$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
633 reviews
Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel... See full review

  • Y Patel
  • May 13, 2014
Great Location!

We love it! teh location, the rooms, beds are like sleeping with angels! See full review

  • Miri Schie
  • May 8, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (633)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
633 out of 633
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, Fl.
Nov 28, 2009

Nice hotel with expensive amenities

The hotel has a great location and the staff was generally very good. However, they gouge you for amenities, for example, $12 to use the health club, $49 a night for parking, and very expensive restaurants in the hotel. There are no water/soda machines in the building, so you either have to go out nearby or pay through the nose at the in-room refreshment center. The center even has sensors, so that if you want to put your own bottles/food in the refrigerator, it shows that you have used their's and they charge you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Wharf is a short cab ride, but don't expect to spend less than $10 on any cab ride.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
May's 20th Anniversary
Vancouver Wa
Sep 9, 2009

Our 20th Anniversary

Our first night was horrible. We checked in and the hotel was beautiful. They even upgraded our room at no extra cost. After sleeping in the bed we noticed a urine smell that overtook the room. We got up and pulled the mattress pad back and found fresh urine accross the entire king size bed. We were so grossed out. We found the manager and he upgraded us to a new room right away and bought us breakfast. The new room was on the 28th floor and was beautiful but had to repack and unpack and couldnt shake what had JUST OCCURED for a few days. The maid on that floor should be fired! It was a awesome hotel and too bad that had to happen(especially on our 20th anniversay).Otherwise excellent sevice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Loved Alcatraz and went on a wine tour in nappa. Learned alot about making wine and tasting.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, QC
Feb 4, 2008

Perfect for a short business stay

Great location, Union Square across the street, close to everything. I could walk to go almost anywhere, and San Francisco is a great city to walk. Or you can just hop on the cable car right in front of the hotel. Alternatively, there was always a line of taxis waiting on the corner. The room was, I believe, their lowest priced, and it had everything I needed. It featured a large desk, HD TV, ultra comfy soft bed. Overall everything seemed clean. The safe was a bit small (not big enough to fit my 15 laptop)... The architecture is beautiful in this historic hotel. The lobby is opulent, with a nice ambiance when filled with guests enjoying a drink at night. Overall, staff were very helpful and friendly. Wireless internet was important for me, it worked A-1, but was offered for a fee. I believe internet access should be included in a price room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cable cars, the trendiest boutiques, and Union Square (providing free wireless internet access) right at the door.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mexico city
Mar 21, 2011

The Westin St. Francis

lovely, except for the valet, it was so expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

all teh boutiques, trendy shops and bif department stores are located justa a few steps away

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
Sep 8, 2009

Very nice hotel

Although the room and bathroom could have been cleaner, the service was friendly, the room was quiet and the bed and bedding were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Public transportation is great in San Francisco - buy a bus pass to get around and ride the trolley.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, QC
Feb 4, 2008

Perfect for a short business stay

Great location, Union Square across the street, close to everything. I could walk to go almost anywhere, and San Francisco is a great city to walk. Or you can just hop on the cable car right in front of the hotel. Alternatively, there was always a line of taxis waiting on the corner. The room was, I believe, their lowest priced, and it had everything I needed. It featured a large desk, HD TV, ultra comfy soft bed. Overall everything seemed clean. The safe was a bit small (not big enough to fit my 15 laptop)... The architecture is beautiful in this historic hotel. The lobby is opulent, with a nice ambiance when filled with guests enjoying a drink at night. Overall, staff were very helpful and friendly. Wireless internet was important for me, it worked A-1, but was offered for a fee. I believe internet access should be included in a price room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cable cars, the trendiest boutiques, and Union Square (providing free wireless internet access) right at the door.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans
Dec 16, 2009

Birthday romatic getaway

Nice place to stay while visiting SF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

wonderful location

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fond du Lac, WI
Aug 15, 2009

Great hotel for San Francisco vacation!

We had a great time in San Francisco. The hotel location was great for getting around-close to public transportation and great shopping. The hotel staff was very nice. We never had to take a cab. The bus system is amazing and BART is just 3 blocks away. My only complaint was having to pay for extras like internet use, the fitness center, and even the in-room coffee (second cup).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like to shop designer styles this is the place to be. Lots of individual stores and a mall is 3 blocks away. Don't walk alone at night...it's a bit scary.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sanfranyay
minneapolis, mn
Aug 14, 2009

Big hotel; just want we needed

we were going on our honeymoon. we arrived late and since it was a busy night our reserved room was not available so they gave us a similar room but with a nice corner view on the 27th floor! the only draw back was that the bed was a pull down (still with the "heavenly" mattress. in the morning we called to ask if brkfst was included and they said that it wasn't but that they could send me two coupons anyways. the coupons covered our buffet brkfst at "the oak room". it was delicious! we even took some for the road. when we came back from touring, they had changed us to another room with a king sized bed! It is also located across from one of the main cable car rails. great deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a FANTASTIC sushi restaurant half a block from the hotel (on the east side). it is called "the sushi boat". it has amazing sushi and the prices are very low. we paid $14 for 8 delicious rolls. order the "lion king rolls" they will make your day!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveling fool to SF
San Diego
Feb 1, 2014

amazing location

The room was beautiful and the location could not have been better. What I dont like about the old hotels is the old carpet. They need to rip that stuff out and reveal the hard wood floors that are probably below it. Otherwise an amazing hotel with five star staff. Great historical pictures of all of the famous people and presidents that have stayed there. Really fun place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotels provides a great list of places nearby that are all great places. 7 story Macy's right next door. So much fun.

Back to menu Return to top