$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
California Dreamin' PCH-1 Traveler
Business
New York, NY
Aug 10, 2009

Driving up PCH-1 Vacation

The hotel was generally good, but it was completely a business-professional hub. I would not recommend it to anyone vacationing who is looking for quaint boutique hotel. It was too big, too busy, and not enough for the price that we paid for our one night stay. The hotel (though historical) is very big and the room finishes, although upscale, were bland and almost depressing, especially since we were in a room with a view of a brick wall (there are a lot of rooms with such views, so beware). It's in a good location if you want to do a lot of shopping but a bit far from the Fisherman's Wharf, and the diniing/lounges. Their parking is horrendously expensive -- $50 per night! However, the parking manager was very nice when he saw my New Yorker eyes fall out of face due to the price and gave me a discount at their sister garage up the street for $30 a night rate. Even in New York you don't get such ridiculously high rates. We had just come off of a stint of cozy Inns that we stayed at through our drive on PCH-1, so we were disappointed at the "commercial" aspect of the hotel, but the staff was very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymooners2009
Business
Colorado
Aug 9, 2009

Fantastic Honeymoon in a great location!

The Westin St. Francis was a great hotel if you want to stay in the heart of San Francisco! It was close to BART and great restaurants and shopping. The people at the hotel were very friendly. The smaller rooms in the older section of the hotel were very charming but adequate in size for the stay...it was a great experience and if I ever get back there I will for sure stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay here eat at Lefty O'Douls...it is great food for a cheaper price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Aug 7, 2009

Great location

Excellent location great staff, just need more power points to charge camera phone etc otherwise very enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Aug 7, 2009

Great location!

I love the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square right in front of you

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BOSTON, MA
Aug 2, 2009

OTHER THAN LOCATION, NOT SO GOOD

I WAS EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED AT THE GYM'S COSTING $12/DAY. RIDICULOUS. INTERNET CONNECTION WAS ALSO $14/DAY. UNACCEPTABLE. DO NOT RECOMMEND. GREAT LOCATION, AWEFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE. WILL NOT GO BACK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, North Carolina
Jul 30, 2009

Great location

This was a nice location within walking distance to many sites and restaurants. The rooms were nice but small. The concierge and front desk staff were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Culibre was recommended by the concierge and was an excellent choice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
Jul 30, 2009

good location for the price

very nice hotel, but the food and drinks were very pricey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

food very expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 29, 2009

Great Full Service Hotel

Fantastic hotel and the location does not get any better in San Francisco. The service in all respects was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel valet parking is $49.00 a day. You can find other options within walking distance for $20.00 a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
just engaged
Business
Des Moines Iowa
Jul 27, 2009

Perfect for two!

We had a wonderful time. Our trip was very quick and the hotel was very accommadating. The hotel was in a perfect location to be able to walk everywhere, whether it was dining or shopping. I will definitely be reccomending the hotel to my friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
o.c. mom
Business
Southern Cal
Jul 27, 2009

The Westin St. Francis

Everything was great with the hotel stay starting with check in. I only wish the room was a little bigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top