$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
633 reviews
Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel... See full review

  • Y Patel
  • May 13, 2014
Great Location!

We love it! teh location, the rooms, beds are like sleeping with angels! See full review

  • Miri Schie
  • May 8, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (633)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
633 out of 633
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sega707
Santa Rosa ca
Apr 3, 2014

Night out

Great location. Room a bit small but has everything you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Mar 19, 2008

Great Location

The Westin St. Francis was great! You cant beat the location perfect for staying in Union Square!! The only complaint is that overnight parking was $50!!!! That's insane! Great trip otherwise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is everything you could want!!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Henderson, NV
Jun 7, 2010

Absolutely best location!

The hotel makes up the West side of Union Square, so when you walk out, you're on Powell St looking at Union Square with cable cars going by. It's absolutely the best location. From the 28th floor, I looked out over Union Square, surrounding city and the bay beyond. The room was surprisingly quiet for being in the heart of the city - you couldn't hear anything. I had to open the window to hear the trolley cars. You are literally surrounded by the best restaurants in the area ... Morton's Steakhouse, Daily Grill, Scala's Bistro, Restaurant Santorini, Sears Fine Foods, etc. And of course, all of the shopping is right there in Union Square. The hotel was very elegant with a upscale Clock Lounge (try the drink, Sophia's Kiss with lavendar). It was only a block or two away from Market St, so I took the Bart to/from the airport for $8.10 each way. Another tip ... it's only $11 plus tip to go to Fisherman's Warf by taxi ... the trolley is $5 each way per person, so it's fun to do the cable car at least once, but don't think it's cheaper than taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't go to San Fran without seeing Alcatraz. It's worth it. Miur Woods is also nice and so is the wine tour - I would recommend both. Civic Center is worth seeing ... city hall is amazing. And of course, you've got to see the seals on Pier 39. Enjoy!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF Vacation Trip
Orange, CA
Jul 13, 2009

SF Extended Weekend Getaway

This hotel is very centrally located and all available means of transportation are at your doorstep. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Booked this trip as a combination through third party and classic room in older building is very small, but well appointed and kept. Has a very historical feel to the room. Next stay would definitely be in the tower with requested view room. All in all this stay was enjoyable. Plenty of shopping and activies surround. The park located adjacent to the property had old silent films one evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 19, 2010

A Special Place

My wife and I spent a week exploring San Francisco and the surrounding bay area. We found the Westin St. Francis to be an ideally situated home base from which to explore. Union square is a short walk/MUNI/cab ride from almost every major attraction in the city which is a real plus. The hotel itself is historic and beautiful with the excellent signature and trendy Michael Mina restaurant and clock cocktail lounge. We had bruch at the signature and it was excellent with great service. The rooms are smaller but clean with HD tvs, complimentary Starbucks coffee and a mini fridge for purchasing overpriced beverages of all kinds! The only major problem we had was a neighbor who smoked intermittently for a couple days straight. The smaller rooms have a connecting door and the smoke went right under the door and into our room. We called security our first night and they stopped it but our neighbors continued to disrespect us so I went down and complained in person. The concierge handled the situation professionally and appropriately and immediately offered us an upgrade to the top floor with a nice view of union square. The concierge also helped us with renting a car and suggested some nice places/shows to see. He was really top notch. The only other minor hiccups we had were that they didn't answer the phone when we dialed zero one night and there is no microwave minifridge which would have helped save some cash (but I suppose they aren't in the business of saving me cash!). It was an excellent stay overall and I would give 4.5 stars if I could!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

get a MUNI pass! This will save you money on cab fare.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montgomery, TX
Aug 24, 2009

Great Location

The hotel was beautiful and wonderfully located in the center of San Francisco. We walked pretty much everywhere we needed to go or rented a taxi which were plentiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chief95
Austin,Tx
May 29, 2010

Great location and price

site seeing: wine country, monterey , city tour, etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Project Manager
Houston, TX
Apr 8, 2010

Nice Stay

The location is exceptional , almost a must for any san francisco vistor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family with grown up kids
washington DC
Aug 16, 2009

Great Location

Excellent location. Great staff. Concierge was knowledgeable and had excellent suggestions that made our experience more memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, HI
Aug 27, 2009

Location, location

We had previously lived in the Bay Area for fourteen years, and this was our first extended visit back to the area in 9 years. The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect for shopping trips, short excursions outside the immediate area, and for dining. Friends staying at the hotel walked to Chinatown, Japantown, the Wharf and to the Embarcadero. Location is everything when visiting this great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top