The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charlie Chillz
Business
San Francisco California
Sep 10, 2013

Very clean.

Probably the cleanest hotel I have ever been at. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arlene A
Business
Singapore
Apr 24, 2014

Great location. Great service.

The best hotel to experience the very best of San Francisco. It is at the heart of shopping and sight-seeing. The service is superb. Hassle-free check-in and check-out. Concierge is very knowledgeable on places to see and how to get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It is right at the heart of Union Square. No other Hotel is nearer.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
April rose
Business
San Diego
Apr 21, 2014

Very nice hotel

This hotel is in a very good location next to park and shopping. Upon arrival before check in they let me check into room since it was available. The room was on the 10th floor with a nice view. Gym and steam room were great and relaxing. There were many restaurants that seemed fancy and fun to go to right in hotel. Other side of hotel had elevators to ride and see more beautiful views of sf. Staff was helping with parking and bags. Parking was 60 bucks for the 24 hours and they take a larger hold than normal but should be off my debit card in a few days. I booked through this site but went on website after and found room price for 30 dollars cheaper. Overall very happy with Westin and would stay again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anica M
Business
Vegas
Apr 3, 2014

Perfect location!!

Updated room was great! Stayed on 19th floor and still had a great city view! Some rooms have views of Union Square... The location of the hotel was perfectly nestled in walking distance to several high end shopping stores like Neiman Marcus, BCBG, Hermes, Chanel and Macys! There are also several restaurants right there, so it is in the heart of the city. The staff was nice and accommodating. Updated rooms have pillow top mattresses and rainfall showers, with marble bathroom tubs. Will definitely stay here the next time I am in San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Herve Leger is literally next door to hotel entrance!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sega707
Business
Santa Rosa ca
Apr 3, 2014

Night out

Great location. Room a bit small but has everything you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Black Rob
Business
Louisville, KY
Mar 8, 2014

Family vacation

The staff was very courteous and professional. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the Trolly round trip. It's worth it. Stunning views.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
week day traveler
Business
Los gatos, ca
Mar 8, 2014

restaurant and lobby area seriously lacking

Our room was in the OLD section of the hotel. The walls were paper thin and you could hear the guests next door change their mind! The lobby area had NO seating for guests who were waiting for someone to arrive or just wanted to sit and read. The cafe/bar in the lobby was always full, not large enough to accommodate more people. The dining room restaurant was lovely, but a second mortgage would be required to eat there. The hotel ambiance is great, staff was great, the bed was lovely, but other things were seriously lacking. We would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveling fool to SF
Business
San Diego
Feb 1, 2014

amazing location

The room was beautiful and the location could not have been better. What I dont like about the old hotels is the old carpet. They need to rip that stuff out and reveal the hard wood floors that are probably below it. Otherwise an amazing hotel with five star staff. Great historical pictures of all of the famous people and presidents that have stayed there. Really fun place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotels provides a great list of places nearby that are all great places. 7 story Macy's right next door. So much fun.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TB traveler
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jan 14, 2014

Beautiful historic hotel in a great location

This was my first time at this hotel. It was in a great location right on union square and close to the convention center for my business meeting. My only complaints were that the room was on te small side and we had NO view. It looked out on a brick wall which was very disorienting. I would stay here gain but would probably book through the front desk to know better what I am getting. The room was clean as was the bathroom and the hotel was absolutely beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at Fang and had a wonderful experience! The owner sat us and then ordered for us. Delicious!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A quick get way
Business
Nashville
Jan 7, 2014

Great!

Location is the best! Right on union square! Lots to do lots of shopping!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy jam Niners
Business
San Francisco
Dec 25, 2013

stupendous

The staff was professional, prompt, polite, well trained, and all around very helpful. Rooms are very nice and quiet. Bathroom was updated and clean. I would be proud to stay with you again and again. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top