$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Couples
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge
Nov 12, 2008

Great location for this hotel.

The Westin St. Francis is very well located on Union Square for shopping, restaurants, gallery hopping and people watching. It's a couple of blocks from public transportation and the Powell St. cable car. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly, especially the cleaning and maintenance staff, with their smiles and greetings. The room was comfortable and well-kept. The bed, while not a heavenly, was still pretty plush. The all-important bathroom, was modern, well-stocked and very clean. We didn't use the hotels fitness or spa amenities, and the restaurants seemed over-priced, especially in these times. But we enjoyed the Clock Lounge, which kicks it up for a couple of hours before dinner. One tiny complaint, which probably can't be remedied in a damp climate like San Francisco's: the hallways on the 7th floor had a musty smell. But the room did not, and there was plenty of heat to take off a November chill. In general we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

galleries,across the street.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Bloomfield, *
Nov 3, 2008

Would stay again.

Good for couples. Not so good for children. Beautiful building in good location. Expensive restaurants and bar downstairs and extra for gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Arlington
Oct 13, 2008

Wonderful hotel with a lot of history

I stayed at the St. Francis from Thursday through Monday during Fleet Week. The room, view, location, and class of the hotel were second to none. I'll definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square has a lot of great retailers and are all within a block or two of the front door of the hotel.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Oct 12, 2008

Very elegant hotel

The Westin was a very elegant and historic hotel. The room was clean and had a wonderful view of Union Square. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great restaurants and shopping right outside the hotel.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
St Louis
Sep 15, 2008

My review of The Westin St. Francis

The hotel is large and a little bit confusing - ie. they have 3 entrances and one must be specific if you arrange to meet someone at either and entrance or a lobby, but overall quite charming. The rooms were comfortable with plenty of closet space, nice shelves in the bathrooms - etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of great stores right on the square & even more within the surrounding blocks.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
South Fayette
Aug 24, 2008

Awesome and Perfect!

My daughter sent my husband and I to San Francisco - it was perfect! The location of the Hotel was great! Close to shopping, food, and entertainment!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego
Aug 23, 2008

Great Value

Perfect location for San Francisco. Hotel is fine and comfortable but bathrooms can probably use some update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Van Nuys
Aug 21, 2008

great location!

This was my first time in San Francisco and we had a great time! everything was in walking distance or a short cab ride away, the hotel is located right in the heart of union square, shopping headquarters, and a couple of blocks from Chinatown. The hotel is beautiful and very historical. I would recommend it to anyone and would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Lomita
Aug 11, 2008

Great location

The St. Francis Westin was in a great location and worth the price. The room was comfortable and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are stores everywhere. Fishermans wharf, china town, museums and so much more was very local. The hotel is quite central.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Aug 11, 2008

Great for truly experiencing downtown San Francisco

It was one of the most fun trips I have ever been on! My fiance and I truly got the feel of downtown San Francisco. It was great because you could take a $5 cab to any district or hop on the trolley to anywhere! We had such an amazing time and will be back for sure! Also, the service was amazing! Everyone took such great care of us. We loved the feel of the hotel and that it was more historic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every where you turn when you walk of the hotel is shopping. Right across the street is Macy's and every street has amazing shopping. Sort walk or long walk San Francisco is the place for shopping!

Back to menu Return to top