$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miguel from LA
Friends
Los Angeles, California
Feb 19, 2013

Amazing, Great Stay! I would do it again!

Easy access to a lot of great places. Walking distance to public transportation and there are always taxis service outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of near by shopping

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shasta22
Family
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Overrated

great location but overpriced / $50 to park your car for the night! I parked around the corner for $20 / not a great expereince to have to deal with

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Park at an alternate garage

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smurray
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Nice, but wouldn't be in a rush back

Stayed in room 1678, which is a corner suite so you have views in two directions. The room was decent but for the price ($350/night), the bathroom could use some updating. The shower head had poor water pressure. Freinds had the adjoining suite and their bathroom appeared to be recently re-modeled. HBO and Showtime are included but many channels would lose the signal making those channels unviewable. Internet access is not included in room price. The hotel was adequate for my purposes but I wouldn't be in a rush back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like seafood, try Ferallon located directly across the street from the hotel. Pricey but very good.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tired So Cal Traveler
Couples
San Dimas, CA
Jun 11, 2012

You May Have To Insist on Waht You Paid For

We were greeted at the reception desk and immediately given keys to a fifth floor room. We had paid to upgrade to floors 16 to 21, but all of those rooms were full. the clerk offered us breakfast instead (we already had reservations elsewhere) or to waive our parking fee (we didn't have a car). It was after midnight and both my husband & I were very tired. Th desk clerk was not authorized to give us a comparable or better room, so we waited many minutes for the manager to return from parts clearly some distance away. After about five more minutes, the manager put us in a lovely room. We're not sure why the room we had paid for was not availalbe and further bewildered that the desk clerk was not authorized to make the accomodation that we ultimately received. We would have appreciated better, prompter service at the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Overstreet
Couples
San Jose, CA
Sep 3, 2012

Overnight stay

Rooms were small. There wasa protest at the hotel next door wakening us up betwwen 5-6 a.m

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 WALKING FOOLS
Couples
CORONA CA
Sep 10, 2012

STREETS THAT ROCK

THE HOTEL ITSELF IS BEAUTIFUL RIGHT ACROSS FROM UNION SQUARE AND DOWN A FEW BLOCKS FROM THE BART STATION. THE ROOM WE HAD WAS SMALL WITH OLD CHARM. I MEAN THIS IS A GOOD WAY. WE WERE ON THE 9TH FLOOR AND I GUESS WE EXPECTED IT WOULD BE QUIET! THE 1ST STREET BAND THAT PLAYED WAS GR8! THEY STARTED LATE AFTERNOON (WISH THEY WERE THE ONES THAT PLAYED THRU THE NIGHT) THE 2ND BAND WASN'T SO HOT AND THEY PLAYED ALL NIGHT LONG! THEY STOPPED ONCE WE GOT OUT OF BED N THE MORNING AND THEN THE STREET WAS QUIET! GO FIGURE! WOULD I STAY THERE AGAIN, SURE! BUT I'D MAKE SURE I REQESTED A QUIET ROOM OR FIND OUT WHO THE 1ST BAND WAS AND MAKE A REQUEST. OVERALL WE HAD A GR8 TIME WITH LOTS OF GOOD WALKING, A GIANTS GAME vs DODGERS AND REALLY GREAT FOOD! IT TAKES MORE THAN A WEEKEND TO DO SAN FRANCISCO BUT IF YOU HAVE THE CHANCE DO THE WEEKEND GO 4 IT! GO BACK FOR THE THINGS YOU MISSED, ITS A GR8 CITY WITH SO MUCH GOING ON!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BusinessBob
Business
Seattle
Oct 19, 2012

Beautiful historic hotel with paper thin walls

The hotel is right in the heart of downtown SF. Really convenient to everything. Just ignore all the pot smoking vagrants begging in front of hotel. They are harmless. The uninsulated walls made for a sleepless night. We could hear the person next door coughing all night and the noise from the hallway was just as bad. Hotel is nice but doesn't provide a restful environment. Also, if you go for the "green" option, be aware this means your room will not be touched during your stay and that includes emptying out the trash and refilling the coffee service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
angela pepper
Friends
brentwood,ca
Jan 28, 2013

holiday shopping spree

the staff need to be educated on online reservations. they need more help in lobby bar and when there is a problem that involves the entire hotel the guests should be notified

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oxford girl
Family
Oxford
Jul 9, 2013

Overpriced needs to work on service

For a top priced hotel in San Francisco the Westin needs to do a lot more to function as a 4 star hotel. The lobby when we arrived was dirty with nobody clearing the tables. A table with old cups etc was not cleared while we were waiting to check in. Our room wasn't ready and they were supposed to call us when it was, no call and had to go back and ask again at later. A very tired hotel which needs to up date it's facilities and improve it's customer service. I rang down for a couple of bowls so we could have a snack as by daughter has food allergies I was told that they usually charge for sending this to your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DGmn
Family
MN
Oct 3, 2013

Nice people but...

Unfortunately we arrived at rush hour and it took forever to get to the hotel. The garage entrance is not on Powell so we did a lot of extra driving to figure out how to park. Front desk person was excellent. Rooms were expensive for a very small space with a view of a cement roof and the corner of other rooms. The vent in the bathroom was literally caked with dust. When we were leaving the garage attendant said he would put our bags in the car. We were in Sausalito before we noticed that one of the bags had not made it into the car and had to drive all the way back to get it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MEWS
Couples
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 29, 2013

Great Location, Great staff.

Expensive! Friendly and helpful staff. Nice rooms with high ceilings and chandelier. Not much of a view from our room. They have a stocked bar in the room but no refrigerator so have to order one to be brought to the room. It was tacky. No swimming pool or sauna but a beautiful work out area. Dining/breakfast room was good but need to be cleaned more thoroughly. Need better maintenance on their common area ex.. ice machine room. In our bathroom the shower handle fell off and the stopper in the sink did not work properly. Maintenance did come and resolve the issues in the room but the door to the ice machine room was still in disrepair when we left. Would like to compare other hotels in the area. The location was unbeatable and I felt safe. Maybe we just got a bum room. I recommend this hotel with limitations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheesecake Factory atop the Macy's Department was a fun evening and the view was great. Food reasonably priced.

Back to menu Return to top