$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jmjw1
Couples
Bay area
Sep 12, 2012

Medical

It was great. Prices are a little high. Bed was very comfortable. Room was very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat out of hotel. Room service is very expensive.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Aug 11, 2008

Great for truly experiencing downtown San Francisco

It was one of the most fun trips I have ever been on! My fiance and I truly got the feel of downtown San Francisco. It was great because you could take a $5 cab to any district or hop on the trolley to anywhere! We had such an amazing time and will be back for sure! Also, the service was amazing! Everyone took such great care of us. We loved the feel of the hotel and that it was more historic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every where you turn when you walk of the hotel is shopping. Right across the street is Macy's and every street has amazing shopping. Sort walk or long walk San Francisco is the place for shopping!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Arlington
Oct 13, 2008

Wonderful hotel with a lot of history

I stayed at the St. Francis from Thursday through Monday during Fleet Week. The room, view, location, and class of the hotel were second to none. I'll definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square has a lot of great retailers and are all within a block or two of the front door of the hotel.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, IA
Aug 14, 2009

Excellent Stay As Always

As I travel to the San Francisco bay area often for business, it is always comforting to have a hotel as great as the Westin St. Francis to stay. Very nice hotel, great restaurant, great location. You can't beat it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego
Aug 23, 2008

Great Value

Perfect location for San Francisco. Hotel is fine and comfortable but bathrooms can probably use some update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 1, 2008

Amazing in every way!

The Westin St. Francis is an amazing historic hotel right next to San Francisco's Union Square. I had a huge room with a view of the Square. The staff was wonderful and very accomodating. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and I will be staying here again next time I'm in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of shopping and restaurants. A LOT of tourists so be ready for crowds.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cresskill NJ
Aug 12, 2009

wonderful experience

Everything was perfect-we were able to check into our room early and that was wonderful because my wife has RA and the flight from NJ was tiring. Staff was beyond accommodating and so friendly and helpful. Room was spotless and had real charm. Loved every minute!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
South Fayette
Aug 24, 2008

Awesome and Perfect!

My daughter sent my husband and I to San Francisco - it was perfect! The location of the Hotel was great! Close to shopping, food, and entertainment!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
southern colorado
Dec 17, 2009

very nice location

if you like shopping or just walking and seeing the sights this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Oklahoma City, OK
Jun 19, 2007

Friendly and helpful staff

This was our first visit to the Westin St. Francis and it was great. The check-in clerk upgraded us to a room with a king-size bed which was fantastic! All the staff were eager to answer questions and make arrangements. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's, Sak's, Nordstom's, Niketown are just a few of the places to shop within easy walking distance.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moussa
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 5, 2007

Great Location

At Check-In, we were offered an upgrade for an additional amount and I'm so glad we did because the room was perfect. It overlooked Union Square. The location of the hotel couldn't have been any better. The room was large, and the the bed heavenly. I mean it was so comfortable. We were very pleased and will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a shopper's dream. Every store you can imagine is within walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top