$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, Fl.
Nov 28, 2009

Nice hotel with expensive amenities

The hotel has a great location and the staff was generally very good. However, they gouge you for amenities, for example, $12 to use the health club, $49 a night for parking, and very expensive restaurants in the hotel. There are no water/soda machines in the building, so you either have to go out nearby or pay through the nose at the in-room refreshment center. The center even has sensors, so that if you want to put your own bottles/food in the refrigerator, it shows that you have used their's and they charge you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Wharf is a short cab ride, but don't expect to spend less than $10 on any cab ride.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Francisco first-timer
Business
Chesterfield, VA
Aug 23, 2009

Great price, great room..eventually

This is a lovely old hotel. After visiting the room in the "historic" building that we had been assigned (which was the size of half a postage stamp and right next to the elevator shaft), the very friendly desk clerk offered us a room in the more modern "tower" section. This room was 3 times larger and more comfortable but.....on the weekend and at least one weeknight local musicians gathered to play loudly on the sidewalk until after 1 a.m. Since we didn't spend a lot of time in our room, the accommodations were adequate and a great value for the price.With the help of the WONDERFUL concierge, [...], we were able to get fantastic tickets to "Wicked" at the Orpheum Theatre, 2 excursions:one to Yosemite National Park and one to Monterey and Carmel and City Passes (well worth the money!). He also arranged a table at Michael Mina's restaurant in the hotel. Hotel guests are offered a special pre-fixe menu and, even at half-price, it was a disappointment. Service at the St. Francis was friendly and excellent. It is located in Union Square, a district downtown with fabulous shopping and accessible to streetcars, buses and BOTH cablecar lines. We were able to get anywhere we wanted to go by walking or using the public transportation system and it was free for 7 days thanks to our City Passes. This was our first trip to the West Coast and we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Max's for any meal. Service is great and the food is too! If you are looking for normal portion size and fair prices, avoid Michael Mina's at the St. Francis. Teeny tiny "gourmet" portions at inflated prices.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Aug 23, 2009

Wonderful Westin

This is a wonderful hotel in San Francisco. It was a perfect location of the attractions we wanted to visit. It's a couple of blocks from the cable car turntable to catch a cable car to Fisherman's Wharf, a full stroll to a great lunch in Russian Hill, or a easy walk to the Ferry Building Plaza's Farmer's Market. Would stay here again in a minute. Only complaint is the hotel was noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 18, 2010

Very Classy, awesome service

It was perfect from start to finish. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears Diner is a wonderful place to eat breakfast.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Bozzo
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Mar 16, 2010

Great hotel for business travellers

Within walking distance of the main businesses and many touristic places, this hotel offers very clean and comfortable rooms. The only reproach I have is the poor job windows are doing at isolating you from the street noise (high in this part of San Fran).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Mar 16, 2010

Great stay at SF Landmark

The room was immense and was very comfortable. Beds were nice and soft and the staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
monkberry
Business
portland maine
Feb 21, 2011

Clean, friendly, and classy!

You know...stuff worked. Staff was helpful. Room was clean. Great location. I'll be back there for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kitchenbabe
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 21, 2009

Lovely

What a lovely venue. We spent 5 nights in a beautiful room with amazing details. Union Square is right outside the door everything else seems to be in walking distance. The staff was accommodating when I was unhappy with the first room we were given. The old part of the hotel is where you want to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patty travel pants man person
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 21, 2009

Great location!

Great place for getting around SF by public transit. I imagine parking a car in the area would be a nightmare . . .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The BART is great for getting to/from the airport. Only a few blocks away!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MelissaK
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Nostalgic, great location, old-timey rooms

in town for a week on business. I knew the hotel wAs "old", but I didn't realize how old. Although the heavenly bed was nice, as with all Westins, the room itself was kept in old fashioned style. Beautiful crown moulding etc, but a little too old timey for my tastes. I am used to the more modern westin hotels. Location was fantastic, worth the higher price of the hotel for sure. Right on union square, tons to do even after the sun goes down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't wait for the main elevators, head down the hall and take one of the three older elevators. Save a Ton of time

Back to menu Return to top