getaway

This hotel is very centrally located and all available means of transportation are at your doorstep. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Booked this trip as a combination through third party and classic room in older building is very small, but well appointed and kept. Has a very historical feel to the room. Next stay would definitely be in the tower with requested view room. All in all this stay was enjoyable. Plenty of shopping and activies surround. The park located adjacent to the property had old silent films one evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 6, 2009

"Fantastic Romantic Getaway

San Francisco was awesome, sight seeing was great, food was delicious and we took a fantastic excursion to the wine country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 6, 2009

Beautiful hotel, great location!

This hotel is gorgeous. We got an amazing deal on Orbitz and the value was great. We opted for an upgraded room with a view and I think that was a wise choice. We had never been to San Francisco and this was a perfect location. The hotel is very close to all of the best shopping in Union Square, and close to all forms of transportation and restaurants. We arrived early in the morning and were allowed to check in for no additional charge. I would HIGHLY reccommend the Westin St. Francis to anyone visiting San Francisco and I will stay there in the future. The one and only thing I will say that stopped my stay from being flawless was the fact that my boyfriend needed to send a fax and in the htoel's business office the charge would have been $4 for the first page and $2.00 for every other page. We walked and found an open print shop instead of paying for a $16 fax. I've stayed at Holiday Inn's where they fax things for free...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi or the BART from the airport rather than the hotel's shuttles if you are traveling with at least two people. A taxi is about $36. The BART is $16.50 each and only a block away. The hotel's shuttles are $17.50 each and take forty five minutes to an hour. Big time killer...

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 6, 2009

Well ubicated but...

The hotel is in the center of San Francisco [close to almost everything], the staff is professional and the rooms are clean. BUT the building is really old [really noisy rooms] and the regulars rooms are really, really too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Agua is a wonderful restaurant, a little expensive but really nice!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jul 4, 2009

Good times

The location could not have been better. Easy access to shopping and main roads for exploration. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lot's of places to eat within walking distance or short drive.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Jun 29, 2009

Classic hotel in heart of San Francisco

Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask concierge about local dining. All recommendations were great. Except we were directed away from the ocean beach to the west but found it beautiful at sunset. Cliff House is pretty good but a long way across town.

Back to menu Return to top