$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 10, 2015 Check-out: Apr 11, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, LA
Jul 21, 2009

My Birthday away from Home

After reading the hotel reviews first, I selected the St. Francis, I was not disappointed the view was excellent, the staff was great, except for the conceigers. I do think that Orbitz should not allow them to book out of town travellers with a room without a view and then pay extra for a room with a view, but other than that, I will always stay at the Western, St. Francis, when visiting San Fransico,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Always ask the doormen, about places to eat, and what methods are available for travel cheaply to the sites that you want to see. If you are there more than one day, get the three day pass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 30, 2008

Great Hotel

The Westin St. Francis was great. Location was amazing (right in Union Square), staff and concierge were helpful, and rooms were a good size. Stayed in the new tower - deluxe upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal
Jul 2, 2008

Great overall!

We loved it. Very comfortable, fantastci location and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Best shopping area for designer wear as well as affordable shoping malls. Best fast food at the Westfield shopping mall just 2 walking blocks away. You can also take a cable car ride to the famous Fisherman's Warf just outside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Van Nuys
Aug 21, 2008

great location!

This was my first time in San Francisco and we had a great time! everything was in walking distance or a short cab ride away, the hotel is located right in the heart of union square, shopping headquarters, and a couple of blocks from Chinatown. The hotel is beautiful and very historical. I would recommend it to anyone and would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Maria
Jun 21, 2008

Great elevator ride and view from room (after having to move twice)

Great exterior elevator ride and view from room (after having to move twice. Due to the extremely high price of the room I was disappointed it took some effort to get a room with a good view. Kids were very disappointed there wasn't a pool. Parking costs are outrageous at $49/day. Location great for our needs. Recommend highly for those willing to spend lots of money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 5, 2007

Lovely Visit

The Westin St. Francis is a lovely hotel...clean, friendly, efficiently run and plenty of towels. The desk staff and the housekeepers were all very pleasant and accomodating. The bed and linens were very comfortable, as were the room furnishings. I would have enjoyed having a coffee/tea making appliance in the room. I also would have enjoyed complimentary morning coffee, in the lobby and complimentary wine in the late afternoon, as I enjoyed in the hotel I stayed last, up the street. Had the restaurant's menu been less expensive, I would have eaten there, but rather, went out each day for all meals elsewhere. Despite this, I really enjoyed this hotel and it is on my stay again list. The location, across from Union Square and shopping, was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There was great coffee a half block down the street at Sega Fredo's. Also, all types of restaurants are within walking distance. Access to the cable car was closeby, as well as a activity booth for tours, etc., in Union Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cypress, Ca
Mar 28, 2010

Great Hotel, Great Price!

wonderful hotel - great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Apr 2, 2008

Great Location

The Westin St Francis was a nice hotel. The location was good. It was easy access to the cable cars right in front of the hotel. The only thing I didn't like was the bed was not big enough I am used to sleeping in King bed and this was only a queen bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ton of shopping all around the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate, San Francisco Lover
Business
Little Rock, AR
Apr 27, 2010

westin st francis san francisco

Took a editing class at Berkley Extension at the Art and Design Center right near the hotel..rest of time was spent as a tourist....including a San Fran Giants baseball game...beautiful weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All price range of restaurants...for breakfast and reasonably priced was Lefty O'Douls....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Aug 14, 2009

Great tourist town

Cheerful, friendly staff MINORITIES AT FRONT DESK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top