$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss H
Business
Los Angelels, CA
Jul 20, 2009

Location, location, location

We had a great experience. The staff was extremely pleasant, courteous, and helpful. We did a lot of sightseeing. You couldn't ask for a better location that was close to everything. This ranks high on my list of trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can find all sorts of moderately priced restaurants within a short walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cunuck
Business
Calgary, Alberta Canada
Jul 20, 2009

SF Weekend

The Westin St. Francis is in a great location, right across the street from Union Square and the cable car stop. The room was large with a very comfortable bed. [...] at the from desk was great to deal with. We arrived early and he was able to accommodate us and even recommended a restaurant where we enjoyed a wonderful meal. We will definitely stay at the Westin on our next SF trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Been to the Best
Business
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Jul 20, 2009

A Long-time Favorite

I have stayed at this hotel before and it consistently offers an exquisite level of quality and service. Staff are courteous and responsive and follow through promptly on every request. This is one hotel that I would not hesitate to recommend. If you want the whole package - beautiful architecture, well-appointed rooms, and an unfailing commitment to service - this is the place to stay. I particularly love the "workout rooms" which offer a stationary bike, weights, core ball, yoga mat, and DVD player as well as a Yoga/Pilates DVD, a yoga handbook, and other healthy living resources. It was great to continue my workout routine without having to leave my room yet still have access if desired to the first-class fitness facilities on premises. My only negative feedback is: - the hallways on our floor were quite chilly. IF the hotel is doing this as part of a "green" campaign, that's OK as long as they disclose it up front and suggest that guests be prepared for a brisk walk from elevator to room;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss breakfast at Sear's Fine Food - another legend in San Francisco, one block away from the hotel. Arrive before 8 am to avoid the inevitable lines that form in front of the restaurant. Also try Kuleto's Italian Restaurant - their bread basket and olive oil are stand outs, the chef is very adept and the menu items we sampled were delicious. We were so delighted with our first lunch there that we made it a point to return the night before our departure! Don't forget to make reservations - they fill up quickly!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
EUREKA CA
Jul 20, 2009

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

WE STAYED IN THE ORIGINAL PART OF THE HOTEL.THE ROOM WAS VERY SMALL,BUT THE HOTEL IS WONDERFUL.IF YOU'RE GOING TO SAN FRANCISCO TO SHOP THEN YOU CANT BEAT THIS LOCATION.THE STAFF IS VERY FRIENDLY AND EXTREMELY HELPFUL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

THIS IS A VERY GOOD TIME TO VISIT.ALL THE STORES ARE HAVING HUGE SALES.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LeSport
Business
Glendale AZ
Jul 20, 2009

Absolutely superb!

Great location, we got a complimentary room upgrade as we stayed for a week to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The views from the 30th floor are stunning! The concierge staff were excellent, so helpful, personable and very friendly. Their advice,service and suggestions were excellent. Definite stay again when we go back to SFO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restautants to choose from, we need to go back to check out the rest!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nins
Business
Linden, NJ
Jul 17, 2009

The Westin St. Francis-7/13-7/16_NBaynos

The Westin St. Francis's staff were extremely friendly, helpful, respectful, and hospitable. In addition, the hotel was centrally located in Downtown San Francisco, and this made reaching tourist sites relatively easy. My room was spacious and clean. I would recommend this particular hotel to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael and Christine from La Quinta
Business
La Quinta, Ca.
Jul 17, 2009

Four Fantastic Days

The St Francis is the place to be! Literally steps from Union Square where the music, art, food, and libations are coupled with a socially and ethnically diverse mix creating an exciting stimulating environment. We caught the Cable Cars from the front door of the St Francis to The Warf, North Beach, and to the Embarcadero allowing us to get a taste of the flavors of many of the small neighborhoods revealing distinct personalities for each respectively. We used Bart (3 blocks from hotel) to get to and from the SF airport and also took a trip to Berkley for a wonderful dinner one evening. The location, the ambiance, the historical significance, the comfort, and the customer service is what makes the Westin St. Francis my top choice when I am visiting the city. One of the best experiences of my life. Michael Madruga La Quinta

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Where walking shoes and carry a cover-up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lory M
Business
Spokane, WA
Jul 16, 2009

Great location, service and beauty!

This beautiful landmark hotel offered everything my husband and I could have imagined. One of the buildings left standing after the 1906 earthquake it is gorgeous! Queen Elizabeth, President Ronald Reagan, Eleanor Roosevelt, and many other famous people have stayed at this beautiful hotel and we felt among them. Friendly, courteous staff provided great service from providing us with a map and directions to locations we wanted to visit, the doorman taking our picture, or holding our bags after checkout until we left for the airport ~ service was great! The Union Square location was awesome - live music, plenty of sitting area for "people watching", public transportation right outside the door, and close to many great restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Jul 14, 2009

Very Nice!

The weather was perfect so we were glad to be able to have a window open. We had a great view of Union Square, and the bed was very comfortable. The room wasn't huge but had a high ceiling and felt very spacious. The decor in the lobby, bar, and restaurant had contemporary touches that didn't detract from the old school classiness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unless you have a lot of luggage, taking the BART train to and from the airport is definitely the way to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF Vacation Trip
Business
Orange, CA
Jul 13, 2009

SF Extended Weekend Getaway

This hotel is very centrally located and all available means of transportation are at your doorstep. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Booked this trip as a combination through third party and classic room in older building is very small, but well appointed and kept. Has a very historical feel to the room. Next stay would definitely be in the tower with requested view room. All in all this stay was enjoyable. Plenty of shopping and activies surround. The park located adjacent to the property had old silent films one evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top