$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jmjw1
Bay area
Sep 12, 2012

Medical

It was great. Prices are a little high. Bed was very comfortable. Room was very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat out of hotel. Room service is very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Black Rob
Business
Louisville, KY
Mar 8, 2014

Family vacation

The staff was very courteous and professional. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the Trolly round trip. It's worth it. Stunning views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
week day traveler
Business
Los gatos, ca
Mar 8, 2014

restaurant and lobby area seriously lacking

Our room was in the OLD section of the hotel. The walls were paper thin and you could hear the guests next door change their mind! The lobby area had NO seating for guests who were waiting for someone to arrive or just wanted to sit and read. The cafe/bar in the lobby was always full, not large enough to accommodate more people. The dining room restaurant was lovely, but a second mortgage would be required to eat there. The hotel ambiance is great, staff was great, the bed was lovely, but other things were seriously lacking. We would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveling fool to SF
Business
San Diego
Feb 1, 2014

amazing location

The room was beautiful and the location could not have been better. What I dont like about the old hotels is the old carpet. They need to rip that stuff out and reveal the hard wood floors that are probably below it. Otherwise an amazing hotel with five star staff. Great historical pictures of all of the famous people and presidents that have stayed there. Really fun place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotels provides a great list of places nearby that are all great places. 7 story Macy's right next door. So much fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TB traveler
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jan 14, 2014

Beautiful historic hotel in a great location

This was my first time at this hotel. It was in a great location right on union square and close to the convention center for my business meeting. My only complaints were that the room was on te small side and we had NO view. It looked out on a brick wall which was very disorienting. I would stay here gain but would probably book through the front desk to know better what I am getting. The room was clean as was the bathroom and the hotel was absolutely beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at Fang and had a wonderful experience! The owner sat us and then ordered for us. Delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A quick get way
Business
Nashville
Jan 7, 2014

Great!

Location is the best! Right on union square! Lots to do lots of shopping!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy jam Niners
Business
San Francisco
Dec 25, 2013

stupendous

The staff was professional, prompt, polite, well trained, and all around very helpful. Rooms are very nice and quiet. Bathroom was updated and clean. I would be proud to stay with you again and again. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fran Cisco
Business
Palmdale, CA
Dec 10, 2013

Romantic getaway

The location and atmosphere of this hotel was amazing. We really enjoyed our time there. All the staff treated us as if we were important to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall on market street and powell

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris from Sac
Business
Sacramento
Dec 9, 2013

Christmas Shopping in SF

We picked this hotel due to the location. It is close to Macys and other shops . The price is expensive but comparable to the other hotels in the area. The rooms are extremely small but it was only 2 of us so we managed. We did not use the valet service since we decided to use the parking structure under Union Square. Valet is $50+ with in/out privileges but the Union Square parking garage charges $34 a day with no in/out privileges. Since we stayed local we used this instead. Our room did not have a view but it didn't really matter. Other than that I would stay here again since all of the hotels are basically the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Local bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Union Square Traveler
Business
Union Square - San Francisco
Dec 6, 2013

Pretty Good

The hotel is very nice, rooms are large and the location is great. Heat is an issue but overall l was happy with the hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AMKCanadian
Business
Niagara on the lake, ON
Dec 1, 2013

In the heart of it all

The hotel was in a great location for walking, public transit and ferries. Shopping abounded as did restaurants. The king size bed was a little "slanty" on one side. The room toiletries were mediocre and there was no bathrobe. It was a little too close to the ice machine. One had to pay for wi-fi in the room although it was free in the lobby...they also charged for local calls which I found to be unnecessary and cheapened the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the ferry to Larkspur, it's worth the ride on a sunny day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top