$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
374 reviews
Amazing!

Love it! Near everything and the hotel is beautiful. See full review

  • Rowi22
  • Nov 29, 2014
Awesome

I would definitely stay here again. Most everything. Very comfortable rooms. See full review

  • World traveler vision
  • Nov 27, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (374)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
374 out of 374
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Been to the Best
Business
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Jul 20, 2009

A Long-time Favorite

I have stayed at this hotel before and it consistently offers an exquisite level of quality and service. Staff are courteous and responsive and follow through promptly on every request. This is one hotel that I would not hesitate to recommend. If you want the whole package - beautiful architecture, well-appointed rooms, and an unfailing commitment to service - this is the place to stay. I particularly love the "workout rooms" which offer a stationary bike, weights, core ball, yoga mat, and DVD player as well as a Yoga/Pilates DVD, a yoga handbook, and other healthy living resources. It was great to continue my workout routine without having to leave my room yet still have access if desired to the first-class fitness facilities on premises. My only negative feedback is: - the hallways on our floor were quite chilly. IF the hotel is doing this as part of a "green" campaign, that's OK as long as they disclose it up front and suggest that guests be prepared for a brisk walk from elevator to room;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss breakfast at Sear's Fine Food - another legend in San Francisco, one block away from the hotel. Arrive before 8 am to avoid the inevitable lines that form in front of the restaurant. Also try Kuleto's Italian Restaurant - their bread basket and olive oil are stand outs, the chef is very adept and the menu items we sampled were delicious. We were so delighted with our first lunch there that we made it a point to return the night before our departure! Don't forget to make reservations - they fill up quickly!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
EUREKA CA
Jul 20, 2009

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

WE STAYED IN THE ORIGINAL PART OF THE HOTEL.THE ROOM WAS VERY SMALL,BUT THE HOTEL IS WONDERFUL.IF YOU'RE GOING TO SAN FRANCISCO TO SHOP THEN YOU CANT BEAT THIS LOCATION.THE STAFF IS VERY FRIENDLY AND EXTREMELY HELPFUL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

THIS IS A VERY GOOD TIME TO VISIT.ALL THE STORES ARE HAVING HUGE SALES.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LeSport
Business
Glendale AZ
Jul 20, 2009

Absolutely superb!

Great location, we got a complimentary room upgrade as we stayed for a week to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The views from the 30th floor are stunning! The concierge staff were excellent, so helpful, personable and very friendly. Their advice,service and suggestions were excellent. Definite stay again when we go back to SFO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restautants to choose from, we need to go back to check out the rest!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nins
Business
Linden, NJ
Jul 17, 2009

The Westin St. Francis-7/13-7/16_NBaynos

The Westin St. Francis's staff were extremely friendly, helpful, respectful, and hospitable. In addition, the hotel was centrally located in Downtown San Francisco, and this made reaching tourist sites relatively easy. My room was spacious and clean. I would recommend this particular hotel to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael and Christine from La Quinta
Business
La Quinta, Ca.
Jul 17, 2009

Four Fantastic Days

The St Francis is the place to be! Literally steps from Union Square where the music, art, food, and libations are coupled with a socially and ethnically diverse mix creating an exciting stimulating environment. We caught the Cable Cars from the front door of the St Francis to The Warf, North Beach, and to the Embarcadero allowing us to get a taste of the flavors of many of the small neighborhoods revealing distinct personalities for each respectively. We used Bart (3 blocks from hotel) to get to and from the SF airport and also took a trip to Berkley for a wonderful dinner one evening. The location, the ambiance, the historical significance, the comfort, and the customer service is what makes the Westin St. Francis my top choice when I am visiting the city. One of the best experiences of my life. Michael Madruga La Quinta

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Where walking shoes and carry a cover-up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lory M
Business
Spokane, WA
Jul 16, 2009

Great location, service and beauty!

This beautiful landmark hotel offered everything my husband and I could have imagined. One of the buildings left standing after the 1906 earthquake it is gorgeous! Queen Elizabeth, President Ronald Reagan, Eleanor Roosevelt, and many other famous people have stayed at this beautiful hotel and we felt among them. Friendly, courteous staff provided great service from providing us with a map and directions to locations we wanted to visit, the doorman taking our picture, or holding our bags after checkout until we left for the airport ~ service was great! The Union Square location was awesome - live music, plenty of sitting area for "people watching", public transportation right outside the door, and close to many great restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Jul 14, 2009

Very Nice!

The weather was perfect so we were glad to be able to have a window open. We had a great view of Union Square, and the bed was very comfortable. The room wasn't huge but had a high ceiling and felt very spacious. The decor in the lobby, bar, and restaurant had contemporary touches that didn't detract from the old school classiness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unless you have a lot of luggage, taking the BART train to and from the airport is definitely the way to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF Vacation Trip
Business
Orange, CA
Jul 13, 2009

SF Extended Weekend Getaway

This hotel is very centrally located and all available means of transportation are at your doorstep. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Booked this trip as a combination through third party and classic room in older building is very small, but well appointed and kept. Has a very historical feel to the room. Next stay would definitely be in the tower with requested view room. All in all this stay was enjoyable. Plenty of shopping and activies surround. The park located adjacent to the property had old silent films one evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 6, 2009

Well ubicated but...

The hotel is in the center of San Francisco [close to almost everything], the staff is professional and the rooms are clean. BUT the building is really old [really noisy rooms] and the regulars rooms are really, really too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Agua is a wonderful restaurant, a little expensive but really nice!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 6, 2009

"Fantastic Romantic Getaway

San Francisco was awesome, sight seeing was great, food was delicious and we took a fantastic excursion to the wine country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top